Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 10th August 2004, 09:15 AM
bamboo_spider Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 138
Multiple Linux OS on one machine

Hi

I currently use FC 1 and will soon upgrade to FC 2

However there are many Linux distros out here (there) while I will be sticking to FC. But I wanted to learn about and experiment with other distros and also allow other users to see the variety and choose for themselves.

SO the questions is on a single machine how many different Linux distro's can be run at a time (multiple boot ups) and how does one make that happen.

What are the problems

Live distros are good as a apertif but it surely needs a full instal to understand the workings and to get used to it + Live distros are slow as well.

Thanks
__________________
Bamboo
***************
PIII Laptop
386 mb Ram
20 GB HDD -IBM-DJSA-220
FC2 - no dual boot
FC & Linux since June2004
Uttaranchal India
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th August 2004, 09:19 AM
ilja Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Euregio
Posts: 3,613
the number of linuxes on a computer is limited only by the space amount, that you have. You have just to watch out, that no installation automatically deletes your current partitions with other Linuxes. And also I would advice to read the grub manual.
__________________
--
http://twitter.com/ik12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th August 2004, 09:26 AM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 45
Posts: 8,256
it is possible but with some headaches this is what i used when i installed mdk for fun: http://mandrakeusers.org/index.php?showtopic=5082
http://mandrakeusers.org/index.php?showtopic=10616
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th August 2004, 06:00 PM
sailor Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Antonio, Texas - Home of the Alamo, the "Cradle of Texas Liberty"
Age: 56
Posts: 4,111
I am using WinXP, FC2 and Xandos ..I installled in same order...I when I installed Xandors ( the last OS installed) I let it install LILO and it picked up all the other installations...of course I lost the GRUB that FC2 installed...I guess I could go back install GRUB again if I wanted...but all is working great now....
FC2 and Xandros share the same swap partition...
__________________
**********************************************
sailor
San Antonio, Texas

Fedora 20 - Lenovo IdeaPad V570
**********************************************
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple NICS in 1 machine kevinscof Servers & Networking 0 10th May 2006 03:51 PM
Multiple "servers" -- one machine (FC3) ? dmcantrell Servers & Networking 2 8th July 2005 06:19 PM


Current GMT-time: 01:58 (Friday, 22-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat