Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > The Dungeon > Archived (Click Header To See Sub-Forums) > Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 10 Only)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 10 Only) Post Development Version comments and questions that don't belong in Bugzilla here. These posts will be moved or deleted once the Final version is released

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th October 2008, 08:50 AM
kost-bebix Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
Age: 25
Posts: 22
f10 beta not recognising Resolution

Hi! So I am trying to install f10beta on my x86 pc.

I boot from disk. choose "Install or upgrade an existing system" menu. It is loading vmlinuz, initrd.img blablabla.

"Waiting for hardware to initialize..." is the last thing I see (in text mode). After that my display says "Out of range:
horizontal rate: 81.5 KHz
vertical rate: 76.5 Hz".

Please help.

p.s.: oh, I forgot to give this topic full name, but it is not editable. Sorry)

Last edited by kost-bebix; 8th October 2008 at 08:52 AM.
  #2  
Old 8th October 2008, 08:56 AM
kost-bebix Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
Age: 25
Posts: 22
Oh. I thnk I've just blindly pressed down key, then hit enter and installation continued (it shows me installation window now :-). Interesting)))
  #3  
Old 8th October 2008, 09:00 AM
Demz
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
i gave your thread a proper title..let us know how it goes
  #4  
Old 8th October 2008, 10:39 AM
kost-bebix Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
Age: 25
Posts: 22
Well, it was fine. Installation continued. Installation complete.

But there are serious things going on.
1. Where is my grub? (anaconda didn't ask me about grub, but that's not the main thing)
2. When I boot some part of boot is with the lag of resolution again (I can't see that graphical loading again) ((that's not the main thing too))
3. I've installed kde-only (not gnome). When I log in it load kde (everything is fine), then it loads two copies of SCIM to tray (one in russian and second in english) and kde breaks after that scim loads. Only one thing that works is SCIM and it's menus. I want to boot to console to remove that SCIM, but I don't know how (my loading process is blind :-)

h.e.l.p.
  #5  
Old 8th October 2008, 10:44 AM
kost-bebix Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
Age: 25
Posts: 22
Oh, sorry, grub is there. He's just too fast (another thing you should blind is pressing "down". Is new fedora for blind? :-)
  #6  
Old 8th October 2008, 10:46 AM
Demz
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
what i'd do is boot to init 3 http://www.yolinux.com/TUTORIALS/Lin...itProcess.html this mioght help
  #7  
Old 8th October 2008, 10:51 AM
kost-bebix Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
Age: 25
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Demz View Post
what i'd do is boot to init 3 http://www.yolinux.com/TUTORIALS/Lin...itProcess.html this mioght help
Thanks for the tip. I was just about to do that, but fortunely when in kdm I pressed "Console login", then (happens thing with resolution again) blinedly :-) pressed these keys:

[my login]
[my pwd]
su -
[root's pwd]
yum -y remove scim*

Wait some time and reboot. That helps.
 

Tags
beta, f10, recognising, resolution

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 8 not recognising HDD jiffy176 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 12th March 2008 10:47 AM
problem recognising modem dirramu Using Fedora 2 29th April 2005 07:36 AM


Current GMT-time: 20:54 (Tuesday, 29-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat