Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 11th December 2008, 12:45 AM
Hesham Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Exclamation Cannot Boot Vista

I've installed fedora 10 after installing vista on my hard drive. I see the boot menu on the pc start up but when selecting to boot vista the pc restarts again.

I've tried to fix that and made the following changes to grub.conf but I have the following output:

Code:
Error 12 : Invalid device requested
Press any key to continue...
See I did a good job :s

Anyway that's my hdd layout:

Code:
Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x46cc46cb

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *           1        3825    30724281    7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda2            3826       19457   125564040    f  W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/sda5            3826       15526    93988251    b  W95 FAT32
/dev/sda6           19290       19457     1349428+  82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda7           15527       17031    12088881   83  Linux
/dev/sda8           17032       19289    18137353+  83  Linux

Partition table entries are not in disk order
And that's my grub.conf:

Code:
default=0
timeout=5
splashimage=(hd0,6)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu

title Fedora (2.6.27.7-134.fc10.i686)
	root (hd0,6)
	kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.27.7-134.fc10.i686 ro root=UUID=5567e31a-beb8-4041-b3d7-43caf5b5daef rhgb quiet
	initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.27.7-134.fc10.i686.img

title Fedora (2.6.27.5-117.fc10.i686)
	root (hd0,6)
	kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.27.5-117.fc10.i686 ro root=UUID=5567e31a-beb8-4041-b3d7-43caf5b5daef rhgb quiet
	initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.27.5-117.fc10.i686.img

title Vista
	rootnoverify (hd0,1)
	makeactive
	chainloader +1
Please note that I'm linux newbie so if anyone will try to help me please give me simple description of the solution.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11th December 2008, 12:50 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,713
Looks as if Vista should be rootnoverify (hd0,0). Grub counts from 0 so 0 is 1, 1 is 2, 2 is 3, etc. Use a text editor as root and make the change. Nano is probably the simplest if you lack experience. Open a terminal and type
Code:
su
(enter root password)
nano /boot/grub/menu.lst
Make the change and save. Reboot to Vista.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th December 2008, 12:51 AM
stevea Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 8,832
I could be mistaken, but this line of grub.conf
rootnoverify (hd0,1)
should probably be
rootnoverify (hd0,0)

Try it (edit from Fedora and reboot). Can't hurt.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th December 2008, 01:00 AM
Hesham Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
rootnoverify (hd0,0) Done.
And gave the following error:
NTLDR is missing
press any key to restart..
(didn't even respond the "any key")

Last edited by Hesham; 11th December 2008 at 01:05 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th December 2008, 01:02 AM
Sauron Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 258
you mean (hd0,0) right?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th December 2008, 01:08 AM
Hesham Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
rootnoverify (hd0,1) lead to Error 12 : Invalid device requested
rootnoverify (hd0,0) lead to NTLDR is missing
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th December 2008, 01:12 AM
Sauron Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 258
K, just wanted to make sure the pre-edit #4 was right... Out of ideas at that point here, I've not tried to dual-boot a Vista setup, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11th December 2008, 01:19 AM
NoEffex Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 299
I did that and it turns out I wiped the bootloader(or effed it up) on mine a while back. Sounds like you did too. You should be able to reinstall it from the recovery disk.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 CPU (2.66 GHz)
3gb RAM
500GB HD
Debian Lenny x86_64 & Windows 7 Ultimate x64
NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GTX+ Superclocked - Fattypack

Second(Server) PC:
512mb RAM
80gb TiVO HD(Lololol, took it from TiVO, old one broke)
PC-BSD 7.1.1 x86
Ossom router decked out with DD-WRT as a bridge providing net
Sign the Online Petition to bring Crysis 2 to Linux/Mac!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11th December 2008, 01:27 AM
Hesham Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
what recovery disk?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11th December 2008, 01:41 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,713
Vista can only be on the first partition because that's the only NTFS partition. Try removing the makeactive line from menu.lst and make sure that you're still using rootnoverify (hd0,0)
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11th December 2008, 01:42 AM
nick.stumpos Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lansing, Mi
Age: 29
Posts: 2,222
you can try this
http://neosmart.net/wiki/display/EBC...r+with+EasyBCD
seems safe and free. havent used it myself though so no guarantees
__________________
As always
Love, Life, Loyalty, Wisdom, Knowledge, And Understanding
FC6: Common Questions answered
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11th December 2008, 02:00 AM
Hesham Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
removing 'makeactive' lead to NTLDR is missing
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11th December 2008, 02:47 AM
stoat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7,550
Hello Hesham and everybody,

Vista does not use NTLoader or any of its boot loader files. It uses bootmgr.exe. Also, the partition that contains Vista's boot loader files would have different boot sector code than that of any of the previous NT family (NT, W2K, XP, Server 2003) and not look for NTLDR when executed. That is true even if the Vista boot loader files are not in the same partition as the Vista system itself. However, the "NTLDR is missing" message can appear when any ordinary NTFS partition's boot sector code is executed (say, by GRUB).

The partition /dev/sda1 is the only primary partition on your drive and therefore the only candidate for being not only the Vista partition, but also for containing its boot loader files. If Vista was booting after you installed it, and no partitions have been deleted since, then /dev/sda1 must surely still contain the Vista boot loader files (bootmgr.exe and the \boot folder). You can boot into Fedora, mount /dev/sda1 and look for bootmgr.exe and a folder named "boot". If they are there, then that is the Vista partition and also the partition with its boot loader files.

Yet its boot sector code is looking for NTLDR. Some important part of the story is missing yet.

Last edited by stoat; 11th December 2008 at 03:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11th December 2008, 02:47 AM
Hesham Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
EasyBCD is a windows application. I thought linux developers would invent something to help with that. I'm downloading the boot repair for windows vista from the same site. but worried about fixing boot of fedora and boot into fedora again maybe the EasyBCD will fix that but i'm sorry I'm just disappointed I'm not a fan of microsoft :S
Please if there linux something similar.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11th December 2008, 02:47 AM
Hesham Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
EasyBCD is a windows application. I thought linux developers would invent something to help with that. I'm downloading the boot repair for windows vista from the same site. but worried about fixing boot of fedora and boot into fedora again maybe the EasyBCD will fix that but i'm sorry I'm just disappointed I'm not a fan of microsoft :S
Please if there linux something similar.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, vista

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista won't boot up now anthonyfg Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 11 2nd February 2009 04:29 PM
Dual Boot with Vista s.d. Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 10 22nd September 2008 10:48 PM
Dual Boot Vista/Fedora9 - Vista not booting agb81 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 6 6th August 2008 05:07 PM
Grub fails to boot Vista in an F8-Vista dual boot kpfuser Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 2nd May 2008 02:57 PM
Can't boot to vista void_return Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 27th February 2008 07:40 PM


Current GMT-time: 23:46 (Thursday, 18-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat