Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 25th November 2008, 08:48 PM
john@ackley.net Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 21
Fedora 10 i386 hang on SCSI boot

Installed F10 i386 release - all defaults - hangs after finding all three SCSI drives on the box (immediately after the SCSI BIOS scan) - cpu still alive (checked by toggle of num lock) - system just hangs.

screen at hang

.........
scsi2 : Adaptec AIC7XXX EISA/VLB/PCI SCSI HBA DRIVER, Rev 7.0
<Adaptec 2940 Ultra SCSI adapter>
aic7880: Ultra Wide Channel A, SCSI Id=7, 16/253 SCBs
.........
sd 2:0:2:0: [sdc] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, supports DPO and FUA
sd 2:0:2:0: [sdc] 143666192 512-byte hardware sectors (73557 MB)
sd 2:0:2:0: [sdc] Write Protect is off
sd 2:0:2:0: [sdc] Mode Sense: ed 00 10 08
sd 2:0:2:0: [sdc] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, supports DPO and FUA
sdc: sdc1
sd 2:0:2:0: [sdc] Attached SCSI disk
sd 2:0:2:0: Attached scsi generic sg4 type 0
---hangs here


booting and chroot /mnt/sysimage from rescue no problem!!!

3 x 73 G drives
[root@localhost var]# df
Filesystem 1K-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00
207649384 4145092 192956276 3% /
/dev/sda1 194442 13112 171291 8% /boot

any suggestions?
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26th November 2008, 02:52 PM
john@ackley.net Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 21
no responses yet
so trying to fix

checked CDROM sha1sum OK

tried Adaptec 2940w and 29160 - identical results

removed SCSI drives, installed one IDE drive

installed F 10 all defaults
no errors reported - no problems during install
on boot: No Operating System
using rescue I can chroot /mtn/sysimage
as before and the system works

box
Tyan MB with 2 AMD Athlon(tm) MP 2800+ stepping 00
dmesg file available on request
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th November 2008, 03:07 PM
trameltanz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
F10 SCSI no boot

John,

I have the exact same problem. I have a Sun Java Workstation with SCSI on-board. I have only one scsi device in the system and it is my HDD.

I boot from the i386 DVD and format-install with no problems. At first boot after install i get the EXACT same text that you do. Boot to rescue recovery and everything mounts.

I can install on an IDE system with no problem.

-Tram
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th November 2008, 05:43 PM
tornado.tjtag Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
Same probelm here with X86_X64 with adaptec 2810SA - Hardware Raid SATA, installs fine on a single IDE...


sd 2:0:2:0: Attached scsi generic sg4 type 0
---hangs here

I have also tried creating a new initrd image, still hangs at the same place, kernel option debug shows no info, entering cntrl-c when it hangs, shows stopping all md devices..

no solution yet ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th November 2008, 08:36 PM
jzc Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 16
I also have the same problem too with my IBM iseries 345 server and it hangs at the same place after installing. Me thinks something is missing somewhere... *sighs*
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th November 2008, 09:53 PM
john@ackley.net Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 21
thanks posts with same problem
looks like F 10 problem
same box AMD with 3 SCSI I loaded F 9 - not problems at all!
maybe try to get to F10 by trying to upgrade my now F 9 box!

I did look at F 10 GRUB - seems to be identical to F8 and F9
apparently the problem is after the boot and during the load of the kernel???
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th November 2008, 01:05 AM
Philio27 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 20
Thought I would give FC10 a try and see if it was any better than Ubuntu 8.10 which seams to be a bit buggy at the moment.

Same problem, cannot boot!

I have a 3ware raid controller, 6x300Gb in RAID 5.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27th November 2008, 10:59 AM
uven Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
I'm also experiencing this.

I have an old Dell PowerEdge 4400 server using the AIC-7880 and AIC-7890 host bus adapters. What happens is that it tries to read all the physical volumes and then find the volume groups but fails, also complaining about how it cannot mount /dev/root onto /sysroot. Moments later all the disks start showing up. This seems to me like initrd doesn't wait for the devices to show up before it starts mounting. The system doesn't hang but it doesn't proceed from this point. A standard three finger salute (CTRL+ALT+DEL) makes it reboot normally.

I don't have all the output here at the moment, but I'll see if I can get my hands on it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27th November 2008, 02:28 PM
Philio27 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 20
I've tried a number of things to try and fix this, no joy....

Ubuntu 8.10 uses the same kernel version and has no issues whatsoever.
I wonder if there is a driver missing in the FC10 kernel or something....
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27th November 2008, 02:53 PM
scottro Offline
Retired Community Manager -- Banned from Texas by popular demand.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,142
I've seen other mentions of this issue (F10 and SCSI) on the testing list, but didn't pay that much attention. Has anyone checked bugzilla.

Such errors do occur, usually very quickly fixed.

I just took a quick look--there's a ton of bugs with keywords scsi install, but none that seem related. However, this might just mean that you folks (and possibly someone on testing) are the first to notice.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 27th November 2008, 03:03 PM
Philio27 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 20
I did check bugzilla but didn't see anything that matched either.

I'm using x64 edition as well so it's not just limited to i386 edition.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 27th November 2008, 03:34 PM
Insomune Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gastown, Vancouver, BC
Posts: 42
Same issue on 3ware-9690

Well, hi, this is my first post as I am new to the forums and linux all together, but hey there's a first for everything

Anyways, 3Ware-9690 card running [2] 640gb drives raid1 for OS&Boot and also running a RAID6 on [8] 1tb drives, so about 6tb's available.

I keep hanging on the same screen as you guys, running 64bit version...

But, if I boot it up with the DVD in and "Boot Local Disk" from the DVD menu prompt I can get the gui to boot up and by-pass hanging on that screen....

If anyone has any solutions, I'd like to hear


Thanks! Nice to meet the community,

Inso
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 27th November 2008, 03:47 PM
jzc Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 16
*click.... tapping keys....click click click....*

Welll weelllll weeeeelllllll been hitting the buggy and this just popped out....
====================================
Comment #2 From Charlie Moschel 2008-11-26 09:40:30 EDT -------

Yes, F10 initrd does not wait long enough for the disk scans to complete, with
many scsi and raid cards. 3w-xxxx is confirmed to be a problem in bug #466071
comment #46, and has one workaround there too. Boot a rescue shell, chroot,
rebuild initrd with the scsi_wait_scan module, then reboot.

bug #466534 comment #20 has a list of the 10 or so other dupe bugs that have
been accumulating for a while, if you want more details.
==============================

That was under Bug 472989. Also Bug 454663 describes this problem too.

jzc
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 27th November 2008, 03:47 PM
jzc Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 16
*click.... tapping keys....click click click....*

Welll weelllll weeeeelllllll been hitting the buggy and this just popped out....
====================================
Comment #2 From Charlie Moschel 2008-11-26 09:40:30 EDT -------

Yes, F10 initrd does not wait long enough for the disk scans to complete, with
many scsi and raid cards. 3w-xxxx is confirmed to be a problem in bug #466071
comment #46, and has one workaround there too. Boot a rescue shell, chroot,
rebuild initrd with the scsi_wait_scan module, then reboot.

bug #466534 comment #20 has a list of the 10 or so other dupe bugs that have
been accumulating for a while, if you want more details.
==============================

That was under Bug 472989. Also Bug 454663 describes this problem too.

Now I have a question.... how to rebuild this initrd with the mission module?

jzc

Last edited by jzc; 27th November 2008 at 03:49 PM. Reason: added question
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 27th November 2008, 04:08 PM
Philio27 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 20
Ok I've bugzilla'd this here:

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=473305
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, fedora 10, hangs, scsi

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
aacraid trouble (SCSI hang up?) barakuda Servers & Networking 3 11th January 2010 03:02 PM
Hang: Installing F9 i386 on old AMD-K6 CPU laptop rweed Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 16 3rd September 2008 09:44 PM
Fedora 8 hang on boot Tintinosio Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 12th November 2007 09:31 PM
Hang at loading SCSI driver.... BlackBear Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 24th September 2005 07:57 AM
GRUB or LILO boot to SCSI drive in SCSI system w/ IDE card mkl838 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 6th March 2005 06:44 AM


Current GMT-time: 15:12 (Wednesday, 30-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat