Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > The Dungeon > Archived (Click Header To See Sub-Forums) > Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 10 Only)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 10 Only) Post Development Version comments and questions that don't belong in Bugzilla here. These posts will be moved or deleted once the Final version is released

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th November 2008, 11:06 AM
musinsky Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
F10 sound problem with ALC1200

I have the same problem as http://fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=201553
(ASUS P5Q-EM with ALC1200)

I tried on F10 (preview) kernel-2.6.27.4-68 with alsa-*-1.0.18-6.rc3 (default in distribution) and with alsa-*-1.0.18 (from alsa project web site), without any effect ...

Please help with ALC1200 on F10 or F9.

Thanks and sorry to my poor English
  #2  
Old 6th November 2008, 01:12 PM
lovenemesis Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 305
Did you upgrade the system ? Make sure you installed alsa 1.0.18 through the package system.

Then check your kernel documents and find the ALSA configuration guide. It should be somewhere like the below:
/usr/share/doc/kernel-doc-2.6.27/Documentation/sound/alsa/ALSA-Configuration.txt

Try to search ALC1200 in that documents. If there is some model available, modify your /etc/modprobe.conf and add a line like this:
Quote:
options snd-hda-intel model=#####
Replace ##### with the model you found. If one does not work, try another till the end.

Good luck~
__________________
Fedora Ambassador & Translator
Editor of LinuxTOY
Smolts Profile


Take a Deep Breath out of Windows
  #3  
Old 6th November 2008, 02:05 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Moved to Alpha, Beta & Snapshots
  #4  
Old 6th November 2008, 10:04 PM
musinsky Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Finally !!! on my PC: ASUS P5Q-EM Realtek ALC1200, F10 Preview (9.93 Rawhide), alsa-1.0.18-6.rc3 (default in Fedora distribution)
solution is very simple(after two day experimentation), add this line to /etc/modprobe.conf
Code:
options snd-hda-intel probe_mask=1
probe_mask=1 is important, default probe_mask=-1 (minus 1)
work too with model=auto (default) or model=6stack-dig or additional models
Code:
options snd-hda-intel model=auto probe_mask=1
without probe_mask=1 always to same error (/var/log/messages):
ALSA sound/pci/hda/hda_intel.c:605: hda_intel: azx_get_response timeout, switching to polling mode: last cmd=0x100f0000
ALSA sound/pci/hda/hda_intel.c:612: hda_intel: azx_get_response timeout, switching to single_cmd mode: last cmd=0x100f0000

for similar/more info see:
http://www.mjmwired.net/kernel/Docum...figuration.txt
http://www.alsa-project.org/main/ind...dule-hda-intel
http://forums.opensuse.org/hardware/...ek-alc888.html
http://forums.opensuse.org/hardware/...d-drivers.html
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=314383

Last edited by musinsky; 6th November 2008 at 10:12 PM.
  #5  
Old 7th November 2008, 02:41 AM
lovenemesis Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 305
Good to hear that, man
__________________
Fedora Ambassador & Translator
Editor of LinuxTOY
Smolts Profile


Take a Deep Breath out of Windows
 

Tags
alc1200, soundcard

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pulseaudio or alsa problem. Sound works but no sound output spacie Hardware & Laptops 14 27th June 2009 04:08 PM
P5Q-EM / Fedora 9 / ALC1200 - Sound card not working. Harlz Hardware & Laptops 1 13th October 2008 08:47 AM
ALC1200, spdif output problem chrz Hardware & Laptops 0 3rd October 2008 06:41 PM
Another FC4 Sound Problem Fix: No alsa sound as root JayTee Hardware & Laptops 6 29th August 2005 06:32 PM
Sound problem with VIA onboard sound in FC3 davidswe Hardware & Laptops 0 18th February 2005 08:08 PM


Current GMT-time: 07:02 (Saturday, 25-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Indian Trail - Frome Instagram Photos - Schweizer-Reneke Photos