Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 29th October 2008, 12:27 AM
kwl33181 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: AZ, USA
Posts: 1
Fedora 9 Audio Problems with Intel HDA

I have gone through numerous posting for various sound cards and no matter what I try I can not manage to get my sound working. All mixer volumes are maxed and unmuted. I can not seem to find anybody listing any specific thoughts on the card I have.

# lspci | grep Audio
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 631xESB/632xESB High Definition Audio Controller (rev 09)


# lspci -s 00:1b.0 -vn
00:1b.0 0403: 8086:269a (rev 09)
Subsystem: 1028:01c1
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 16
Memory at dfffc000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
Capabilities: [60] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit+ Queue=0/0 Enable-
Capabilities: [70] Express Root Complex Integrated Endpoint, MSI 00
Capabilities: [100] Virtual Channel <?>
Capabilities: [130] Root Complex Link <?>
Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel
Kernel modules: snd-hda-intel

uname -a
XXXXX 2.6.26.6-79.fc9.x86_64 #1 SMP Fri Oct 17 14:20:33 EDT 2008 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Any suggestions would be GREATLY Apreciated
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 4th February 2009, 12:33 AM
Lukast Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Slovak Republic
Posts: 100
I read many threads here too...Without proper solution.
Is this kernel bug, alsa bug or pulseaudio bug?

lspci | grep -i audio
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)

lspci -s 00:1b.0 -vn
00:1b.0 0403: 8086:293e (rev 03)
Subsystem: 103c:3603
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 22
Memory at 9f300000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
Capabilities: [60] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit+ Count=1/1 Enable-
Capabilities: [70] Express Root Complex Integrated Endpoint, MSI 00
Capabilities: [100] Virtual Channel <?>
Capabilities: [130] Root Complex Link <?>
Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel
Kernel modules: snd-hda-intel

uname -a
Linux pavilon.localdomain 2.6.27.12-170.2.5.fc10.i686 #1 SMP Wed Jan 21 02:09:37 EST 2009 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

I got sound for some time, my bug report:
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=483559

Related bug reports:
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=471941
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=471781
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=446689
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=474477
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=479251
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=478671
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=478647
...
I'm using Fedora 10. Let's just wait.
__________________
Krita developer
http://www.krita.org | http://lukast.mediablog.sk/log
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th February 2009, 05:21 AM
Logik Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
Lukast... We have a similar setup...

[logik@nv] [~]> lspci | grep Audio
7:00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller

[logik@nv] [~]> uname -a
Linux nv.localdomain 2.6.27.12-170.2.5.fc10.x86_64 #1 SMP Wed Jan 21 01:33:24 EST 2009 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

I had sound until my last kernel update. Now I have no sound. I've tried removing PulseAudio completely and use just ALSA with no results.
__________________
Registered Linux User #188638
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th February 2009, 10:03 PM
Lukast Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Slovak Republic
Posts: 100
I resolved it:

Code:
su -
yum remove pulseaudio
type y to remove it with some depenedencies...

Skype works, amarok works longer than 2 songs (maybe album or so I just need to restart it [plan to report bug in kde], you tube works, mplayer works...

I'm resolving VLC, as it seg faults. I needed to tweak apps to use alsa, but usually there is no problem with it.

I can live without pulseaudio and I will give it a try maybe sooner or later -- because it seems like future for us
__________________
Krita developer
http://www.krita.org | http://lukast.mediablog.sk/log
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th February 2009, 03:20 PM
calibrettokid Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 20
I've tried the above (remove pulseaudio) no luck. I've also tried the how-to guide on setting up pulseaudio with no luck. I've also tried installing the i386 (no luck).

I did read here about a kernel roll-back that might solve the problem. I'm on: 2.6.27.12-170.2.5.fc10.x86_64 #1 SMP Wed Jan 21 01:33:24 EST 2009 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux. Though I don't know how to actually remove the new kernel once the old one is downloaded.

So any help would be appreciated. I've got new Bose speakers I'd like to use!

Also meant to add that I'm running F10 and lspci | grep audio
Code:
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller
01:00.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc RV620 Audio device [Radeon HD 34xx Series]
Thanks,
__________________
I know, let's call them tasticles - Fry

Last edited by calibrettokid; 7th February 2009 at 09:07 PM. Reason: update
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th February 2009, 07:08 AM
steelaworkn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest
Age: 48
Posts: 1,140
I have an intel board. When I went to look for the audio driver for my system I ended up at the alsa web site. So, my search was in vain cause Fedora 10 has all that stuff. Try something like yum list **alsa** and see what you get. You may find alsa is not installed totally. Make sure these basic things are installed:

alsa-lib.i386 1.0.19-2.fc10 ;
alsa-plugins-pulseaudio.i386 1.0.18-2.fc10 ;
alsa-tools.i386 1.0.17-1.fc10
alsa-utils.i386
__________________
My setup:

Intel DP35DP MB; Nvidia 440 2 gig Video Card; 8 gigs of ram; Intel Core Duo 2.20 gig; Hp Officejet Pro L7580; LVM F20 64bit using 3 320g HDs and dual monitors.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 8th February 2009, 02:39 PM
calibrettokid Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 20
Hm, I have alsa-lib & alsa-plugins (both i386 and x86_64) installed. But for alsa-tools & alsa-utils I only have the x86_64 installed. It also seems yum doesn't show me the i386 packages when I search for tools and utils.

Obviously I'm on F10 64.
__________________
I know, let's call them tasticles - Fry
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 8th February 2009, 05:07 PM
calibrettokid Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 20
Maybe we should consolidate all these f9/f10 no sound - intel hda / realtek alc888 posts into one area. It seems like there is a problem with this setup.

Just my $0.02

If any one needs it: my alsa-info.sh information is here: http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=19...800ee42168be51
__________________
I know, let's call them tasticles - Fry
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 8th February 2009, 08:49 PM
steelaworkn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest
Age: 48
Posts: 1,140
I'm running the 32 bit version of F10. I did go to the Realtek site to add their driver. It just goes to the alsa web site. The same exact files RT has to download is what comes with the Fedora package, and then some. Some of the alsa plugins might be needed, but I'm not sure. The big key for me is that Fedora Recognizes the hardware. I think alsa and Pulse audio run side by side. I have great sound playback in everthing from Amarok to Video Playback to Flash on the internet.

It could be a 64 bit bug. That seems to be a trend any ways.

If you go into system settings, sound, check to see which audio device is listed as primary. Mine has the HDA stack analogue listed as primary and then the Pulse audio as secondary.

If someone can tell me how to list my set up on the forum, I publish it if that will help.
__________________
My setup:

Intel DP35DP MB; Nvidia 440 2 gig Video Card; 8 gigs of ram; Intel Core Duo 2.20 gig; Hp Officejet Pro L7580; LVM F20 64bit using 3 320g HDs and dual monitors.

Last edited by steelaworkn; 8th February 2009 at 08:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 9th February 2009, 03:33 PM
calibrettokid Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 20
I was able to find some drivers off of the Realtek website that can be compiled and installed. I'm not terrible experienced in doing that but at this point I don't have a whole lot to lose. I believe it's a pulseaudio bug. I was using Ubuntu 8.10 64bit with just Alsa - no problems (provided I unmuted it). It may be a Pulseaudio 64 bit bug - which seems likely.

I'm also not sure how to really tell if Fedora is recognizing it or not. I do show Realtek alc888 (as well as Intel HDA Alsa -- though that gives me an error when I try to use it) in the System > Preferences > Hardware > Sound (I'm on Gnome).
__________________
I know, let's call them tasticles - Fry
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 9th February 2009, 08:29 PM
Lukast Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Slovak Republic
Posts: 100
I have got 32 bit Fedora installed on my Intel Core Duo and I encounter the bug on Intel HDA, so I don't think it is 64 bit specific.
__________________
Krita developer
http://www.krita.org | http://lukast.mediablog.sk/log
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10th February 2009, 02:43 AM
steelaworkn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest
Age: 48
Posts: 1,140
I had trouble at first, but is now resolved. I'm thinking that alsa and pulsaudio work together some how. I have both installed and my system works. What you might do, if fedora recognizes your hardware, is do yum reinstall alsa. I know very little, I just experiment. I'm kinda like the blind guy leading the blind guy. That said, my system does work with the alsa and pulse installed.
__________________
My setup:

Intel DP35DP MB; Nvidia 440 2 gig Video Card; 8 gigs of ram; Intel Core Duo 2.20 gig; Hp Officejet Pro L7580; LVM F20 64bit using 3 320g HDs and dual monitors.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10th February 2009, 06:59 PM
calibrettokid Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 20
I don't know if anyone saw this [fedorasolved.org]. Haven't had a chance to try any of it but I will hopefully have some time tonight to try a few things and determine if I can get sound. Hopefully in a reproducable manner - though I will take any sound at this point.

Though I am on the most up-to-date kernel: 2.6.27.12-170.2.5.fc10 (which this post says should have cured the problem).

@Lukast - that's what I get for making up things! I was on Ubuntu 8.10 x86_64 which I thought didn't have PulseAudio - but I'm not so sure now. I wonder what the difference between the two are if they both are running PulseAudio?
__________________
I know, let's call them tasticles - Fry
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10th February 2009, 07:22 PM
Lukast Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Slovak Republic
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by calibrettokid View Post

@Lukast - that's what I get for making up things! I was on Ubuntu 8.10 x86_64 which I thought didn't have PulseAudio - but I'm not so sure now. I wonder what the difference between the two are if they both are running PulseAudio?
I don't know. I visited alsa on irc.freenode.net, and guy there told me that he is on debian and he has got just alsa. I don't know the answer...

Newer alsa driver in kernel may be the solution. Let's wait for newer kernels...

Alsa has also support device page and here is Intel's:
http://www.alsa-project.org/main/ind...x:Vendor-Intel

My soundcard is newer family:
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)

And that resolved page looks nice, but the newest kernel does not solve the issue here..
__________________
Krita developer
http://www.krita.org | http://lukast.mediablog.sk/log
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10th February 2009, 11:24 PM
calibrettokid Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 20
I've done it! I have sound. I upgraded to the latest drivers

Options A
Code:
!!ALSA Version
!!------------

Driver version:     1.0.19
Library version:    
Utilities version:  1.0.19
You can check my previous alsa-info.sh which showed Driver version: 1.0.17. I figure when the next kernel update comes along it will have these drivers in them anyway.


Options B
And added myself via System > Preferences > Users and Groups -- then click on the user and go to Groups and add yourself to pulse, pulse-rt, pulse-access, jackuser

Code:
[mcochran@studio ~]$ id mcochran
uid=500(mcochran) gid=500(mcochran) groups=500(mcochran),498(pulse),497(pulse-rt),496(pulse-access),490(jackuser)
Lastly, I had really low volume when I came back in after a restart. I found under System > Preferences > Hardware that Device: HDA Intel (Alsa mixer) had "Front" set really low. Be careful when you raise it though it can get pretty loud.

So that's it. I'd recommend adding yourself to the groups and seeing if that works first obviously. If not, you can go and download the latest alsa-drivers from here [alsa-project.org] and following the direction in the INSTALL file.

So, thanks for all who helped. Again, I'm on F10 - 64bit but hopefully this should work for 32bit and maybe F9 (maybe).
__________________
I know, let's call them tasticles - Fry

Last edited by calibrettokid; 10th February 2009 at 11:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pulseaudio, sound

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio Problems Intel X58 Mobo, Multiple Sound Cards harveygfl Hardware & Laptops 0 19th June 2009 05:15 PM
Intel High Definition Audio (Intel D945GNT MB) no audio in FC4 Jeffwsi Hardware & Laptops 18 17th July 2007 05:13 AM
i810 Audio AC97 / AC'97 Audio Controller Fedora Intel Howto jamakine Hardware & Laptops 6 9th December 2004 10:30 PM
rc2 video audio firewire 1394 problems intel 915g asus motherboard external drive flehsea Hardware & Laptops 0 17th October 2004 05:20 AM
Flash Audio Problems on FC2 w/ Intel AC97 obijuan Using Fedora 6 5th June 2004 03:45 AM


Current GMT-time: 14:38 (Friday, 24-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Bukoba Photos - Kot Radha Kishan Travel Photos on Instagram - Istgah-e Rah Ahan-e Garmsar Instagram Photos