Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 15th May 2004, 02:03 PM
Pokemonster Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2
Fedora Core1 lockup on install problem

When trying to install Fedora Core 1 on my desktop pc, the installer stops after starting the X part of the installation process.
As soon as it starts, there is a white background and my mouse cursor, which I can move for like 3 seconds and that's it.
I tried booting with "nofb" and "ide=nodma" options, but none of them worked. The installation disks are fine, cause they worked on my laptop...
Fedora Core 2t3 works on my desktop, but that's not an option, because I need Hardware support for my graphics card an I couldn't get it to work under xorg...

My specs:

AMD AthlonXP 1600+
512MB Ram
ATI Radeon 9800Pro
CRT/LCD Monitor (tried both)

Any clues ?
help greatly appreciated :-)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15th May 2004, 04:25 PM
fjleal Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portugal, Europe
Age: 44
Posts: 519
I had the same problem on an "old" PII 400 box with an ATI Mobility M6 graphics card. I had to install FC1 in text mode (you can choose it right after booting from the first installation disk, before running X). After installing in text mode, I was then able to boot to X, no problem, and the card was well recognized.
__________________
"I'd crawl over an acre of 'Visual This++' and 'Integrated Development That' to get to gcc, Emacs, and gdb. Thank you."
-- Vance Petree, Virginia Power
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th May 2004, 04:49 AM
chrishiggi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1
I have recieved the same problem as well when performing an installation of Fedora. I was able to get farther along in the installation running in text mode but when Fedora tried to boot for the first time it freezes right after it [OK]'s on the enabling of the swap space. I believe this is when it tries to run INIT scripts. Any help or suggestions on how to get my installation to complete would be great.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
core1, fedora, install, lockup, problem

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot Fresh Install Fedora 8 using RAID5 on IDE drives, hard lockup and fails skoona Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 7th December 2007 04:26 PM
Fedora core1 mouse problem akavvas Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 9 28th February 2006 03:08 PM
install firefox on fedora core1 mghiba Using Fedora 1 28th September 2005 07:51 AM
gcc weirdness on a vanilla install of fedora core1 ZekeMacNeil Using Fedora 5 15th April 2004 03:20 PM


Current GMT-time: 08:03 (Saturday, 20-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Creek Side - Stockholm-Arlanda Airport (ARN) Travel Photos on Instagram - Marina of Koper Travel Photos - Te Whiti Park Instagram Photos - Texas State Fair Photos on Instagram