Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 5th November 2008, 10:31 AM
Ombladon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Arad, Romania
Age: 23
Posts: 15
[help] - cannot mount/see NTFS drives

well i managed to install fedora 9 but i cant see any of my NTFS drives...

here is my fstab:
================================================== ================
UUID=a9042b80-a282-4614-be5a-30e5402b28fa / ext3 defaults 1 1
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
UUID=cb6ee3cb-0ff5-4d15-beb3-79144778f65c swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/sda2 /mnt/Ombladon's files auto defaults 0 0
/dev/sda5 /mnt/WWW auto defaults 0 0
================================================== ================
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 5th November 2008, 10:41 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,768
Show the output of the commands /sbin/fdisk -l and mount please.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th November 2008, 10:54 AM
Ombladon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Arad, Romania
Age: 23
Posts: 15
/sbin/fdisk - l :
================================================== =====
Disk /dev/sda: 250.0 GB, 250058268160 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x0f470f46

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 1 3824 30716248+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 * 5100 30112 200913615 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda3 30113 30401 2321392+ f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/sda4 3825 5099 10241437+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda5 30113 30401 2321361 7 HPFS/NTFS

Partition table entries are not in disk order
================================================== =====

mount:
================================================== =====
/dev/sda1 on / type ext3 (rw)
proc on /proc type proc (rw)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
/dev/sda5 on /mnt/WWW type fuseblk (rw,allow_other,blksize=512)
none on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw)
sunrpc on /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs type rpc_pipefs (rw)
fusectl on /sys/fs/fuse/connections type fusectl (rw)
gvfs-fuse-daemon on /home/Ombladon/.gvfs type fuse.gvfs-fuse-daemon (rw,nosuid,nodev,user=Ombladon)
================================================== =====
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th November 2008, 11:10 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,768
Thanks. Looks like they are both mounted and should be available. Nothing under /mnt/WWW or mnt/Ombladon's files, huh? Maybe a change to the fstab file, like this:
Code:
/dev/sda2 /mnt/Ombladon's files ntfs-3g defaults 0 0
/dev/sda5 /mnt/WWW ntfs-3g defaults 0 0
Also, I wonder if Ombladon's files will fly as a folder name. Maybe something a bit simpler, like Ombladon
Code:
/dev/sda2 /mnt/Ombladon ntfs-3g defaults 0 0
/dev/sda5 /mnt/WWW ntfs-3g defaults 0 0
I'd probably umount the folders first. umount /mnt/Ombladon's files and umount /mnt/WWW, make the changes to fstab and then type mount -a. See if you can access your files now.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th November 2008, 11:13 AM
markkuk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,075
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ombladon View Post
/dev/sda2 /mnt/Ombladon's files auto defaults 0 0
Your mountpoint name won't work. Remove the space and quote characters, use only letters, numbers and the underscore character. Have you installed the ntfs-3g package? Use ntfs-3g as the filesystem type instead of "auto".
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th November 2008, 12:20 PM
Ombladon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Arad, Romania
Age: 23
Posts: 15
i dont think i installed ntfs-3g .. im really newbie at linux... i installed it today xD

can u plz give me the command

EDIT also in KDE im able to access www but ombladon's files not, i will modify its name and see ^^
EDIT2: FIXED!! works perfect, thanx ^^

Last edited by Ombladon; 5th November 2008 at 02:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
drives, mount or see, ntfs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto Mount NTFS Drives ptroyal Using Fedora 2 8th November 2007 07:23 PM
$MFT problem: trying to mount ntfs drives Jim Rockford Using Fedora 3 13th July 2007 09:00 AM
Cant Mount NTFS Drives! NTFS driver not working? borbs Hardware & Laptops 6 29th November 2006 09:36 PM
How do you mount NTFS drives? electroconvulsi Using Fedora 9 16th June 2006 07:46 AM
NTFS hard drives won't mount. ledbythereaper Hardware & Laptops 4 20th May 2006 09:51 PM


Current GMT-time: 18:15 (Saturday, 25-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Gaspar - Drimmelen Photos on Instagram - Bisceglie Travel Photos on Instagram