Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Using Fedora
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Using Fedora General support for current versions. Ask questions about Fedora and it's software that do not belong in any other forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10th August 2004, 08:16 PM
mlmitton Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 9
No Ethernet in FC2, AMD64, MSI K8N Neo

Hi all, I put together a new AMD64 system with an MSI K8N Neo Platinum motherboard. So far, it's running fine, except that I can't get the ethernet to work. I know the MB uses the nforce3 chipset, but I thought the 2.6 kernel would support this and that I wouldn't have a problem with the ethernet.

I've tried installing the nvidia nforce drivers, but both the .SRPM and the make/install from the .TAR quit with errors. But I'm not even sure, if I could get it to install, if this would solve the problem.

Also, I had a spare Linksys network card, so I tried popping that in, but that didn't work either. Kudzu recognized it, and I configured it, but when, in the boot process, it tries to bring up eth0, it fails, saying it can't find the IP address (which should be served via DHCP from my router.)

I'd be happy if either of these worked. I'm out of ideas--anyone else out there have suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th August 2004, 09:26 PM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 45
Posts: 8,256
i have a linksys on another pc and it is working find under mdk and fc2 if the one you have is integrated in the mobo go ahead and disable it

then insert the linksys pci one and power on you pc most likely it will be detected by kudzu and if it doesnt just continue and login and open terminal and issue this command: /sbin/lspci

you should see something like this:
imdeemvp@localhost imdeemvp]$ /sbin/lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8377 [KT400/KT600 AGP] Host Bridge (rev 80)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237 PCI Bridge
00:0b.0 Multimedia audio controller: Ensoniq 5880 AudioPCI (rev 02)
00:0f.0 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT823x/A/C PIPC Bus Master IDE (rev 06)
00:10.0 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.1 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.3 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.4 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB 2.0 (rev 86)
00:11.0 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237 ISA bridge [K8T800 South]
00:12.0 Ethernet controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6102 [Rhine-II] (rev 78)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon R200 QL [Radeon 8500 LE]
[imdeemvp@localhost imdeemvp]$

hope this helps
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th August 2004, 12:06 AM
mlmitton Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 9
OK, indeed, nforce3 motherboards are not supported by the kernel that comes with FC2 (or the most current kernel, as of this writing). You can add in a patch callled forcedeth which will add support. I didn't try doing that. Also, 2.6.8, which is currently in a release candidate so should be released soon (and hopefully packaged for easily installation into FC2!), will include the forcedeth driver, and so will support nforce3 mobos.

(I discovered that Nvidia does not open the source for its chipset drivers, so they've been back-engineered by the kernel maintainers. However, Nvidia has helped on removing bugs, adding support, on the back-engineered drivers!)

I have no idea why I couldn't get the Linksys NIC to work--it was recognized by Kudzu, and configured just fine. But, I was never able to get it to actually work. Anyway, I dropped a few bucks on a D-Link ethernet card, popped it in, and it worked no problem.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th August 2004, 03:11 AM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 45
Posts: 8,256
i have try to make a connection with the Linksys NIC? before you spend extra money...
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th August 2004, 10:11 PM
triplehead Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 187
on my shuttle SN85G4 and nforce3 integrated networkcard works just fine or is this just because i have older nforce3 (version 150 vs. 250)

edit: my lspci listing.

00:00.0 Host bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 Host Bridge (rev a4)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 LPC Bridge (rev a6)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation nForce3 SMBus (rev a4)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 USB 1.1 (rev a5)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 USB 1.1 (rev a5)
00:02.2 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 USB 2.0 (rev a2)
00:05.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 Ethernet (rev a5)
00:08.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation nForce3 IDE (rev a5)
00:0a.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 PCI Bridge (rev a2)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 AGP Bridge (rev a4)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 NorthBridge
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 NorthBridge
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 NorthBridge
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 NorthBridge
01:05.0 Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs SB Live! EMU10k1 (rev 08)
01:05.1 Input device controller: Creative Labs SB Live! MIDI/Game Port (rev 08)
01:06.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): VIA Technologies, Inc. IEEE 1394 Host Controller ( rev 80)
01:07.0 RAID bus controller: Silicon Image, Inc. (formerly CMD Technology Inc) S ilicon Image Serial ATARaid Controller [ CMD/Sil 3512 ] (rev 01)
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Matrox Graphics, Inc. MGA G400 AGP (rev 04)
__________________
Desktop1: Shuttle SN85G4, AMD64 3200+, 1GB 400MHz, EIZO 778, Asus N6600GT
Desktop2: Shuttle SN20G5, AMD64 X2 4200+, 1GB 400MHz, EIZO 778, ATI Radeon Express 200
Server:AMD64 3200+, 1GB 400MHz, matrox g400
network: G.SHDSL 2.3/2.3 Mbit/s

Last edited by triplehead; 13th August 2004 at 10:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th August 2004, 06:43 PM
StefSybo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Neer, the Netherlands
Age: 25
Posts: 1
Nvidia has just released new nForce drivers for Linux (x86 and AMD64) and they should work with kernel 2.6, I think you should install those.
Kernel 2.6.8 also supports onchip ethernet for the nForce3 250 Gb chipset through the Forcedeth driver, so you can also install this kernel.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23rd August 2004, 04:23 PM
partthesea Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
I had the same problem

I ran into this problem this weekend. I installed the latest drivers from nvidia for the nforce3 at http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux_n..._1.0-0283.html. It works now. I hope this helps. I have a MSI K8N NEO Platinum.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2nd September 2004, 07:03 AM
parez81 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1
via rhine 2 not working

hi!
i have emachines m6810 and 64 bit fedora.not being able tgo get my ethernet card running.it is not gettin any offers from dhcp server. works in windows.

parez
Quote:
Originally Posted by imdeemvp
i have a linksys on another pc and it is working find under mdk and fc2 if the one you have is integrated in the mobo go ahead and disable it

then insert the linksys pci one and power on you pc most likely it will be detected by kudzu and if it doesnt just continue and login and open terminal and issue this command: /sbin/lspci

you should see something like this:
imdeemvp@localhost imdeemvp]$ /sbin/lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8377 [KT400/KT600 AGP] Host Bridge (rev 80)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237 PCI Bridge
00:0b.0 Multimedia audio controller: Ensoniq 5880 AudioPCI (rev 02)
00:0f.0 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT823x/A/C PIPC Bus Master IDE (rev 06)
00:10.0 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.1 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.3 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.4 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB 2.0 (rev 86)
00:11.0 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237 ISA bridge [K8T800 South]
00:12.0 Ethernet controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6102 [Rhine-II] (rev 78)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon R200 QL [Radeon 8500 LE]
[imdeemvp@localhost imdeemvp]$

hope this helps
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13th September 2004, 07:07 AM
HJHiaatje Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 37
Posts: 5
I also have the MSI K8N Neo motherboard.
The new driver of Nvidia works fine in Kernel 2.6.5. As long as you install the kernel source files too.
How ever i do not get the driver to work in kernel 2.6.8.

The sound driver however does not install correct in both kernels
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16th September 2004, 09:08 PM
fljmayer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6
I have the same problem with an ASUS K8N-E Deluxe, nForce3 250 mainboard:
No sound or ethernet with FC2, even if I intstall the latest kernel 2.6.8 or the nVidia drivers.
I alred opened another thread for that.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 21st September 2004, 01:33 AM
Dog-One Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NORTHCOM
Posts: 813
I have a MSI K8N Neo-FSR (nForce3 250 GB). Sound, network and SATA all work with kernel 2.6.8-1.521 x86_64. Modprobe.conf:

alias eth0 forcedeth
alias snd-card-0 snd-intel8x0
install snd-intel8x0 /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-intel8x0 && /usr/sbin/alsactl restore >/dev/null 2>&1 || :
remove snd-intel8x0 { /usr/sbin/alsactl store >/dev/null 2>&1 || : ; }; /sbin/modprobe -r --ignore-remove snd-intel8x0
alias usb-controller ehci-hcd
alias usb-controller1 ohci-hcd
alias scsi_hostadapter sata_nv

HTH
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 21st September 2004, 03:19 AM
vic78000 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 32
Help on same mobo please

I have the same motherboard. I can't get it to see my mouse (any), a usb keyboard or the ethernet.

HELP PLEASE PLEASE.

I messed arround a bit, but no progress.
But I do feel great that others have it working!!!!!!!


.V
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 25th September 2004, 12:54 PM
Linuxer12345 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 14
Try the 32 bit Fedora Core2. Ethernet does not work on my computer either if I use the 64 bit version.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 25th September 2004, 06:41 PM
triplehead Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Linuxer12345
Try the 32 bit Fedora Core2. Ethernet does not work on my computer either if I use the 64 bit version.
works fine with my shuttle and amd x86_64 and nvidia 3 mobo.
__________________
Desktop1: Shuttle SN85G4, AMD64 3200+, 1GB 400MHz, EIZO 778, Asus N6600GT
Desktop2: Shuttle SN20G5, AMD64 X2 4200+, 1GB 400MHz, EIZO 778, ATI Radeon Express 200
Server:AMD64 3200+, 1GB 400MHz, matrox g400
network: G.SHDSL 2.3/2.3 Mbit/s
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 26th September 2004, 03:09 PM
HJHiaatje Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 37
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dog-One
I have a MSI K8N Neo-FSR (nForce3 250 GB). Sound, network and SATA all work with kernel 2.6.8-1.521 x86_64. Modprobe.conf:

alias eth0 forcedeth
alias snd-card-0 snd-intel8x0
install snd-intel8x0 /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-intel8x0 && /usr/sbin/alsactl restore >/dev/null 2>&1 || :
remove snd-intel8x0 { /usr/sbin/alsactl store >/dev/null 2>&1 || : ; }; /sbin/modprobe -r --ignore-remove snd-intel8x0
alias usb-controller ehci-hcd
alias usb-controller1 ohci-hcd
alias scsi_hostadapter sata_nv

HTH
Thank you, I see you use the forcedeth drivers and not nVidia's own drivers.

Definitly gonna try this when i get my computer back.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amd64, ethernet, fc2, k8n, msi, neo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XGL on ATI/AMD64 tns Hardware & Laptops 2 26th March 2007 11:40 AM
About AMD64 KCorax Fedora Core 4 Test 0 11th June 2005 10:37 AM


Current GMT-time: 15:47 (Wednesday, 23-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat