Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 27th November 2008, 08:34 PM
danespen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: new jersey
Posts: 30
Angry FC9 Intel 865G wont do 1600x1200

I have Mandriva 10 installed on this machine. I recently installed FC 9 and it picked the "intel" driver instead of the "i810" it used for Mandriva.

I've had this machine running at 1600x1200 but FC 9 refuses to go that high.

The GUI only offers the choices of 1024x768 and lower.
xrandr shows more choices but nothing higher.

The only thing relevant I see in the Xorg.0.log is:

(II) intel(0): Using fuzzy aspect match for initial modes
(II) intel(0): Output VGA using initial mode 1024x768
(II) intel(0): detected 128 kB GTT.
(II) intel(0): detected 892 kB stolen memory.

How do I get the "intel" driver to use a higher resolution.
The video card is an onboard:

82865G Integrated Graphics Controller rev 2
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27th November 2008, 09:03 PM
pwca Offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 827
Please post contents of: /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th November 2008, 11:49 PM
danespen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: new jersey
Posts: 30
I read that the Intel driver doesn't use much from the xorg.conf. There are no mode lines or modes listed:

# Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "single head configuration"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
FontPath "catalogue:/etc/X11/fontpath.d"
FontPath "built-ins"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "xtrap"
Load "extmod"
Load "glx"
Load "dri"
Load "dbe"
Load "GLcore"
Load "dri2"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Monitor Model"
EndSection

Section "Device"

### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
### [arg]: arg optional
#Option "NoAccel" # [<bool>]
#Option "SWcursor" # [<bool>]
#Option "ColorKey" # <i>
#Option "CacheLines" # <i>
#Option "Dac6Bit" # [<bool>]
#Option "DRI" # [<bool>]
#Option "NoDDC" # [<bool>]
#Option "ShowCache" # [<bool>]
#Option "XvMCSurfaces" # <i>
#Option "PageFlip" # [<bool>]
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "intel"
VendorName "Intel Corporation"
BoardName "82865G Integrated Graphics Controller"
BusID "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 16
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 1
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 4
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 8
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 15
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 16
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "800x600"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Last edited by danespen; 27th November 2008 at 11:55 PM. Reason: Tried to get attachment right...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th November 2008, 11:53 PM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
(1) Mandriva 10 and Fedora 9 do not necessarily use the same release of X11/Xorg.
(2) In F9, driver "i810" is just a sym-link to driver "intel".
(3) Acceleration method and other factors may affect available screen resolution(s) and refresh rate(s).
(4) Modes and modelines are optional, not required.

V

P.S. Post contents of xorg.conf here, and upload /var/log/Xorg.0.log to pastebin.com and post link here.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th November 2008, 12:08 AM
danespen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: new jersey
Posts: 30
Hi,

I edited my xorg.conf into the prior message, did an upload here (but wasn't clear where it went), and just put it on pastebin.com using my name (danespen).

I did make one attempt at using i810 (it was a choice in the GUI) but X wouldn't come up at all when I did that.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th November 2008, 02:25 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
I can't access the pastebin.com info as I don't know how/where to put your name.

BACK UP your xorg.conf file, then edit to:
> remove (or comment out) the entire "Files" section - it's not needed and specifying the wrong/incomplete info could bork it.
> remove (or comment out) the entire "Modules" section - it's not needed and specifying the wrong/incomplete info could bork it.
> edit "Screen" section as follows:
Code:
Section "Screen"
        Identifier "Screen0"
        Device "Card0"
        Monitor "Monitor0"
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport 0 0
                Depth 24
        EndSubSection
EndSection
Re-start X. See what happens. Lots more to try if that fails.

V
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28th November 2008, 02:49 AM
danespen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: new jersey
Posts: 30
I'll try it, but I think my config has essentially the same thing. This is my work machine so I can't try it until monday.

I've put the xorg.conf file here:

http://mysite.verizon.net/despen/xorg.conf.txt
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28th November 2008, 03:25 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
Yes, I saw the xorg.conf in Post #3, but I was hoping to look at /var/log/Xorg.0.log to see if any good info in there....

V
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28th November 2008, 03:29 AM
danespen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: new jersey
Posts: 30
Xorg.0.log here:

http://mysite.verizon.net/despen/Xorg.0.log.txt
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28th November 2008, 03:34 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
You should also update to a modern kernel - this one was released in the Jurassic Age:
Code:
Current Operating System: Linux dane-2.cc.telcordia.com 2.6.25-14.fc9.i686 #1 SMP Thu May 1 06:28:41 EDT 2008 i686
I have: 2.6.27.5-41.fc9.i686

In fact, you should do a complete system software update.

V

P.S> The X11R7.4/Xorg-1.5 Window System released with F9 was not finished at the time, and was... less than adequate for normal use. Updating should fix a lot of stuff.

Last edited by Hlingler; 28th November 2008 at 03:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 28th November 2008, 04:39 AM
danespen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: new jersey
Posts: 30
The new kernel is already there. I didn't expect it to do anything to the video driver. I'll reboot and test again Monday.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 28th November 2008, 04:45 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
Ah, OK, I see. Well, as long as all other software was updated, I don't see why the new kernel should affect this either, but....

Good Luck,
V
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 28th November 2008, 03:05 PM
danespen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: new jersey
Posts: 30
Thumbs down

<<P.S> The X11R7.4/Xorg-1.5 Window System released with F9 was not finished at the time, and was... less than adequate for normal use. Updating should fix a lot of stuff.>>

Well, I worked at getting this problem fixed for quite a while and finally applied all the updates and restarted X windows. (I was at run-level 3).

Your comment doesn't give me a good feeling. Neither did the GUI which identified this driver as "experimental". When I click on the hardware tab it doesn't recognize the display either. I opened that dialog and told it I have a 1600x1200 CRT but that didn't help either, the video card part of the GUI still offered the lower resolution.

I'm not married to the idea of FC9. Is FC10 any better or should I be thinking of some other distro? The only reason I leaned toward Fedora is that I also admin a few RH servers at work.

What would really help is some tool or setting that would show what this driver is doing that tells it it doesn't have higher resolutions available.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 28th November 2008, 06:52 PM
expertmax Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
You should consider upgrading to FC10 because it has newer X version (maybe not?) and video drivers updated and refreshed ! I would give it a try !
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 28th November 2008, 07:15 PM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by danespen
<<P.S> The X11R7.4/Xorg-1.5 Window System released with F9 was not finished at the time, and was... less than adequate for normal use. Updating should fix a lot of stuff.>>

Well, I worked at getting this problem fixed for quite a while and finally applied all the updates and restarted X windows. (I was at run-level 3).
OK, and the results were... ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by danespen
Your comment doesn't give me a good feeling. Neither did the GUI which identified this driver as "experimental". When I click on the hardware tab it doesn't recognize the display either. I opened that dialog and told it I have a 1600x1200 CRT but that didn't help either, the video card part of the GUI still offered the lower resolution.
My comment was meant to drive home the point that software updates were required, but you then responded that you are 100% up-to-date, so that's taken care of. The "experimental" driver is probably the "experimental" modesetting stuff, or maybe the Acceleration Method (EXA versus XAA). You may be able to force legacy driver mode(s) - I alluded to this when I said "other things yet to try". The "hardware tab" I assume refers to system-config-display ("Display Manager"), and there does seem to be some problems/regression with hardware detection, but this is not really a problem, since generic settings will do. Available screen resolutions depend on several factors, the driver and available VRAM being most important.
Quote:
Originally Posted by danespen
I'm not married to the idea of FC9. Is FC10 any better or should I be thinking of some other distro? The only reason I leaned toward Fedora is that I also admin a few RH servers at work.
If you are not commited to F9, I think a try at F10 might be a "Good Idea™©®".
Quote:
Originally Posted by danespen
What would really help is some tool or setting that would show what this driver is doing that tells it it doesn't have higher resolutions available.
That tool would be xrandr. The Xorg.0.log shows why other resolutions were disallowed.

V
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
865g, fc9, intel

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fedora11 wont boot off my intel mac fresh install old noob Mac Chat 4 13th June 2009 10:13 PM
Can't get 1600x1200 working correctly xaxxon Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 20th September 2005 08:52 AM
FC4 NEC DFP 1600x1200 Manwe Using Fedora 0 15th June 2005 11:13 AM


Current GMT-time: 08:45 (Tuesday, 21-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Marigaon Travel Photos - San Jose Photos - Desio Travel Photos on Instagram