Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > The Dungeon > Archived (Click Header To See Sub-Forums) > Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 11 Only)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 11 Only) Post Development Version comments and questions that don't belong in Bugzilla here. These posts will be moved or deleted once the Final version is released

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 17th March 2009, 11:28 PM
Demz
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by RahulSundaram View Post
Hi,

Everything else except Fedora 9 directly to Fedora 11 should work.
thanks Rahul
  #17  
Old 10th May 2009, 01:07 AM
ajamison Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dundee, Michigan
Age: 34
Posts: 1,207
Funny i tried doing f10 > f11 (rawhide) from an updated f10 and it worked up until it went to reboot into the installer and it gripped about the image not existing
__________________
Andrew Jamison
IRC:ajamison5579
Linux Counter # 435228
-----------------
Wiki page helping to show appropriate Fedora versions of Ubuntu commands [url=https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/FedorianDictionary]Fedora Dictionary[/url <--- Outdated been very busy looking to update it soon
  #18  
Old 11th May 2009, 12:21 AM
RahulSundaram Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,715
Hi,

Have you filed a bug report? If not, check bugzilla and please do so.
__________________
Rahul
http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/RahulSundaram
  #19  
Old 11th May 2009, 05:32 AM
ajamison Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dundee, Michigan
Age: 34
Posts: 1,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by RahulSundaram View Post
Hi,

Have you filed a bug report? If not, check bugzilla and please do so.
I will try again if it errors out again i will submit a bug
__________________
Andrew Jamison
IRC:ajamison5579
Linux Counter # 435228
-----------------
Wiki page helping to show appropriate Fedora versions of Ubuntu commands [url=https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/FedorianDictionary]Fedora Dictionary[/url <--- Outdated been very busy looking to update it soon
  #20  
Old 11th May 2009, 07:03 AM
Ellen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 39
FYI you may wanna file a bug report. Check this wiki link for how to file a bug report: http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/How_to_file_a_bug_report

Linux Archive

Last edited by Ellen; 16th May 2009 at 01:20 AM.
  #21  
Old 11th May 2009, 02:33 PM
ajamison Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dundee, Michigan
Age: 34
Posts: 1,207
Thanks Ellen i knew how to file one allready which i did due to a repeat error. this particular machine does not have a dvd drive so i have to upgrade via preupgrade
__________________
Andrew Jamison
IRC:ajamison5579
Linux Counter # 435228
-----------------
Wiki page helping to show appropriate Fedora versions of Ubuntu commands [url=https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/FedorianDictionary]Fedora Dictionary[/url <--- Outdated been very busy looking to update it soon
  #22  
Old 26th May 2009, 04:04 AM
bodhi.zazen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 731
I am considering the upgrade F10 -> F11 and so found this thread.

There are directions here :

http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/YumUpgradeFaq

The one thing I will pass on here :

Quote:
The yum update step should NOT be run inside a gnome desktop session/gnome-terminal. RHBZ #49046 could result in a unusable install when gnome-terminal segfaults during the upgrade. Update should be run in a vty, runlevel 3, or a screen session.
Note: The link to "40946" seems unrelated to F10 -> 11 upgrade ?

Good luck
__________________
If it is not broken, tweak it... If you break Fedora you get to keep both pieces :p
  #23  
Old 26th May 2009, 07:49 PM
AdamW Offline
Fedora QA Community Monkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4,176
There's a digit missing - should be 494046:

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=494046

I've fixed the Wiki page.
__________________
Adam Williamson | awilliam AT redhat DOT com
Fedora QA Community Monkey
IRC: adamw | Twitter: AdamW_Fedora | identi.ca: adamwfedora
http://www.happyassassin.net
  #24  
Old 28th May 2009, 07:04 AM
bodhi.zazen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 731
Thumbs up

Thank you AdamW


I used preupgrade :

Code:
preupgrade-cli Rawhide
Link (from wiki page) -> How to use Preupgrade

more preupgrade

It ran within X without any problems. As explained on the wiki page, preupgrade downloads all the .rpm, then you reboot -> anaconda starts automatically -> upgrade -> reboot.

The only problem I had was with the nvidia driver. X failed after the reboot and I was at a blank screen with a flashing cursor.

Switched to the nuevo driver (via system-config-display)

I must say I like the nuevo driver, but it does not do dual monitors for me.

The kmod-nvidia with today's update worked

The upgrade process was, IMO, very smooth.
__________________
If it is not broken, tweak it... If you break Fedora you get to keep both pieces :p
  #25  
Old 28th May 2009, 04:48 PM
AdamW Offline
Fedora QA Community Monkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4,176
Great, glad it worked. The new version of preupgrade is supposed to handle third party repos as well as official ones, but I guess the repo you had NVIDIA from may not have been in the right state when you upgraded...

it's called "nouveau", btw, not "nuevo" . When you say it doesn't do dual monitors, what do you mean exactly? How did you try and configure it? It's an RandR 1.2 driver, so you'd configure it from the gnome-display-properties application. Did you try doing that and it failed? If so, please file a bug! Thanks.
__________________
Adam Williamson | awilliam AT redhat DOT com
Fedora QA Community Monkey
IRC: adamw | Twitter: AdamW_Fedora | identi.ca: adamwfedora
http://www.happyassassin.net
  #26  
Old 28th May 2009, 07:20 PM
bodhi.zazen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 731
Ah thanks, me bad.

Yes preupgrade did the 3rd party repos as well, so no problem there.

I am running xfce, so no gnome-display-properties

system-config-display was throwing out of range errors (from perl). I manually wrote an xorg.conf (using the monitor settings from nvidia as a template), but that did not work either. I think I know how to write an xorg.conf for my monitors, but who knows with the xorg 7.x ?

The kmod-nvidia package was in yesterday's updates and it working in place of the nouveau driver.

So for now I am happy
__________________
If it is not broken, tweak it... If you break Fedora you get to keep both pieces :p
  #27  
Old 28th May 2009, 07:35 PM
AdamW Offline
Fedora QA Community Monkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4,176
system-config-display is borderline deprecated these days, and doesn't understand RandR 1.2 anyway, so it's not going to give you any joy.

Editing xorg.conf based on the NVIDIA driver's settings won't help, because NVIDIA uses its own proprietary multi-monitor system (TwinView) and hence the parameters which set up the NVIDIA driver correctly for a multiple monitor case won't correctly set up *any* other driver.

You could happily run gnome-display-properties in Xfce and it would likely work, but if you don't feel like installing it, the easiest way to do things would be just to use the command line xrandr tool.

Just running it will tell you what displays are connected and what they're capable of, thusly:

$ xrandr -q
Xlib: extension "Generic Event Extension" missing on display ":0.0".
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1280 x 1024, maximum 2048 x 2048
DVI-0 connected 1280x1024+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 380mm
x 300mm
1280x1024 60.0*+ 75.0 60.0 60.0* <=====
1400x1050 60.0
1280x960 60.0
1152x864 75.0
1024x768 75.1 75.0 70.1 60.0
832x624 74.6
800x600 72.2 75.0 60.3 56.2
640x480 75.0 72.8 72.8 75.0 60.0 59.9
720x400 70.1
VGA-0 connected 1024x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 430mm x
270mm
1680x1050 60.0 + 60.0
1400x1050 74.8 60.0
1280x1024 75.0 60.0 60.0
1280x960 60.0
1152x864 75.0
1024x768 75.1* 75.0 70.1 60.0 <========
832x624 74.6
800x600 72.2 75.0 60.3 56.2
640x480 75.0 72.8 72.8 75.0 60.0 59.9
720x400 70.1

This is just some random output I stole from a site somewhere, as I'm running the NVIDIA driver myself so I can't show you mine.

With the above output, you could do this:

xrandr --output VGA-0 --right-of DVI-0

and that would give you a dual monitor setup with the monitor plugged into 'VGA-0' to the right of the monitor plugged into 'DVI-0'. (Actually, that wouldn't work for the unfortunate person whose xrandr output that is, for icky reasons I won't go into here, but happily, they shouldn't affect nouveau). It's usually quite easy to figure out which 'output' (in xrandr's parlance) translates to which monitor on your system, but if it's not easy in your particular setup, just guess, and try again if you get it wrong. Nothing will explode, you'll just wind up with the displays reversed from what they should be.

You can set things up in xorg.conf for RandR 1.2, so you don't have to run xrandr every time you log in (or just script it up). If you use gnome-display-properties in GNOME, it automatically sets to the layout you select each time you login (though, of course, GDM or whatever won't use the same setup). If you want to do it in xorg.conf, refer to:

http://wiki.debian.org/XStrikeForce/HowToRandR12

It would be great if you could switch back to nouveau for a bit and see if this works - we do want to make nouveau as good as possible, and dual monitor setups are one area that definitely needs testing. (Mine, unfortunately, really doesn't work - nouveau just can't cope with my card having two monitors plugged into it, it hangs on startup - which is why I'm using the proprietary driver).
__________________
Adam Williamson | awilliam AT redhat DOT com
Fedora QA Community Monkey
IRC: adamw | Twitter: AdamW_Fedora | identi.ca: adamwfedora
http://www.happyassassin.net
  #28  
Old 29th May 2009, 05:56 AM
bodhi.zazen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 731
No joy with gnome-display-properties or xrandr / manual re-write of xorg.conf.

Rather then continue to hijack this thread I started a new one here
__________________
If it is not broken, tweak it... If you break Fedora you get to keep both pieces :p
  #29  
Old 29th May 2009, 05:33 PM
Debroyston Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: England
Age: 79
Posts: 53
Hi Leigh,
I have read that the nouveau driver works well but the nvidia drivers should be removed.
Being a relative newby how do I do this?
I have a GT8500 graphics card.
Best regards.
  #30  
Old 29th May 2009, 06:02 PM
AdamW Offline
Fedora QA Community Monkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4,176
If you have the proprietary drivers installed via RPM Fusion, you don't need to worry - you don't need to remove them to use nouveau. You just need to rename /etc/X11/xorg.conf to something else (doesn't matter what, just so it's not called that any more) and restart so that the X autodetection code kicks in and selects nouveau.

If you have the proprietary drivers installed via NVIDIA's own installer, you should remove them by running the installer again with the --uninstall parameter , then rename /etc/X11/xorg.conf and restart.
__________________
Adam Williamson | awilliam AT redhat DOT com
Fedora QA Community Monkey
IRC: adamw | Twitter: AdamW_Fedora | identi.ca: adamwfedora
http://www.happyassassin.net
 

Tags
fedora, upgrading

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fail to connect nokia 5310 phone via usb to Fedora 10 after upgrading from fedora 9 nico6789 Hardware & Laptops 5 24th February 2010 10:13 AM
Problem in booting Fedora 10 after upgrading from Fedora 9 Thomas Anderson Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 27th May 2009 02:53 PM
grub prompt after upgrading from Fedora 9 to Fedora 10 tron_thomas Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 12 13th April 2009 08:15 PM
Problem with Windows on upgrading from Fedora 7 to Fedora 9 SanjayPethe Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 22nd May 2008 12:18 PM
Lost eth0 connectivity after upgrading from Fedora 7 to Fedora 8 dsmcn3 Servers & Networking 4 25th November 2007 08:31 AM


Current GMT-time: 15:51 (Friday, 18-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat