Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 27th October 2008, 12:22 AM
kevaljd Offline

Thumbs up F10 Cambridge

Hello Fedora-users.

I have been using Fedora as my first linux distro after deciding to switch over from the M products and I was fed up with the W and wanted to rename the version as Astala Vista! ;-)
I kept on changing from one distro to another after using F9 Sulphur. But, F9 acted like a true love and I kept on falling back on F9 though I did not like its quiet graphics... It lacks tht YELL and YO!
I am using Acer Aspire 5310 with Fedora. 80 GB hdd, 512 DDR2, Intel chips and atheros wifi..
Initially I had issues with F9 for my dearest wireless and it felt like a cage to be connected through eth0.. However, thanks to madwifi supertechs. I got my wireless working. What was missing? I am a developer and I seek only 3 things.
1. LAMP
2. NetBeans
3. Youtube quickplay music :P

I wanted to stick back to Fedora but fedora 9 was boring me now... I awaited something better and here it comes, my homepage showed Fedora 10 Beta now available.. Quickly, without thinking a word, I clicked on did someone say beta? and then selected my nearest country but here I was confused KDE or GNOME (not again!!!)
I tried KDE initially... Since it is Rawhide, you can never estimate the size of the updated iso. So if people are trying to install on test bases I recommend to use USB flash drive with min 1Gig space, I got 2 Gigs one..
I installed KDE edition... Live was absolutely smooth and to my shock.. EVERY component of my laptop smiled and hugged fedora 10.. I installed it.
I wanted a ZING.. so I installed other distro that claimed to work with everything but mint wasn't my choice after installing.