Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 26th December 2008, 09:18 PM
Gundumfx Offline

pulseaudio and enableing my soundcard

right, so system-config-soundcard is gone. and my issue is that if i ever install fedora without gnome, my sound refuses to work.

i did a cat /proc/asound/cards and got this:

0 [Intel ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel
HDA Intel at 0xf9ff8000 irq 22

so the thingy is detected, however when i do paman (im new to pulseaudio as i've never been forced to learn anything about it, till now) i see that my only output is null.

i have 0 idea how to enable it. please dear god help... here's all the relevant info

i did a very minimal install, added all the repos during install so i have up-to-date packages
i didn't install any WM cept fluxbox, and no gdm/xdm, added a SLiM after everything was done.

thats basically my install, now i've been trying for a while so i have alot of sound packages installed, just no idea which or what i do to enable that sound device. and the only time the sound worked on my machine is with vista or with a linux installed with gnome.
board is p5q pro if thats relevant.

so i want to know, how do i enable my sound to be used by pulseaudio? remember, NO GNOME
Old 28th December 2008, 10:43 AM
Gundumfx Offline

3 day old. bump. no progress. plx help
Old 28th December 2008, 03:49 PM
cheerio158 Offline

I have a similar problem except I created a F10 liveusb and have no sound. Weirdly, the sound works fine on the same laptop (specs in my tag line). This formerly worked with F9 liveusb build.

It is frustrating because of the now-gone sound card detection tool.

I ran mplayer -ao help to get the list of devices and tried each one to no avail (i.e. mplayer -ao pulse test.wav).

I'm now at a loss for ideas too.

Help ??
Old 28th December 2008, 09:53 PM
Telliria Offline