Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 2nd January 2009, 06:42 AM
aleph Offline
Banned (for/from) behaving just like everybody else!
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Nanjing, China
Posts: 1,332
Leap second --> Linux crash?

Have you encountered anything similar to this guy did?
http://ask.slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=09/01/01/1930202
He's using F8 and it crashed roughly at midnight, New Year's Eve.

I personally haven't had anything like that. Have you?

Just checked my uptime:
Code:
14:40:49 up 4 days, 30 min,  2 users,  load average: 0.67, 0.41, 0.31
I'm running F10.
__________________
Code:
from rlyeh import cthulhu
cthulhu.fhtagn()
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2nd January 2009, 07:04 AM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,279
No problem here. -- F10 -- (Had to reboot for a kernel change two weeks ago. Need to do it again tomorrow.)

Code:
uptime
 01:03:10 up 11 days,  2:26,  2 users,  load average: 0.40, 0.45, 0.41
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd January 2009, 07:05 AM
Demz
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
hmm well i have had a crash but one wonders if it was a hardware fault that made his Fedora8 crash
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd January 2009, 01:59 PM
Jake Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: England, Lincolnshire
Posts: 1,576
No I never, but that's because my machines were all powered off new years, partly because I was drinking and really didn't want to make them stop working ya know? I even pulled the plug out and flicked the switch on the power supply, so I had to at least be semi sober to figure out how to get it working again , plus I was with family. Well my mother and grandma only, but it still counts.
__________________
Fedora user since FC6.
Linux user since 2003.
Registered Linux ID: #456478
OS: Fedora 16 x86_64
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd January 2009, 04:21 PM
jimfenton Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Los Altos, CA
Posts: 3
Read through the responses to the Slashdot posting...it happened to others (including myself), although it didn't happen to everybody. My hardware has been very reliable, and it's on a UPS, but the system just hung.

A similar (same?) problem has also been brought up on linux.debian.user.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd January 2009, 04:23 PM
Jake Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: England, Lincolnshire
Posts: 1,576
Hmm I think this deserves a "Spooky" but pronounced "Spookeey" (with a long eeh sort of ey)
__________________
Fedora user since FC6.
Linux user since 2003.
Registered Linux ID: #456478
OS: Fedora 16 x86_64
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using LEAP, WPA-EAP and CCMP with NetworkManager janvlug Servers & Networking 6 22nd September 2007 11:57 AM
LEAP Authentication??? R2-D2 Servers & Networking 0 12th February 2007 01:39 AM
wpa_supplicant & LEAP crossmr Servers & Networking 0 26th January 2006 06:02 PM
Using Cisco LEAP crackers Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 7 1st December 2005 06:16 AM


Current GMT-time: 22:21 (Wednesday, 01-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat