Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 1st February 2009, 03:55 AM
vbdanl Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kansas
Posts: 207
Random lock ups in FC 10

Hi. I have triple boot pc (xp, ubuntu, and fedora), installed in that order. xp and ubuntu seem to be stable. i have had to pull the power cord 3 or 4 times while booted in fedora. i noticed the last 2 times i can still move the mouse around, but can't get it to open anything. the keyboard is locked up, can't alt-f1 or f2 or anything to get console. can't get it to do anything, other than watch the mouse tail move around (weird).
i installed a new power supply (and at least i now have a power switch - the old one never had one), but that didn't fix the lock up problem.
i haven't ran yum update since the fc10 live cd gnome install. was planning on doing that later.. not sure how long it will stay up to download all the 300 or so updates.
right now the only thing open is a terminal (can't type in it)..
what should i look at to fix this lock up problem? thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 1st February 2009, 04:25 AM
pankajp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 226
This is a very common problem in F10 caused by compiz fusion. You can verify if its the same in your case by disabling compiz if you have it enabled. I think you may find many more similar problem in the forums. People have reported that ssh works during the lockup so if u have remote access you can kill the process and resume your work. Anyway i don't have remote access so all i did was to disable compiz and now everything is alright.
__________________
Fedora 14 Laughlin user on Dell Inspiron 1525
http://www.smolts.org/client/show/pu...0-71f71be44f7d :)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st February 2009, 06:35 AM
vbdanl Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kansas
Posts: 207
do i just yum list compiz* to find out if i have it installed? i don't know anything about it, and did not install it unless it just auto installs with fc10.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st February 2009, 04:11 PM
pankajp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 226
Code:
rpm -q compiz
will tell you if you have compiz installed. Though if you dont have it installed i'm not sure what the problem may be
__________________
Fedora 14 Laughlin user on Dell Inspiron 1525
http://www.smolts.org/client/show/pu...0-71f71be44f7d :)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st February 2009, 04:47 PM
vbdanl Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kansas
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by pankajp View Post
Code:
rpm -q compiz
will tell you if you have compiz installed. Though if you dont have it installed i'm not sure what the problem may be
hi. thanks for your replies. here is where i am now..
ran yum list compiz* and saw there were 4 installed packages related to compiz.
removed them with yum remove compiz*
copied xorg.conf (there wasn't one) from ubuntu to /etc/X11/xorg.conf
rebooted. system seemed fairly stable. the package handler said i had a lot of packages that needed updating, so i ran it. ran for an hour or so, and surprisingly stayed up through all of it. i was surprised it never told me i needed to reboot. i ran uname -a and saw i was still on the old version, so i rebooted.
now the new problem..
it boots the new release 2.6.27.12-170.2.5.fc10.i686 but i don't get a login screen.
i see the splash screen and it gets to where you think the login screen is going to appear, but all i get is a black screen and blinking cursor. i rebooted with c-a-d. same thing. found i can alt-f2 and login on a xterm or whatever you call it. it is at runlevel 5. alt-f8 just gives a black screen with flashing cursor.
what now?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st February 2009, 06:14 PM
vbdanl Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kansas
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by vbdanl View Post
hi. thanks for your replies. here is where i am now..
ran yum list compiz* and saw there were 4 installed packages related to compiz.
removed them with yum remove compiz*
copied xorg.conf (there wasn't one) from ubuntu to /etc/X11/xorg.conf
rebooted. system seemed fairly stable. the package handler said i had a lot of packages that needed updating, so i ran it. ran for an hour or so, and surprisingly stayed up through all of it. i was surprised it never told me i needed to reboot. i ran uname -a and saw i was still on the old version, so i rebooted.
now the new problem..
it boots the new release 2.6.27.12-170.2.5.fc10.i686 but i don't get a login screen.
i see the splash screen and it gets to where you think the login screen is going to appear, but all i get is a black screen and blinking cursor. i rebooted with c-a-d. same thing. found i can alt-f2 and login on a xterm or whatever you call it. it is at runlevel 5. alt-f8 just gives a black screen with flashing cursor.
what now?
not only did the new kernel not give me a login screen, now the old kernel does the same thing - black screen, no login screen. i found a post that suggested changing fglrx to vesa in the xorg.conf. did that, and now get the login screen... the resolution is now 800x600 instead of 1024x768. looked at monitor resolution settings and it says "Unknown" monitor.
following this post i am not sure what to do now.. i ran rpm -qa for kmod-fglrx xorg-x11-drv-fglrx and neither appears to be present. also checked my radeon Xpress 200 driver against the list in Leigh's post and it doesn't show up, so i don't think i am supposed to use those instructions..
any ideas what i should do to get the screen resolution working correctly?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st February 2009, 09:12 PM
vbdanl Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kansas
Posts: 207
i updated several modes lines in the xorg.conf adding 1024x768 and other settings and was able to get it to now display as that. there is probably something with fglrx that needs to be fixed and installed, but guess i can wait on that. this could be listed as solved. thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lock, random, ups

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 10 - Random Lock up mub Hardware & Laptops 189 28th July 2009 05:18 PM
Fedora 10 - different random lock-up AntiSol Hardware & Laptops 2 30th April 2009 03:34 PM
FC5 Random Lock-Ups jasonvp Using Fedora 5 9th May 2006 03:49 PM
FC5 Random Lock-Ups jasonvp Hardware & Laptops 2 8th May 2006 04:54 PM
FC4 random lock ups in X (gnome) byron2 Using Fedora 9 26th March 2006 02:05 PM


Current GMT-time: 13:16 (Friday, 18-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat