Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 1st March 2009, 05:46 PM
jde@acm.org Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Belkin F5D7050 USB wireless problem w/ FC10

I recently upgraded to FC10 and wanted to replace wired with wireless connection.

Bought the Belkin USB wireless stick (version 3002 "firmware"). I've installed the rt73 driver, but when device is active and I deactive the wired connection I have no access. I'm getting an address from DHCP. When eth0 is inactive I get the following with ifconfig:

% ifconfig
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:800 (800.0 b) TX bytes:800 (800.0 b)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1C:DF:1D:0D:F0
inet addr:192.168.2.8 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::21c:dfff:fe1d:df0/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1492 Metric:1
RX packets:44 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:14903 (14.5 KiB) TX bytes:472 (472.0 b)

wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-1C-DF-1D-0D-F0-C0-84-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)


Unfortunately this has been a real pain to debug as I often find myself in a state in which I have to recover the wired line as it gets corrupted. Worse, I find myself doing "superstitious" behaviour since I'm a bit out of my element on this one.

Any pointers or things to consider, or should I just return the Belkin and get another wireless USB (and if so, which one - this is my second try).

Thanks.

--dana
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2nd March 2009, 11:03 PM
ryptyde Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tragic City, Michigan USA
Posts: 1,643
I use the Belkin f5D7050 version 4000 and it works fine as it uses the zd1211 driver and also use the F5D9050 version 4000 Wireless G Plus MIMO that uses the rt73usb driver. Go back to the place you bought your device and read the boxes and see if you can find one with the version 4000 and exchange it.

I purchased my first one like yours and it was a pain to get and keep working that's when I decided to take it back for a refund and then decided to exchange it for a different version and was surprised it worked out of box. Those usb devices have different chipset in different versions so it can be a hit or miss situation when looking for one.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th March 2009, 02:56 AM
jde@acm.org Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Almost there ... "no IPv6 routers present"

I took your suggestion and traded up to a Belkin F5D9050 version 4000. It seems to connect and accept the WPA2 key, but still has troubles getting out to the internet. I get the following at the tail end of dmesg:

wlan1: authenticated
wlan1: associate with AP 00:1c:df:0c:47:6a
wlan1: RX AssocResp from 00:1c:df:0c:47:6a (capab=0x411 status=0 aid=2)
wlan1: associated
ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlan1: link becomes ready
wlan1: no IPv6 routers present


I tried putting in a noipv6 boot param in the grub.conf (thinking that fc10 was sending out an ipv6 that my router was having troubles with), but it didn't change anything. It seems like I'm real close, just need to get past the ip version problem. Suggestions?

Thanks.

--dana
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th March 2009, 03:26 AM
ryptyde Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tragic City, Michigan USA
Posts: 1,643
When I installed the rt73usb driver from the Fedora repo and plugged in the F5D9050 and clicked on the NetworkManager icon on the panel on the Gnome desktop my wireless AP is shown and when I click on that it asked for the pass phrase and then connected.

I see that the device is seen as wlan1 so if you open a terminal as root(su -) and enter
Code:
iwlist wlan1 scan
you should see your access points info.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th March 2009, 02:13 AM
jde@acm.org Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Should work but doesn't...

NetworkConfiguration (from System->Administration->Network) shows wlan1 active and NetworkManager shows the wireless interface being used (wired eth0 is inactive) and is using WPA2 as desired. Everything seems like it should be
working, but I can't get out to web pages, etc on wlan1, but I can when I switch
to eth0 (wired interface). Also, getting the wlan1 interface active seems a
random occurence. I'll cycle "ifconfig wlan1 down" (then up) several times,
then use NetworkManager to try to connect and eventually it works, but there
seems to be no particular pattern. What am I doing wrong (or missing)? Below
are results of ifconfig, iwlist, and dmesg.

Thanks.

% ifconfig
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:800 (800.0 b) TX bytes:800 (800.0 b)

wlan1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1C:DF:26:7D:2A
inet addr:192.168.2.7 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::21c:dfff:fe26:7d2a/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1492 Metric:1
RX packets:257 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:33 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:66902 (65.3 KiB) TX bytes:5814 (5.6 KiB)

wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-1C-DF-26-7D-2A-C0-24-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

% iwlist wlan1 scan
wlan1 Scan completed :
Cell 01 - Address: 00:1C:DF:0C:47:6A
ESSID:"Dynex"
Mode:Master
Channel:1
Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)
Quality=70/100 Signal level:-56 dBm
Encryption key:on
IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
Group Cipher : CCMP
Pairwise Ciphers (1) : CCMP
Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
12 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s
Extra:tsf=00000027cc97b183
Extra: Last beacon: 87ms ago

% dmesg | tail
wlan1: RX AssocResp from 00:1c:df:0c:47:6a (capab=0x411 status=0 aid=2)
wlan1: associated
ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlan1: link becomes ready
wlan1: deauthenticated
wlan1: no IPv6 routers present
wlan1: authenticate with AP 00:1c:df:0c:47:6a
wlan1: authenticated
wlan1: associate with AP 00:1c:df:0c:47:6a
wlan1: RX ReassocResp from 00:1c:df:0c:47:6a (capab=0x411 status=0 aid=2)
wlan1: associated
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th March 2009, 11:57 AM
ryptyde Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tragic City, Michigan USA
Posts: 1,643
Yes it looks like you should be able to use your wireless. When you click the NetworkManager applet on the desktop panel do you see your wireless access point? It should be there and when you click on it you should be asked for your pass phrase and then it will connect.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6th March 2009, 01:36 AM
jde@acm.org Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Oh well....

Yes, I do see the access point in NetworkManager and when I click on it the connection often times out, but will eventually succeed (the previous post has the data I see upon success). Unfortunately, when it does finally "suceed" and "pretends" to be connected I'm unable to get to the internet (whereas I can on my eth0 interface when I choose that one from NetworkManager).

At this point the usb wireless dongle appears to connect to the wireless access point (at least occassionally - it's still somewhat random/finicky) I'm unable to get FC10 to communicate over the wireless.

Perhaps I should just wait for FC11 or 12 and see if things get better. The wired connection works so I do have a connection at least.

Thanks for all your help, I really appreciate it!

--dana
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th March 2009, 02:13 AM
AdamW Offline
Fedora QA Community Monkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4,176
The wireless connection is definitely up, so it's not working for some other reason.

What's the output of 'route' , run as root, at a console, when the wireless connection is connected? What exactly happens when you try to, say, visit a website in that case?
__________________
Adam Williamson | awilliam AT redhat DOT com
Fedora QA Community Monkey
IRC: adamw | Twitter: AdamW_Fedora | identi.ca: adamwfedora
http://www.happyassassin.net
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 7th March 2009, 05:02 PM
jde@acm.org Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
I'm an idiot... (or at least absent minded)

First, thanks to everyone for there help and suggestions.

Turns out that I had forgotten that in my iptables configuration I had limited the interface to eth0 (default is to deny with explicit accepts) - I had copied this over to my fc10 from a previous install/setup for fc6 and had forgotten the details. Once I include the wlan1 interface in my iptables config everything is now working.

Thanks again everyone for your help and patience.

--dana
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 7th March 2009, 05:18 PM
ryptyde Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tragic City, Michigan USA
Posts: 1,643
Glad you got it sorted.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
belkin, fc10, problem, usb, w or, wireless

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Belkin F5D7050 USB wireless problem (FC10) lloydwatkin Servers & Networking 11 12th March 2009 09:12 AM
fedora 9 wireless Belkin F5D7050 USB 8B06 problem dcanno Servers & Networking 27 27th July 2008 10:08 PM
Fedora 8 - Belkin F5D7050 USB wireless problems beasteater Servers & Networking 4 6th February 2008 11:01 PM
Belkin F5D7050 problem vedur Servers & Networking 0 16th November 2007 03:39 PM
Using Belkin F5D7050 in FC sam554 Hardware & Laptops 0 16th April 2006 05:03 PM


Current GMT-time: 08:45 (Wednesday, 23-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat