Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 11th February 2009, 10:27 PM
greenstuff Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Windows won't boot after installing Fedora

Hello,
I just installed Fedora. I decided to duel boot and made sure to have it not touch my windows partition and install the bootloader. Now I can only boot into fedora which is lovely, but my windows is gone. Now I successfully mounted the ntfs partition windows was in, and the windows partition's fine and even the windows folder's still there but when I boot I only get the option for Fedora. Anyone knows how to fix it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11th February 2009, 10:42 PM
Zotter Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Central Wyoming
Posts: 640
Look, read and learn - a bit of google would've saved you a lot of time.

http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/grubcon...-xp-dual-boot/

If you're really eager - readup on all the gory details.
http://www.gnu.org/software/grub/manual/grub.html
__________________
If it ain't broken - you're not really trying....
Registered Linux user #227845

Last edited by Zotter; 11th February 2009 at 10:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th February 2009, 11:22 PM
stoat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7,550
Hello greenstuff,

Actually, depending on the exact situation, you may not need to do anything other than press a key during the Fedora splashscreen and/or countdown. That will present the GRUB menu. If you see a choice entitled "Other", then try it. You might be surprised to see Windows boot up. The Fedora installer (aka Anaconda) is good at detecting existing Windows systems and automatically adding them to the GRUB menu. It's other Linux systems that it often overlooks. If "Other" fails to boot Windows, usually a simple tweak is all it needs. In that case, boot Fedora, open a terminal, and get the results of these commands to post here...
Code:
su
/sbin/fdisk -l
cat /boot/grub/grub.conf
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th February 2009, 11:26 PM
greenstuff Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Quote:
[root@Gal-PC Gal]# /sbin/fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 58.5 GB, 58506416640 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 7113 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xe686f016

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 1 6 48163+ 6 FAT16
/dev/sda2 * 7 4868 39054015 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda3 5130 7113 15936480 83 Linux
/dev/sda4 4869 5129 2096482+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris

Partition table entries are not in disk order
[root@Gal-PC Gal]# cat /boot/grub/grub.conf
# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE: You do not have a /boot partition. This means that
# all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /, eg.
# root (hd0,2)
# kernel /boot/vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/sda3
# initrd /boot/initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/sda
default=0
timeout=5
splashimage=(hd0,2)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title Fedora (2.6.27.5-117.fc10.i686)
root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.27.5-117.fc10.i686 ro root=UUID=c10f6b2a-467e-40b2-8560-4682e8aff5e2 rhgb quiet
initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.27.5-117.fc10.i686.img
title Other
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
chainloader +1
here, thanks for helping. PS: I do have an "other" option but this option boots my hardware diagnostic tool (It's a thing that came with my Dell, it usually shows up on Grub alongside with Linux and Windows and I ignore it)

Last edited by greenstuff; 11th February 2009 at 11:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th February 2009, 11:45 PM
stoat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenstuff

title Other
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
chainloader +1

I do have an "other" option but this option boots my hardware diagnostic tool
That's the "tweak" I was talking about. Anaconda (bless its heart) goofs up sometimes. It's a sucker for (hd0,0) when it happens to be a Windows compatible partition (such as FAT16 is this case). But see that little asterisk by /dev/sda2 in your fdisk report? That's the active partition. A Windows system's boot loader files are always located in a compatible active partition. No matter what. I recommend that you open the grub.conf for editing now...
Code:
su
gedit /boot/grub/grub.conf
...and change that "Other" section to look like this...
Code:
title Windows
rootnoverify (hd0,1)
chainloader +1
...then save the file, reboot, and try again.

P.S.: I took the liberty of changing "Other" in the title command line to "Windows". You can change it to whatever you like, or not at all.

P.P.S.: I recommend that you and future readers of this thread take "with a grain of salt" that first link offered by Zotter in post #2...
grub.conf for Windows vista or xp dual boot
The advice given there will surely still work in most cases, but it happens to be spreading some wrong information, too...
  1. savedefault

    The savedefault command changes the menu default to the currently selected menu entry. An alternative use of it is to follow the savedefault command with a number that specifies a new default. That can be a neat thing, but it only works if the default=0 command farther up in the grub.conf file is changed to default=saved. That detail was not mentioned in the article. It is rarely mentioned any time this command is suggested. But don't believe me. Try it yourself. It will not work without changing the default command appropriately. Or better yet, click on Zotter's second link to the GRUB manual and look up default and savedefault.

  2. makeactive

    The makeactive command is not needed for modern Windows operating systems. You never said what Windows system is involved here, but using the NTFS filesystem qualifies it as modern. See footnote #6 (click on the 6 after makeactive) regarding the makeactive command in the GRUB manual. Besides, as in this case here, the Windows partition (or at least the partition with its boot loader files) is nearly always already the active partition anyway.

Last edited by stoat; 12th February 2009 at 05:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th February 2009, 05:35 PM
greenstuff Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Thanks!

Thanks to both of you I now have my windows back. Thanks a lot for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6th September 2009, 05:24 PM
coolbung Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 18
linuxfedorafirefox
Code:
Disk /dev/sda: 250.0 GB, 250059350016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000080

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1               1          15      120456   de  Dell Utility
/dev/sda2              16         277     2104515    b  W95 FAT32
/dev/sda3             278       30400   241962997+   f  W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/sda5             278        2827    20482843+   7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda6   *        2828        2839       91135+  83  Linux
/dev/sda7            2839       25301   180428799+  83  Linux
/dev/sda8           25301       30400    40959999+  83  Linux

Disk /dev/sdb: 2034 MB, 2034236416 bytes
33 heads, 63 sectors/track, 1911 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 2079 * 512 = 1064448 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x4a040932

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdb1   *           1        1912     1986543    b  W95 FAT32
This is the output of fdisk (Note: /dev/sdb1 is the bootable thumb drive attached to my laptop)

In grub.conf I tried hd0,2 as well as hd0,3 but none of them load windows. Also I'm sure I installed windows on a NTFS partition, how do I get grub to boot into windows?

Here's my current grub.conf
Code:
default=0
timeout=5
splashimage=(hd0,5)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title Fedora (2.6.29.6-217.2.16.fc11.i586)
        root (hd0,5)
        kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.29.6-217.2.16.fc11.i586 ro root=UUID=33901666-45c5-4013-b93a-aad684887618 rhgb quiet
        initrd /initrd-2.6.29.6-217.2.16.fc11.i586.img
title Fedora (2.6.29.4-167.fc11.i586)
        root (hd0,5)
        kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.29.4-167.fc11.i586 ro root=UUID=33901666-45c5-4013-b93a-aad684887618 rhgb quiet
        initrd /initrd-2.6.29.4-167.fc11.i586.img
title Windows
        rootnoverify (hd0,2)
        makeactive
        chainloader +1

Last edited by coolbung; 6th September 2009 at 05:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th September 2009, 06:14 PM
coolbung Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 18
linuxfedorafirefox
Ok. My bad!

It should have been hd0,1

I put that and it works
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, fedora, installing, windows

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Fedora 11 with Windows. How to set Boot partition? Polly_31 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 28th July 2009 01:37 PM
Installing Fedora 11 and keeping windows 7 as dual boot mirkoj Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 9 10th June 2009 12:30 PM
Problems installing Fedora 10 on dual boot with Windows XP fcat2009 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 8th February 2009 03:17 PM
After installing fedora 10,windows vista cannot boot. yzpdsg Using Fedora 2 24th January 2009 03:44 AM
Can not boot windows xp after installing fedora 9 neha Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 9 4th July 2008 05:42 AM


Current GMT-time: 06:57 (Tuesday, 02-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat