Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 12th February 2009, 08:55 PM
AcidJello Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
:confused:FC10 KDE HUGE

I recently installed FC10 using the live cd distro that comes with gnome, after doing that i installed kde with yum which went ok. I switched inittab to 3 then edited .xinitrc to do startkde since i couldnt figure out how to switch WM's after that i startx and KDE came up, window sizes and desktop looked normal sized, when i brought up the menu the whole screen was taken up by 2 letters. I clicked the terminal shortcut on the desktop which came up with gigantic fonts that basically took up the entire screen as if the resolution was 120x120 or something like that.

This is on a laptop Compaq presario r4000 amd xp 3500 64bit 1 gig of ram radeom 200m 128meg dedicated. I would really rreally appreciate help here since i hate Gnome and so far i found the whole Fedora experience beyond unaceptable. Moved to FC10 from Centos 5 .. im starting to regret it.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th February 2009, 08:57 PM
AcidJello Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
ops sorry posted in the wrong place
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th February 2009, 09:07 PM
Nokia Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/realm/{Abba,Carpenters,...stage}
Posts: 3,286
First, do
Code:
su
yum update --enablerepo=u*g
reboot
Then install ATI driver from HowTo section.
__________________
For safer browsing, use OpenDNS nameservers 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220

SELinux User Guide

AutoPager
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th February 2009, 09:11 PM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 69
Posts: 22,137
(moved to General Support)
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th February 2009, 06:40 PM
AcidJello Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nokia View Post
First, do
Code:
su
yum update --enablerepo=u*g
reboot
Then install ATI driver from HowTo section.
well i did the first part... which surprisingly finished gave me a new kernel i believe which seems stable or stabler then the other. unfortunately now X wont run at all, starts up and stays frozen but doesnt crash, i can drop back to shell with alt+ctrl+bsp and its fine.

i am going to try the howto on ati
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
confusedfc10, huge, kde

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Huge Fonts--How to Fix? Soda Ant Using Fedora 4 23rd April 2008 04:19 AM
creating custom linux distro:confused: :confused: :confused: noobiedora Using Fedora 2 27th February 2005 03:25 PM


Current GMT-time: 15:28 (Tuesday, 16-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat