Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 29th November 2008, 05:21 PM
okcomputer44 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: England/Hungary
Age: 39
Posts: 121
can't boot F10

Hi guys!

I'm still having a problem with my hw config.
I tried the oldest alpha and beta 2 snapshot to install before no fortune.

It looks like the final version does not work too.

I can't boot the system something wrong with the RAID card.
The kernel boots itself but after that just the numlock key works on the keyboard.(alt+ctrl+del works too)
I can't change the task to have a look the logs.

My config is this:

- Asus P5KWS motherboard. (with 64 bit long PCI bus slot)
- Kingston RAM
- ATI GPU 3450
- intel core 2 quad
- dell perc 320/DC controller (64 bit PCI)
- SCSI hdds

Obviously the raid controller the problem. (I installed before ubuntu to try it and it worked and centos too.)

Does anyone has this problem on F10 x86_64?

Thanks!

Laz
__________________
Registered Linux user #405129#
MCP 70-210, 70-290
Intel core 2 quad 2.4Ghz, 4 Gb RAM, ASUS P5K Workstation MB
2 * Seagate Cheetah 15K 147Gb U320_SCSI
DELL PERC 320/DC RAID controller

#########################
# http://opensourcetechnology.co.uk #
#########################

################################
# http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rubik%27s_Cube #
################################
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29th November 2008, 11:45 PM
okcomputer44 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: England/Hungary
Age: 39
Posts: 121
So,

I found out that when the system booting up the kernel says error mounting /dev/root on /sysroot as ext3: no such file.

I'll try to reinstall the system with adaptec U160 scsi card let's see what wrong is.
__________________
Registered Linux user #405129#
MCP 70-210, 70-290
Intel core 2 quad 2.4Ghz, 4 Gb RAM, ASUS P5K Workstation MB
2 * Seagate Cheetah 15K 147Gb U320_SCSI
DELL PERC 320/DC RAID controller

#########################
# http://opensourcetechnology.co.uk #
#########################

################################
# http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rubik%27s_Cube #
################################
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th November 2008, 12:49 AM
epperson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 65
Is it failing to boot the installation media? Or is it appearing to install and then not booting from the RAID?
It sounds like the second one. If that's it, boot rescue from the installation media, chroot /mnt/sysimage and check that there's an alias for aacraid in /etc/modprobe.conf, like:
alias scsi_hostadapter1 aacraid

If it's not there, add it. You'll need to manually do a mkinitrd, because without that line in modprobe.conf, the driver is probably not built into your initrd. If the line is already there, it's worth trying a mkinitrd anyway. I've seen several Fedora kernel packages over the years that would produce a busted initrd under some circumstances, more often with the LSI based PERCs than the Adaptec ones, but at least once with an Adaptec.

If you have trouble figuring out mkinitrd, post back and I'll try to dig up a command line for you. Once you've rebuilt the Initial Ram Disk, try booting again.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th November 2008, 11:22 PM
okcomputer44 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: England/Hungary
Age: 39
Posts: 121
The system can't boot from the raid. I tried to boot in rescue to have a look the modprobe and the aacraid was in it but on different way. It was install not alias.

Anyway I added the alias scsi_hostadapter aacraid line but no fortune.

I tried to rmmod the module and it says can't be unload because it is loaded and the system using it.

So it looks like really loaded and the "lsmod | grep aacraid" command says aacraid "74504 2"

I had a look the logs(not too much) and I think the problem basically the raid controller's cache memory.

The "modinfo aacraid" command says three different way possible to load the raid module.

Write back cache, read cache, no cache.

I can't find that how to load it in the modules.conf.
I'll research it on google, maybe an example how to load it.

Anyway thanks for the idea.

Oh by the way. I tried to reainstall with autopartitioning and no fortune too.(volume group)

Laz
__________________
Registered Linux user #405129#
MCP 70-210, 70-290
Intel core 2 quad 2.4Ghz, 4 Gb RAM, ASUS P5K Workstation MB
2 * Seagate Cheetah 15K 147Gb U320_SCSI
DELL PERC 320/DC RAID controller

#########################
# http://opensourcetechnology.co.uk #
#########################

################################
# http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rubik%27s_Cube #
################################
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st December 2008, 02:52 AM
epperson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by okcomputer44 View Post
The system can't boot from the raid. I tried to boot in rescue to have a look the modprobe and the aacraid was in it but on different way. It was install not alias.

Anyway I added the alias scsi_hostadapter aacraid line but no fortune.

I tried to rmmod the module and it says can't be unload because it is loaded and the system using it.

Laz
OK, that sounds like you were able to get the RAID mounted in rescue. While you're in that,

chroot /mnt/sysimage

then

zcat /boot/initrd-2.6.27.5-117.fc10.i686.img|cpio --list|grep aacraid

substituting your /grub/initrd* file name if the version is not 2.6.27.5-117.fc10.i686. If there's more than one initrd, use the highest numbered version with a matching vmlinuz, config, and System-Map version.

If you don't see "aacraid.ko", you don't have the driver in your initial ram disk, and thus vmlinuz can't get your RAID container loaded. Since you've put the alias into modprobe.conf, comment out the redundant (I think) "install" line there, and try rebuilding your initrd.

mkinitrd -f /boot/initrd-2.6.27.5-117.fc10.i686.img 2.6.27.5-117.fc10.i686

again, substituting your kernel version if not 2.6.27.5-117.fc10.i686. Do the zcat|cpio|grep pipe again and you should see aacraid.ko now. Now try booting from the RAID.

If that does it, do please file a bug at bugzilla.redhat.com. Or even if it doesn't.

Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd December 2008, 02:50 PM
okcomputer44 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: England/Hungary
Age: 39
Posts: 121
Hi,

It looks like something else is wrong with this raid thing.

I examined the image file and the aacraid is in it.

Anyway I followed your instructions and build up the new image.

I still can't boot.

Anyway thanks for your help.

Laz.
__________________
Registered Linux user #405129#
MCP 70-210, 70-290
Intel core 2 quad 2.4Ghz, 4 Gb RAM, ASUS P5K Workstation MB
2 * Seagate Cheetah 15K 147Gb U320_SCSI
DELL PERC 320/DC RAID controller

#########################
# http://opensourcetechnology.co.uk #
#########################

################################
# http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rubik%27s_Cube #
################################
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, f10

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rebuilding the Grub Boot Loader on Master Boot Record (MBR) w Fedora Linux Vector Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 6 1st August 2009 08:39 AM
boot: boot /boot partition fubar! Flyboy917 Using Fedora 6 26th April 2008 05:33 PM
How to triple boot, adding xp home to 3rd disk, keeping boot sectors safe voam Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 9th March 2006 04:28 AM
Dual Boot probl Win XP and FC 3: no boot menu and automatical boot to windows siwask Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 18th February 2005 03:57 AM


Current GMT-time: 07:48 (Saturday, 25-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Cacem - Coruripe Photos - Murbad Travel Photos on Instagram