Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 9th August 2008, 10:20 AM
GreyCat Offline

Lost and Found...

Hi

I started back in the days when DOS was the only way to communicate with my new "best friend", the PC. Way before the first "Windows" appeared on the scene. Even before the humble mouse was introduced to the list of "must-have's". Days and nights were spend learning this Disk Operating System and acquiring the knowledge that enabled me to actually "do" something with my PC.

Then Windows started to take over and all of a sudden this knowledge was no longer needed. or to a lesser degree. Nowadays very few newbies even know what DOS stood for. Windows came... And I LOST DOS.

This is now many, many years later and, working as a Graphic Designer, I've endured with Windows. Although still longing from time to time for those "Golden Days". Due to my work and certain restraints, I'll be stuck with Windows for a while longer.

And then I FOUND Linux, in the form of Fedora 8!

I'm babbling on and on here, and if I don't stop myself I will never get to the point.

I want to learn Linux. I've set up a separate PC (Celeron 2.6, 512 RAM, ATI 9200 GPU, etc.) and installed Fedora 8. At the moment I have a fairly stable system running, although I long to learn whatever I can. Or rather; as much as I can.

"Terminal" affords me the opportunity to take a nostalgic trip back to the days where I was actually able to tell my PC what to do, and this is a chance that I want to grab. (And somehow I'm actually looking forward to those long nights of learning, fighting and embracing the finer nuances of this newfound acquaintance...)

Please... Is there anybody that can send me in the proper direction?
Old 9th August 2008, 10:35 AM
oneofmany Offline

asking someone to send you in the proper direction is like asking how big air is. its kinda meaningless unless we have a context.

tell us what you're hoping to achieve and we can point you in the right direction.