Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 11th March 2009, 06:20 AM
sdlor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Great Inland Northwest
Posts: 214
Not able to use upgrade option with LVM?

Installed fc8 about a year ago. Had to use text mode because of nvidia video card, but got everything working fine. Dual boot with separate physical drives. (XP on 250G, sda; fc8 on 80 G, sdb). Now trying to replace fc8 with fc10 and hope it will work just as good (still have to use text installation) . However, I have some specific questions as I go:

#1. When I try to use the upgrade existing system option, I get an error that says: "Error mounting device \ / dev/VolGroup001/.Log Vol100 as /: mount: Special device /dev/ \dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 does not exist." Does this mean I need to do a fresh install of fc10, instead of upgrade?

#2 (Backed up and started fresh install). Made the selection to only re-partition and use the 80G (sdb) drive. (leaving the 250G, sda disk alone)..However, the partition table that produces shows values for the sda (250G)disk partitions that will be somewhat different (maybe not significantly) than those I observed in XP's disk manager tool. (For instance Windows says my ntfs partition is 206GB, yet the partition table in the fc10 installer (text mode) says ntfs partition will be 211GB). Is this normal? A 5GB difference? (This is where I aborted the install).

#3 I just want to replace fc8 with fc10, and have it work just like before. One more thing: If I go ahead with fresh installation of fc10 will it give me the option of leaving Grub as it is? (on sdb1 and chainload to XP?) Am hooked on Fedora, but need my 250G drive just as it is.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th March 2009, 02:52 AM
Jake Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: England, Lincolnshire
Posts: 1,576
Installing Fedora could possibly re-format HDD, and cause grub to disapear, however chainloading XP will be fairly simple to set up again.

If the 200G drive is causing issues, you could detach it (Just unhook it from the Motherboard) and install Fedora that way. But it might not be an issue at all.

As for the LVM. I'm not quite sure on that one, as I've upgraded Fedora with LVM's before.
__________________
Fedora user since FC6.
Linux user since 2003.
Registered Linux ID: #456478
OS: Fedora 16 x86_64
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th March 2009, 06:19 AM
sdlor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Great Inland Northwest
Posts: 214
Still fighting it...

Thanks Jake. After spending hours trying to figure out the right way to to it, and choosing the selections that appeared to me correct, I went ahead and did the new install, rebooted, and came up with the sad result of ending up with just "Grub-" on the screen. Can't get either the Fedora or the XP OS's to boot up. I am able to boot the Fedora rescue program, and I do have a "SuperGrub" CD. But haven't figured out how to use either one yet. Still working on it. Using the Fedora rescue program, I was able to determine that grub.conf was indeed updated to the core 10 kernel, and still looks the same otherwise. That's where I left everything...for now...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th March 2009, 04:16 AM
sdlor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Great Inland Northwest
Posts: 214
Ok ...Got f10 working now...Had to go back and re-install with putting Grub on sda. I'm guessing my Bios won't even look at sdb unless something on sda tells it to. Don't know much about this stuff...I'm more into routers and switches...But, it works now. (Note: Had to download and install nvidia driver from rpmfusion to get the graphical interface to work.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F10 -> F11 No upgrade option at install Mike Parlett Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 7 23rd June 2009 05:02 AM
No Upgrade Option shown during F10 installation lsolano Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 11 9th June 2009 08:16 AM
no upgrade option shown during installation bobijam Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 11 Only) 4 5th June 2009 10:25 AM
Lost runlevel 0 boot option after upgrade to FC10 duuk Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 7th May 2009 01:51 PM
Upgrade option not presented F8 -> F9 MattSecaur Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 16th May 2008 01:31 PM


Current GMT-time: 11:14 (Sunday, 20-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat