Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 14th February 2009, 04:51 PM
Poro Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
How to install Mumble server (MurMur) to Fedora 10?

Hello!

So, I have a problem with installing MurMur, the VoIP program Mumble's server. I can't seem to find any RPM's of MurMur version 1.1.7 for Fedora 10. I went to their official sites and I only found tar.gz and tar.bz2, but I've got no idea what to do with them. Could someone help me on this one, please?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14th February 2009, 11:26 PM
Poro Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Anyone know how to do this?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th February 2009, 12:18 PM
Poro Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Anyone have any idea? I would very much appreciate any help on this!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th February 2009, 12:23 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,713
Hi Poro. If you have a .tar.gz file you need to extract the contents and then usually need to compile the program. Basically, as root
Code:
tar xfvz murmur.tar.gz (or whatever the file is called)
cd murmur (or whatever folder the contents were extracted to)
./configure
make
make install
If you get this far you should be able to run the program. What's the actual file name?
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th February 2009, 12:36 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,713
I've downloaded this program and ended up with a file called murmur-static_x86-1.1.7.tar.bz2 . To extract the contents I issued the commands
Code:
sudo bunzip2 murmur-static_x86-1.1.7.tar.bz2
sudo tar xvfz murmur-static_x86-1.1.7.tar
That left me with a new sub-folder in my download folder called murmur-static_x86-1.1.7. Looking at the contents of the new folder reveals this:
Code:
[glenn@coolhand murmur-static_x86-1.1.7]$ ls -la
total 10040
drwxr-xr-x 2 root  root      4096 2009-02-17 07:28 .
drwxr-xr-x 3 glenn glenn     4096 2009-02-17 07:31 ..
-r--r--r-- 1 root  root     78630 2009-01-28 13:26 CHANGES
-r--r--r-- 1 root  root      7632 2009-01-28 13:26 icedemo.php
-r--r--r-- 1 root  root     18011 2009-01-28 13:26 LICENSE
-r--r--r-- 1 root  root      5228 2009-01-28 13:26 Murmur.ice
-rw-r--r-- 1 root  root      2910 2009-01-28 13:26 murmur.ini
-r-xr-xr-x 1 root  root      8138 2009-01-28 13:26 murmur.pl
-r-xr-xr-x 1 root  root  10106108 2009-01-28 13:26 murmur.x86
-r--r--r-- 1 root  root      2800 2009-01-28 13:26 README
-r--r--r-- 1 root  root       870 2009-01-28 13:26 weblist.php
-r-xr-xr-x 1 root  root      1778 2009-01-28 13:26 weblist.pl
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th February 2009, 12:53 PM
Poro Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Hello Glenn!

First of all, thanks for your help! I tried doing what you suggested, but I got following error:

Code:
[root@Serveri Download]# sudo tar xvfz murmur-static_x86-1.1.7.tar

gzip: stdin: not in gzip format
tar: Child returned status 1
tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors
Would you know what's the problem now?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th February 2009, 12:59 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,713
Yes, I gave you the wrong command. It should be sudo tar xfv murmur-static_x86-1.1.7.tar. That will extract the files into a new sub-folder, murmur-static_x86-1.1.7. cd to that folder and you will see several files. Where to go from here, I'm not sure.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17th February 2009, 01:17 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,713
There's an .rpm here, http://software.opensuse.org/search?q=mumble. I downloaded and installed it without incident. Be sure to scroll down the page and find / download the one for Fedora 10. Filename is mumble-1.1.6-10.1.i386.rpm. I installed with
Code:
sudo rpm -ivh mumble-1.1.6-10.1.i386.rpm
Have you had a look here, http://mumble.sourceforge.net/Installing_Mumble ??
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17th February 2009, 01:22 PM
Poro Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Thank you again! Now I only have one problem, I can't run it. MurMur readme file says that I need to go to the folder I have it installed and type following line to the terminal:

Code:
murmurd [-supw <password>] [-ini <inifile>] [-fg] [v]
I have made it look like this:

Code:
murmurd [-supw pass] [-ini murmur.ini] [-fg] [v]
When I insert this line to terminal, it gives me following error:

Code:
[l4d1@Serveri murmur-static_x86-1.1.7]$ murmurd [-supw pass] [-ini murmur.ini] [-fg] [v]
bash: murmurd: command not found
How can I run the program now?

I'm sorry about the what seem to be pretty basic questions, but I'm new to Linux and Fedora.

EDIT: You sent your post above this one while I was writing, so I'll answer it here. I have had a look at the installation guide, but it wasn't of any help to me. I did try to install that package by downloading it from the OpenSUSE site and double clicking it, but it gave me error about missing libraries. I guess I should try installing it with that command, but I believe it would be better to get the 1.1.7 version working.

Last edited by Poro; 17th February 2009 at 01:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17th February 2009, 01:41 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,713
The rpm I downloaded and installed was simply easier than mucking with the .tar.gz version.

No need to apologize for asking questions and being a new Linux user. That's what this forum is about. I enjoy the challenge of trying to help users install software. Although I'm far from the most knowledgeable member here I'll at least give it a shot. That said, here I sit, no work today so I'm fixing someone's PC, need to call someone else back later as apparently they have 2 computers that need work and I'm trying to help you. Keeps me busy.

I'll have a look at launching this application and post back in a bit.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 17th February 2009, 01:55 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,713
Well, I think that there's a serious problem here. I've installed the rpm file but the program is not shown as installed if I use rpm -qa | grep mumble. Same thing if I search murmur.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 17th February 2009, 02:41 PM
Poro Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Thanks for trying. Is there anyway you can bypass that problem?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 17th February 2009, 07:20 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,713
Not me. I'm not that smart Hopefully someone with more experience with rpm will pop in here and suggest something.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 17th February 2009, 07:53 PM
Poro Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Ok, I understand. Thanks for the time you took for helping me.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 17th February 2009, 08:17 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,713
You're welcome. Wish I could have done more.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fedora, install, mumble, murmur, server

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problems with mumble kto Using Fedora 5 14th May 2009 09:19 PM
Fedora 10 - New Install no x server dbeer Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 30th November 2008 10:25 PM
Install mumble - fedora 9 - I fail :( moere Using Fedora 2 22nd October 2008 06:29 PM
Mumble in Fedora, possible? Thetargos Using Fedora 2 18th May 2008 02:04 PM
Vnc-server won't install on Fedora 4 :( Devil1 Servers & Networking 1 1st December 2007 05:59 PM


Current GMT-time: 17:30 (Tuesday, 16-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat