Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 26th December 2008, 09:18 PM
Gundumfx Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 63
pulseaudio and enableing my soundcard

right, so system-config-soundcard is gone. and my issue is that if i ever install fedora without gnome, my sound refuses to work.

i did a cat /proc/asound/cards and got this:

0 [Intel ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel
HDA Intel at 0xf9ff8000 irq 22

so the thingy is detected, however when i do paman (im new to pulseaudio as i've never been forced to learn anything about it, till now) i see that my only output is null.

i have 0 idea how to enable it. please dear god help... here's all the relevant info

i did a very minimal install, added all the repos during install so i have up-to-date packages
i didn't install any WM cept fluxbox, and no gdm/xdm, added a SLiM after everything was done.

thats basically my install, now i've been trying for a while so i have alot of sound packages installed, just no idea which or what i do to enable that sound device. and the only time the sound worked on my machine is with vista or with a linux installed with gnome.
board is p5q pro if thats relevant.

so i want to know, how do i enable my sound to be used by pulseaudio? remember, NO GNOME
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28th December 2008, 10:43 AM
Gundumfx Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 63
3 day old. bump. no progress. plx help
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th December 2008, 03:49 PM
cheerio158 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 224
I have a similar problem except I created a F10 liveusb and have no sound. Weirdly, the sound works fine on the same laptop (specs in my tag line). This formerly worked with F9 liveusb build.

It is frustrating because of the now-gone sound card detection tool.

I ran mplayer -ao help to get the list of devices and tried each one to no avail (i.e. mplayer -ao pulse test.wav).

I'm now at a loss for ideas too.

Help ??
__________________
Desktop Smolt profile
Laptop Smolt profile
EeePC Smolt profile
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th December 2008, 09:53 PM
Telliria Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sweden
Age: 29
Posts: 40
I also did a clean "install" with the live xfce version of Fedora 10 and no sound. My sound card is identified by the system. All the audio programs seems to be playing the sound files I try. However I can't hear anything except for a small bump from the speakers when I start an audio file or flash movie.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th December 2008, 09:29 AM
Gundumfx Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 63
did some digging around, and someone told me to run the alsa-info.sh tool for more info

so here it is
http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=62...2ce5e02b95f588
any help would be sweet, as you can see, my soundcard is detected but will not run
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th December 2008, 01:05 PM
fuad_ Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
i am a new to fedora - i have the same problem

no sound - it's enough

actually i am thinking to go back to microsoft windows
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th December 2008, 02:57 PM
cheerio158 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 224
I'm now suspicious that there is a recent bug in the F10 driver which supports Intel sound cards:
  1. Sound using my liveusb works fine on my desktop (see smolt profiles below).
  2. I ran the original release F10 live CD (albeit x64, not 386) and sound worked fine on my laptop.
  3. But if I boot my laptop without the liveusb (fully up-to-date x64 F10), sound works fine (indicating that this may be an x64/3886 issue).
  4. I'm also suspicious of SELinux, it is disabled on the native laptop but permissive in the liveusb.
Still investigating and any ideas, tips or hints would be welcome.

fuad, don't go back to Windoze just yet!!. Once you work past this small glitch, you will be amazed! Assuming you are using Gnome, double-click on the volume control launcher on the Desktop panel and review the different controls to be sure they aren't on low or even muted. Also go to the Gnome Main Menu->Sound and Video->Pulse Audio Volume Control and review the settings there.
__________________
Desktop Smolt profile
Laptop Smolt profile
EeePC Smolt profile
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29th December 2008, 07:07 PM
Gundumfx Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 63
i guess i forgot to mention that it works if i install gnome when i install fedora with gnome, but i didn't, i just installed fedora completely minimal and added Slim and Fluxbox. so gnome either starts a session or daemon or configures something that i don't.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29th December 2008, 08:58 PM
cheerio158 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 224
I partially resolved my problem in this thread.
__________________
Desktop Smolt profile
Laptop Smolt profile
EeePC Smolt profile
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29th December 2008, 09:52 PM
Gundumfx Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheerio158 View Post
I partially resolved my problem in this thread.
my problem is not the same as yours, my card is detected, but not enabled or something, alsa, pulse, oss nothing can access it. for reference see my alsa-info above.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 29th December 2008, 10:12 PM
nevionix Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 18
Gundumfx,

As far as my knowledge goes about pulse audio, it requires server and client side to work properly. Now I have never used xcfe so I won't know where to put the details in (maybe in a xcfe startup script?), but try this and check if it works for you, as this is what Gnome calls to run sound:

start-pulseaudio-x11

Let us know!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30th December 2008, 06:14 AM
Gundumfx Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 63
i can run it after i added myself to the pulse-rt group. but i still can't play sounds, tried vlc and aplay, neither play anything.
any more ideas?

heres thought. someone tell me exactly all the layers need to run a audio wav file
so something like:
vlc -> pulseaudio (conf and permissions too) -> alsa (also conf and permissions) -> HDA Intel ICH10 (conf and permissions as well)

i think thats the order, so what are all the things i need to do to get sound up and running?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 30th December 2008, 10:21 AM
nevionix Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 18
G,

I have found this for xfce:

http://forum.xfce.org/index.php?topic=3697.0

If all else fails, I might have some time over the weekend to install xfce and give it a test..
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 30th December 2008, 01:36 PM
Telliria Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sweden
Age: 29
Posts: 40
My problem seems to be exactly like gundumfx. My soundcard is detected but no sound.
How do I add myself to the pulse-rt group? If there's any stats or readouts from my computer that will help solving this problem, please let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 30th December 2008, 01:51 PM
nevionix Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 18
Telliria,

Are you also using xcfe? When you say exactly like G's, did you also test Gnome? Was your sound working in Gnome?

To add yourself to the pulse-rt group, you need to edit /etc/groups, example:

pulse-rt:x:496:username

Try the option that was found on http://forum.xfce.org/index.php?topic=3697.0 by adding /usr/bin/pulseaudio to the startupitems in xcfe

Regards,
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enableing, pulseaudio, soundcard

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creative X-FI 5.1 USB Soundcard and PulseAudio durangowildlife Hardware & Laptops 33 16th January 2010 02:09 PM
PulseAudio Does Not Retain Default Soundcard Setting After Re-Boot xeonman9000 Using Fedora 5 22nd January 2008 07:49 AM
trouble enableing desktop effects redwinterwolf Using Fedora 9 14th January 2008 06:36 PM
enableing synth and seq Loki1950 Hardware & Laptops 2 4th August 2005 02:11 AM
Cannot Loggin after enableing Kerberos and LDAP peckas Security and Privacy 1 29th May 2005 04:54 AM


Current GMT-time: 23:29 (Sunday, 20-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat