Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #16  
Old 11th August 2008, 02:13 AM
Pinn2 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Kent
Posts: 49
AD

This might seem like a couple of stupid questions....

1. Do you have autofs installed?

2. Did you happen to have a blank CD installed when you got the error?

3. Do you have any 'strange' drive mappings that aren't connected when you get the error?

TIA
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11th August 2008, 11:00 AM
AutoStatic Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NL
Posts: 43
Works fine here. F9. Fully updated.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11th August 2008, 11:13 AM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 69
Posts: 22,137
Since those reporting seem to be doing fine, I've merged the two threads to keep the problems/solutions centralized.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11th August 2008, 06:22 PM
Pinn2 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Kent
Posts: 49
Thanks Bob
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11th August 2008, 08:39 PM
ArthurDent123 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinn2
AD

This might seem like a couple of stupid questions....

1. Do you have autofs installed?

2. Did you happen to have a blank CD installed when you got the error?

3. Do you have any 'strange' drive mappings that aren't connected when you get the error?

TIA
1. Erm.. Not that I know of. rpm -qa | grep -i autofs returns nothing so unless it's installed some other way, no.

2. Yes! .... Well not blank, but a RW DVD. I do a weekly backup, run from a cron script that erases the existing contents of the DVD then writes the backup data. I just leave it in the slot...

3. I don't understand the question. What exactly should I be looking for?


My system is back to segfaulting, but with the DVD out of the drive it does work! So I really think that the blank disc thing is part of the answer.

AD

p.s.

I just put the same disc back in and it still works... Ho hum...
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 11th August 2008, 10:14 PM
bbfuller Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 4,361
Hello ArthurDent123

On another thread where there were problems with segmentation faults it appears to have been something to do with the update process itself.

I can't suggest it will work, but what sorted the problem there was to:

Code:
yum clean all
and then

Code:
yum update
and then reboot.

It certainly cured the problem even though "yum update" reported "no new updates".

It certainly wouldn't cost anything to try.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12th August 2008, 09:23 AM
ArthurDent123 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 34
Hi bbfuller - yes, that was me. I think this thread has been merged with the one that Pinn2 started.

However:
======

I really think the blank (or R/W) DVD thing is a clue here. Earlier in this thread I mentioned that I have 2 F9 systems and one seems OK but my "server" fails. Well I tried putting the R/W DVD into the "good" machine and.... SEGFAULT!

Can anyone reading this thread who previously said that they were running an up-to-date F9 install please try popping a blank DVD into the toaster and trying again please?

Thanks

AD
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 22nd August 2008, 03:55 PM
larsgberggren Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Hi!
I can verify the solution. I'm running an up-to-date F9 and had problems with gdmconfig as well as firewall setup (when the blank CD was inserted). When removed, the apps are working without problem.

LG
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 15th November 2008, 08:27 AM
ArthurDent123 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 34
Yes this does indeed appear to be the problem. In fact there is a bug open on this as a result of this thread.

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=458586

Please read / contribute to that bug if you can offer any suggestions...

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
segfaults, systemconfigfirewall

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
system-config-firewall hangs davidgf Using Fedora 4 31st May 2009 07:33 PM
system-config-firewall freeze SoulRebel Using Fedora 0 13th February 2009 06:47 PM
system-config-firewall is down ?? demuytree Using Fedora 5 2nd November 2008 08:21 AM
system-config-firewall problems Ashok Harnal Security and Privacy 2 23rd May 2008 09:42 AM
system-config-firewall died for no reason nightmarcus Using Fedora 16 22nd December 2007 12:23 AM


Current GMT-time: 02:57 (Tuesday, 16-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat