Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 11th January 2009, 05:55 PM
Coreyjames25 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 52
SOUND CARD Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Cont

Hello, im fairly new to Fedora and Linux as a whole, i have almost everything where i want it at. But i just cant figure out why my sound card wont work i have a Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller. this is what my system looks like

[root@Corey ~]# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 PCI Express Root Port (rev 03)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 03)
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 03)
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 03)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 03)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 03)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 5 (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev f3)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801HBM (ICH8M-E) LPC Interface Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) IDE Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) SATA AHCI Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GeForce 8800M GTS (rev a2)
02:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 4965 AG or AGN Network Connection (rev 61)
03:00.0 Mass storage controller: Silicon Image, Inc. Sil 3531 [SATALink/SATARaid] Serial ATA Controller (rev 01)
04:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 01)
0c:06.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Agere Systems FW323 (rev 70)


Any help would be appreciated. thank you.
~Corey
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11th January 2009, 07:33 PM
Cwix127 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nebraska
Age: 30
Posts: 14
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=33037

That might help you
__________________
Desktop: AMD64 x2 4200+, 2gb ram, 500gb and 250gb sata drives, Nvidia 8800 GTS 640MB, X-Fi Platinum. Fedora 10 and WinXP dual boot.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th January 2009, 08:13 PM
Coreyjames25 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 52
this didn't work the links to the download on that page are down
i than searched the alsa-project.org and it seems that their is no
support for ich8 series, but their is some answers all on ubuntu saying
to fix the promblem you need to enter this in the tremial
"sudo apt-get install linux-backports-modules "
but that is in ubuntu not fedora so what do i do almighty fedora users.
~Corey
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th January 2009, 08:22 PM
Cwix127 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nebraska
Age: 30
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coreyjames25 View Post
this didn't work the links to the download on that page are down
i than searched the alsa-project.org and it seems that their is no
support for ich8 series, but their is some answers all on ubuntu saying
to fix the promblem you need to enter this in the tremial
"sudo apt-get install linux-backports-modules "
but that is in ubuntu not fedora so what do i do almighty fedora users.
~Corey
Speaking to us condescendingly isn't likely to illicit any help from us. Truthfully Im still kinda a newbie. Perhaps Ill let one of the more advanced users field your request.
__________________
Desktop: AMD64 x2 4200+, 2gb ram, 500gb and 250gb sata drives, Nvidia 8800 GTS 640MB, X-Fi Platinum. Fedora 10 and WinXP dual boot.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th January 2009, 08:26 PM
shess01 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: On the road. What day is it again?
Posts: 253
Uh, not so fast. you have linked to a thread that is 4 years old. Lots of stuff has changed since then...
__________________
...What if there were no hypothetical questions?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th January 2009, 08:29 PM
Coreyjames25 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 52
no I wasn't talking to you condescendingly at all.
I'm sorry if i came of that way. i just would like this resolved a
computer with no sound is not that great. it just seems as if ubuntu is more
superior back when i had ubuntu everyone said that fedora was dominant it just
seems if this simple problem cant be solved how is it so great?
I think their is a simple code i can insert into the terminal to fix my problems
if "sudo apt-get install linux-backports-modules" fixes all the ubuntu users problems.
again I'm sorry if I came of condescendingly that was not what i was aiming for.
please help me...
~Corey
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th January 2009, 08:31 PM
Coreyjames25 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 52
shess01 any thing you can think of.
the more i search the more i see how common of a problem this is?
maybe when we get it solved one of us could write up a how to do on the intel ICH8 chipset series.
because this is crazy!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11th January 2009, 08:40 PM
Cwix127 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nebraska
Age: 30
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by shess01 View Post
Uh, not so fast. you have linked to a thread that is 4 years old. Lots of stuff has changed since then...

Yea my bad.. I failed to see the date on the howto...
__________________
Desktop: AMD64 x2 4200+, 2gb ram, 500gb and 250gb sata drives, Nvidia 8800 GTS 640MB, X-Fi Platinum. Fedora 10 and WinXP dual boot.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11th January 2009, 08:47 PM
Cwix127 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nebraska
Age: 30
Posts: 14
Per this change log there is a patch for ich8 in at least 1.0.11

http://www.alsa-project.org/main/ind...1.0.10_v1.0.11

The latest versions of the alsa driver are located on the main page here:

http://www.alsa-project.org/main/index.php/Main_Page

The latest version is 1.0.18a it looks like. you might try using those..

Again I'm sorry for pointing you at a old howto... sometimes i overlook the obvious.. like the fact its an ancient howto :-P



EDIT: There was someone with this issue on kubuntu with an ich8. This howto recommends recompiling the latest driver. Which in this howto the date is 10 Nov 08. and it lists 1.0.18 . So Im fairly sure its a recent howto this time lol. It should be the same for fedora.. but idk so perhaps someone else can look at it. or you could try it. This was on the "unofficial alsa wiki."

http://alsa.opensrc.org/index.php/Hda-intel
__________________
Desktop: AMD64 x2 4200+, 2gb ram, 500gb and 250gb sata drives, Nvidia 8800 GTS 640MB, X-Fi Platinum. Fedora 10 and WinXP dual boot.

Last edited by Cwix127; 11th January 2009 at 08:56 PM. Reason: More info
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11th January 2009, 10:10 PM
shess01 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: On the road. What day is it again?
Posts: 253
So, how do you know that this problem is specific to only the intel ich8 chipset?

Which version of Fedora are you on? F10? F9? ???

Use the forum search link and search "F10 audio". Get a cup of coffee and read through the pages of threads, it is a great way to learn about fedora and linux in general.

@Cwix127
Nice try, believe me this forum needs more folks that have the patience to look at a fellow members issue, do a little research if needed and then help a buddy out.

@Cwix127 and Coreyjames25
Guys, please take a few minutes and read the forum guidelines. It will really make a difference to your forum experience. Feel free to PM me if you want. Welcome aboard

Aaaaaanndd, if the links in the recommended search don't get you pointed in the right direction. Shout out.
__________________
...What if there were no hypothetical questions?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 13th January 2009, 01:23 PM
wolffhaven Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Hi guys,

I'm having the same problem. Have googled the heck out of this but nothing i've tried has worked. Downloaded the latest alsa package (alsa-driver-1.0.18a ) but it fails to compile using ./configure. It says it wants me to install the source for the kernel as it can't find the version.h file.

@Coreyjames25: have you managed to install the latest alsa driver package?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 13th January 2009, 02:36 PM
shess01 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: On the road. What day is it again?
Posts: 253
Wink

Wait. Stop. Don't.

No need to _compile_ ALSA as it has already been done for you. The latest version of ALSA is in the repositories.

Quote:
[root@macbeth stephen]# rpm -qa alsa*
alsa-utils-1.0.18-6.fc10.i386
alsa-oss-libs-1.0.17-1.fc10.i386
alsa-plugins-jack-1.0.18-2.fc10.i386
alsa-lib-devel-1.0.18-6.rc3.fc10.i386
alsa-oss-1.0.17-1.fc10.i386
alsa-lib-1.0.18-6.rc3.fc10.i386
notice the OSS libs have yet to be updated but that is no problem, my sound works.

################################################## ######################################

IMPORTANT NOTE: Let's backup a little bit. If you are new to Fedora, and Linux in general, please go to this link and follow the instructions to get a GOOD configuration of your basic install. This is going to setup additional repositories and tools that will make your life tremendously easier and will be referenced here in the forums frequently. Like "YUMEX", for instance. Something I will talk about in a minute. You will need to open up a console and run many of the commands as root, just highlight the command on the webpage, and center click on your mouse to paste into the console terminal.

Dangermouse also has a script that will do much of this stuff auto-magically - but you may not learn anything... IF you are new, please wait for the next version of Fedora to come out before you start taking the easy way. Get your hands dirty, it's the best way to learn.

On updating, you will see various posts in this forum regarding "packagekit" mostly like "it's crap" and "remove it". Looks like it still needs work, YUM is your best bet and yumex is the gui interface for yum. Some complaints about yum too, but IT WORKS.

Lastly, use rpm's whenever you can to update your system. The RPM system keeps track of your system in a database. The database cannot keep track of packages that are compiled with configure/make/make install. When things get out of kilter enough, your system will lose stability, causing more problems....

################################################## ##########################################

Now, back to ALSA updating. In a terminal...

Quote:
su -
yum install yumex
press "y" to install when you are prompted.

now open Yumex from the menu or just type "yumex" in the terminal. This will open up a tab in the application that will show updates that are available. A search bar is at the top and radio buttons for "updates" , "available", "installed" , and "all". Adding a check mark in an unchecked box installs the software, unchecking the box removes the software.

So , with the "updates" radio button selected ,type "alsa" in the search bar and see if alsa packages show up to be updates. If not, select the "installed"" button and verify the version that is installed....

If there is an easier way, somebody please tell me...

**Very important** when you fix your problem, please post back with your fix....

Buena Suerte.
__________________
...What if there were no hypothetical questions?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 14th January 2009, 01:39 AM
wolffhaven Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks for the link to that installation guide some really helpful info there. I've installed yumex and have checked for updates for alsa but none come up. My installed alsa packages look the same as this.

Quote:
[root@macbeth stephen]# rpm -qa alsa*
alsa-utils-1.0.18-6.fc10.i386
alsa-oss-libs-1.0.17-1.fc10.i386
alsa-plugins-jack-1.0.18-2.fc10.i386
alsa-lib-devel-1.0.18-6.rc3.fc10.i386
alsa-oss-1.0.17-1.fc10.i386
alsa-lib-1.0.18-6.rc3.fc10.i386
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 14th January 2009, 03:06 AM
shess01 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: On the road. What day is it again?
Posts: 253
So then, you have the latest alsa. installed. Now what was your problem again?

Sound on linux is one of those flaky issues that seems the just keep hanging around. I have had issues with sound for EVERY fedora install since Fedora Core 4. But every time I was able to get it working fine without much trouble. Do this. Type "f10 audio" into the search link above. Start there.

I recommend this link.
I am using Pulseaudio on my intel ich7 chipset and everything works, skype, amarok, games... I went through Sylpheeds how-to and fixed the crackling audio, no problem.

If you want to know a little more about the state of sound on linux, check this out. Sounds like a cluster, but the cluster works for the most part.

After you do your search, try posting in the thread, most appropriate to your issue. No sound in skype? internal mic does not work? Most likely _someone_ has been there before and may have a fix already. If you have another problem not already covered, start a thread.

Somehow I think continuing to post in this thread is not most correct. If sounds works _at all_ in _any application_ the ICH8 chipset is working in Linux, and the issue is elsewhere.

Remember, the trick to getting the guru's to work on your issue is to post as much information as possible. Help! Help! does not usually get the best reaction.
__________________
...What if there were no hypothetical questions?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 14th January 2009, 09:16 AM
wolffhaven Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Will do, thanks for your help
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
audio, card, cont, corporation, family, ich8, intel, sound

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sound disappeared, FC8, Intel 82801H (ICH8 Family) maidantal Hardware & Laptops 1 6th September 2008 10:37 AM
Intel ICH8 Family HD Audio Controller no sound lawson Hardware & Laptops 48 10th June 2008 08:52 PM
Using F8, no sound with Intel (ICH8 Family) sound card garbagio7 Using Fedora 3 1st April 2008 07:58 PM
Modem Si3054 on 82801H ICH8 HD Audio Controller sound card. Not work ustas Hardware & Laptops 1 22nd February 2008 07:22 AM
USB sound card conflict with Intel 82801H? greygene Hardware & Laptops 7 6th September 2007 09:45 AM


Current GMT-time: 08:19 (Monday, 28-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat