Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 19th December 2008, 03:51 AM
Ze_ro Offline

Video Capture Cards & Fedora?

I'm interested in getting a video capture card for use in my Linux machine... however, I have no experience with these cards before, so I was hoping someone around here might have some suggestions on what kind of card I should get, and what kind of experience I should expect from it.

Basically, I want to be able to record short clips and still shots from an S-Video source (though I suppose it's probably easier to take still images from the resulting video with a separate program). My system is relatively old and slow (1.8GHz AMD Sempron, 2GB RAM), so on-board MPEG2 encoding will probably be necessary, or at least helpful. PVR functionality would be nice, and I might try it out in the future, but it's not important to me at the moment. All my video sources will be analog, so no need for HDMI or any particularly modern features. I will commonly need to work with both PAL and NTSC video signals (including PAL and NTSC colour signals too... not merely 50/60Hz support). I also have no PCI-E slots, so I guess PCI is the way to go... or are USB tuners worth looking at?

From what I can tell, almost any modern card should fit my needs... but Linux support is the tricky part. This Hauppauge WinTV PVR-150 seems to fit the bill... but does anyone have any experience with these? What kind of program is best suited to displaying video from a tuner?

--Zero
Old 19th December 2008, 04:04 AM
SuperNu Offline