Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 8th December 2008, 12:35 PM
sor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 35
[SOLVED] Resolution problems & system-config-display not starting!

After installing F10, the automatically defined screen resolution is far too high for user comfort, so login in is even difficult!

In order to change this, under Gnome I opened a console window, switched to root user and tried:
Code:
yum -y install system-config-display
So far so good, but...

In the Fedora top panel/menu, no Display entry shows up. Therefore, I had to start system-config-display manually in the console. The trouble is the system spits the following answer and the utility fails to start:

Code:
root@f10test ~]# system-config-display
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/share/system-config-display/xConfigDialog.py", line 61, in update_ui
    label.set_text(_("%s with %s")%(self.state.get_monitor_name(), self.state.get_videocard_name()))
UnicodeDecodeError: 'utf8' codec can't decode bytes in position 20-21: invalid data
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/share/system-config-display/xConfigDialog.py", line 61, in update_ui
    label.set_text(_("%s with %s")%(self.state.get_monitor_name(), self.state.get_videocard_name()))
UnicodeDecodeError: 'utf8' codec can't decode bytes in position 20-21: invalid data
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/share/system-config-display/xconf.py", line 376, in <module>
    dialog = xConfigDialog.XConfigDialog(hardware_state, xconfig, rhpxl.videocard.VideoCardInfo())
  File "/usr/share/system-config-display/xConfigDialog.py", line 659, in __init__
    self.update_ui()
  File "/usr/share/system-config-display/xConfigDialog.py", line 61, in update_ui
    label.set_text(_("%s with %s")%(self.state.get_monitor_name(), self.state.get_videocard_name()))
UnicodeDecodeError: 'utf8' codec can't decode bytes in position 20-21: invalid data
Video card: Intel 82865G

What can I do further to solve the problem?
I and my 1000 school users thank you for help.

Last edited by sor; 10th December 2008 at 11:08 PM. Reason: Solved
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 8th December 2008, 01:43 PM
Oakems Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London
Age: 31
Posts: 157
Hello Sor, I use KDE so I'm not sure if this will help, but have you tried just typing:
system-config-display --reconfig
as root?
(I'm fairly new to Linux so don't hate me if what I'm telling you is something extremely basic that you've already tried, but I find sometimes simplicity works best)
Hope this works for you
Oakems
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th December 2008, 02:31 PM
Oakems Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London
Age: 31
Posts: 157
Did my advice not work?

Last edited by Oakems; 10th December 2008 at 04:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th December 2008, 02:40 PM
Maryyy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 633
I had the same problem. I simply fixed it by deleting xorg.conf file. Back it up first, should anything go wrong, then run the tool again, should work.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th December 2008, 03:18 PM
Oakems Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London
Age: 31
Posts: 157
Sor, has none of these things worked for you?

what happened when you typed 'system-config-display --reconfig' from a terminal as root? If this did not work try booting into run level three and trying it there.

Do you know the make and type of your monitor?

Post back when things don't work so that other people with the same problem as you are in the know. Plus this makes it a lot easier for other people trying to help you, as they will know that the problem has not yet been resolved.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th December 2008, 08:16 PM
sor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 35
Thanks for your prompt replies! Great forum, helpful participants!

But today we are having a national holiday (Portugal, Europe), I am writing from home and I'am returning to my school tomorrow only (where the problem lies), then I will surely try out your suggestions and post back the outcome.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th December 2008, 05:07 PM
sor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 35
I tried both suggestions, unfortunately failing to get the problem solved.

With the --reconfig option, the situation remains exactly the same: error messages and no start of the GUI window for display setup. I also tried --forceui as option.

As to xorg.conf, which I searched in /etc/X11, the file does not exist. May be this is why: since system-config-display does not start, xorg.conf is not created.

Now I am considering inserting a sample xorg.conf into /etc/X11 and see whether it is well adopted by the system, but this I can only try out tomorrow. (I will also take note on the model of the CRT monitor under use.) Also, I still need to try the suggestion of launching system-config-display in runlevel three (although I thought this tool only would work graphically...).

Comments? Suggestions?
Thanks.

Last edited by sor; 9th December 2008 at 05:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10th December 2008, 01:40 AM
Maryyy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 633
Yes, generating a basic xorg.conf seems to be the only solution.
You can make your work a bit easier by running Xorg -configure to set up a basic xorg.conf file. Even if it fails (as it does in Vbox), it creates xorg.conf.new in /root. Then copy it over to /etc/X11/xorg.conf and edit according to your needs. Not much, but I hope it works.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10th December 2008, 04:55 PM
Oakems Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London
Age: 31
Posts: 157
Here's a copy of my Xorg that you can use as a template if you have nothing else. You'll need to change the info on it to fit your system of course.

I'd try booting into run level three and typing "system-config-display --reconfig" first though. After that has been typed it should take you to a screen where you can select your monitor type and your desired resolution. It's important that run level three is booted into and not just switched to from the command line or it will not work.

Hope you get it fixed

# Xorg configuration created by livna-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "single head configuration"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules/extensions/nvidia"
ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "AIGLX" "on"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# keyboard added by rhpxl
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "gb"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
ModelName "Hansol Electronics Mazellan900P"
HorizSync 30.0 - 96.0
VertRefresh 47.0 - 150.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10th December 2008, 05:38 PM
sor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 35
Resolution problems & system-config-display not starting! - SOLVED

At last the problem is solved!

For system-config-display to work, it was indeed required to generate previously an xorg.conf file. That way, the entry Display even shows up in the Gnome menu as initially expected.

So in the console I typed:

Code:
Xorg -configure
mv /root/xorg.conf.new /etc/X11/xorg.conf
And then the configuration options became available, so that the system's graphical resolution could be tweaked as wished. No manual editing of xorg.conf was even needed in this case.

Thanks Oakems and Maryyy!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10th December 2008, 05:50 PM
Loki1950 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ottawa ,Canada
Posts: 459
@sor it might be a good idea to edit the subject line of your original post and add the solved there that way others with the same problem can see it immediately.

Enjoy the Choice
__________________
Enjoy the Choice:)
Q8200/Asus P5QDLDX/8G ram/500G HD f10/Zotac gt640 2G
XP2500 Barton/AsusA7N8X Deluxe/768M RAM/6800gt 128M WinXPpro SP3 120 Gb ntft f10 80 Gb ext3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
problems, resolution, starting, systemconfigdisplay

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems starting system-config apps odiseo77 Using Fedora 2 12th May 2005 07:51 PM
Problems with resolution and system-config-display slayer548 Hardware & Laptops 4 29th March 2005 09:40 PM
resolution issues, gnome, and system-config-display dbsavage Hardware & Laptops 0 1st March 2005 04:55 PM
Custom (1440x900) resolution in system-display-config Nick666 Using Fedora 4 5th January 2005 08:20 PM


Current GMT-time: 23:26 (Monday, 22-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Brighton Beach, United Kingdom Instagram Photos - Shwedagon Pagoda - Rodoanel Travel Photos on Instagram - Sweet Home