Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 3rd September 2004, 08:50 PM
snet Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1
PHP Error

Whenever I type ./configure to start the installation of PHP it gives the following error:

Checking lex output file root... ./configure: line 2425: lex: command not found
configure: error: cannot find output from lex; giving up

Does anyone know how to fix this?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 3rd September 2004, 08:59 PM
tashirosgt Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,965
See if lex is on your machine. On the FC1 machine I'm at now, it is /usr/bin/lex which is a link to /usr/bin/flex.
If the file is present then the problem is probably with your path. Use the command
echo $PATH
or the command
env
to see that /usr/bin is in you PATH.
__________________
"Never let the task you are trying to accomplish distract you from the study of computers."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd September 2004, 09:03 PM
kosmosik Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Age: 33
Posts: 1,085
% apt-get install flex

you are missing flex package...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th September 2004, 12:39 AM
fjleal Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portugal, Europe
Age: 44
Posts: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by snet
Whenever I type ./configure to start the installation of PHP it gives the following error:

Checking lex output file root... ./configure: line 2425: lex: command not found
configure: error: cannot find output from lex; giving up

Does anyone know how to fix this?

Thanks.
You probably shouldn't install PHP from source in Fedora. Use the Add/Remove Applications interface, there's an RPM with the latest PHP inyour installation ISOs.
__________________
"I'd crawl over an acre of 'Visual This++' and 'Integrated Development That' to get to gcc, Emacs, and gdb. Thank you."
-- Vance Petree, Virginia Power
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th September 2004, 01:11 AM
superbnerd
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
it is also possible to just use yum or apt
Code:
yum install php
or
Code:
apt-get install php
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th September 2004, 01:16 AM
kosmosik Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Age: 33
Posts: 1,085
well I've assumed the guy here wan't to install PHP5 is it packaged somehow for Fedora? it should be as Fedora is bleeding edge... I've recently built (sorry no rpms now) PostgreSQL and Mono to support my projects so I can understand need of compiling anything (even hardcore things like web accessed scripting engines) myself...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 4th September 2004, 01:36 AM
ewdi Offline
Retired Admin
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Penguin Land
Age: 64
Posts: 1,939
just a warning, many web application is broken in PHP5
__________________
+ Visit My new blog
- [B]SlashGear US, SlashGear Japan, and
+Founder & Admin of www.fedoraforum.org

Follow me at http://twitter.com/ewdi

Laptop : MacBook Pro 2.4Ghz 4GB DDR, 20-inch iMac Aluminium/4GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 4th September 2004, 11:07 AM
foolish Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Aalesund, Norway
Age: 28
Posts: 1,888
PHP5 isn't ready for prime time yet. It'll be included in Fedora once people start using it seriously.
__________________
Sindre Pedersen Bjørdal || http://www.fedorasolved.org || Hardware Profile
- Please adhere to the FedoraForum Guidelines.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
error, php

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mount error - error mounting /dev/root on sysroot as ext3 : invalid argument marko Using Fedora 7 5th February 2013 12:00 PM
Error: DBus error org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.NoReply: -- F10 -- bluetooth kamil Using Fedora 4 12th April 2009 02:29 PM
madman error freshrpm error repository error! ilbh Using Fedora 5 1st June 2006 10:52 PM


Current GMT-time: 13:32 (Sunday, 21-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Paseo Arcenas Photos on Instagram - Gyeongbokgung Palace Seoul Photos - Contiki's Chateau De Cruix - Osdorp Wolbrantskerkweg Travel Photos - Polson Pier Travel Photos on Instagram