Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora Resources > Guides & Solutions (No Questions)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Guides & Solutions (No Questions) Post your guides here (No links to Blogs accepted). You can also append your comments/questions to a guide, but don't start a new thread to ask a question. Use another forum for that.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 4th August 2008, 09:15 AM
marcrblevins Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 4,168
Can you focus on 192.168.123.100:3, the regular user first, get that working, then worry about root later. We usually don't login as root ideally.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 4th August 2008, 09:44 AM
Blisk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 36
here is mine, but when I use your I have the same problem.
No mather if I use 192.168.123.100:3

#!/bin/sh

# Uncomment the following two lines for normal desktop:
unset SESSION_MANAGER
exec /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc

[ -x /etc/vnc/xstartup ] && exec /etc/vnc/xstartup
[ -r $HOME/.Xresources ] && xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
xsetroot -solid grey
vncconfig -iconic &
xterm -geometry 80x24+10+10 -ls -title "$VNCDESKTOP Desktop" -e ./menu &
twm &

Last edited by Blisk; 4th August 2008 at 09:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 4th August 2008, 09:47 AM
marcrblevins Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 4,168
Did you try for :3, same glitch?
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 4th August 2008, 09:52 AM
Blisk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcrblevins
Did you try for :3, same glitch?
yes it is the same problem.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 4th August 2008, 09:52 AM
marcrblevins Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 4,168
Can you login to the console as damjan first? Don't do remote yet. Select your favorite DE, KDE or Gnome session. Log off. Go to your remote computer and give vnc a try.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 4th August 2008, 10:11 AM
Blisk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcrblevins
Can you login to the console as damjan first? Don't do remote yet. Select your favorite DE, KDE or Gnome session. Log off. Go to your remote computer and give vnc a try.
I did that with root login, and it works OK. But now I cannot test until I get home

I will
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 4th August 2008, 03:13 PM
briantan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 715
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blisk
When I log in with vnc like 192.168.123.100:1 I get only xwindows there is only terminal windows and vnc setting window. Not like when I log in on server where in gnome desktop gui.
I can not click anything because there is no menu.
As indicated in the guide, F9/VNC-server/Gnome is still problematic. Slow, sluggish, unresponsive. Wait "a lot" longer and more stuff "may" kick in, such as gnome-panel, gnome window manager.

As suggested in the guide, use KDE or XFCE for F9.

For KDE, create/edit /etc/sysconfig/desktop:
Code:
DESKTOP=KDE
Procedure for XFCE is detailed in the guide.

@marcrblevins, please note that any lines after "exec" will not have any effect in the script, as "exec" replaces the current shell. Session will end when "exec" process exit.

Code:
# Uncomment the following two lines for normal desktop:
unset SESSION_MANAGER
exec /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc

# these lines will not have any effect after an exec.
[ -x /etc/vnc/xstartup ] && exec /etc/vnc/xstartup
[ -r $HOME/.Xresources ] && xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
xsetroot -solid grey
vncconfig -iconic &
xterm -geometry 80x24+10+10 -ls -title "$VNCDESKTOP Desktop" -e ./menu &
twm &
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 4th August 2008, 03:18 PM
briantan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 715
Blisk, come to think of it, since your vino is working, use that as interim solution for gnome.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 5th August 2008, 05:00 AM
marcrblevins Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 4,168
Quote:
@marcrblevins, please note that any lines after "exec" will not have any effect in the script, as "exec" replaces the current shell. Session will end when "exec" process exit.
That is what I expected, it should stop at exec, but thinking Blisk is still running the twm & line.

Is Blisk issue solved?
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 5th August 2008, 05:22 AM
briantan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 715
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcrblevins
Is Blisk issue solved?
Mystery to me.

We can just assume it is if nothing is heard.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 5th August 2008, 07:26 AM
lovetide Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ShenZhen,China;深圳
Age: 35
Posts: 18
Is there a config file for Vino ?
__________________
linux newbie/菜鸟 :eek:
http://maclife.net
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 5th August 2008, 03:09 PM
briantan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 715
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovetide
Is there a config file for Vino ?
I'm not familiar with vino's anatomy. However
Code:
$ rpm -ql vino
reveals a vino-preferences dialog

/usr/share/applications/gnome-vino-preferences.desktop

and looking for changes after executing vino-preferences, configuration is probably stored somewhere in

~/.gconfd/saved_state
~/.gconf/desktop/gnome/remote_access/%gconf.xml
~/.gnome2/session
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 5th August 2008, 06:40 PM
lovetide Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ShenZhen,China;深圳
Age: 35
Posts: 18
Thumbs up Thank you biantan

Quote:
Originally Posted by briantan
I'm not familiar with vino's anatomy. However
Code:
$ rpm -ql vino
reveals a vino-preferences dialog

/usr/share/applications/gnome-vino-preferences.desktop

and looking for changes after executing vino-preferences, configuration is probably stored somewhere in

~/.gconfd/saved_state
~/.gconf/desktop/gnome/remote_access/%gconf.xml
~/.gnome2/session
Thank you biantan, i think it could be ~/.gconf/desktop/gnome/remote_access/%gconf.xml

Code:
[root@YH4F-PRINTER2 ~]# cat ~/.gconf/desktop/gnome/remote_access/%gconf.xml

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<gconf>
        <entry name="prompt_enabled" mtime="1215595946" type="bool" value="false">
        </entry>
        <entry name="enabled" mtime="1215595945" type="bool" value="true">
        </entry>
</gconf>
__________________
linux newbie/菜鸟 :eek:
http://maclife.net
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 16th September 2008, 08:17 PM
nkaem_ael
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
xxxxxxxxxx

Last edited by nkaem_ael; 9th February 2010 at 08:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 5th October 2008, 06:31 AM
tharizdun Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 8
Thumbs up thanks briantan - gdm/F9/vnc works great for me

Thank you for the excellent guide. I've used this with F9/gdm with no problems with or without vino.

No one else had the following problem (which is now corrected), so I'll assume that everyone else has better reading skills than me

My version of vino had this default comment:
# VNCSERVERARGS[2]="-geometry 800x600 -nolisten tcp -nohttpd -localhost"

I edited that comment rather than retyping per your notes and silly me didn't notice the "-nolisten tcp" or "-localhost" which basically prevented remote systems from binding to 5901.

I'm only posting that in case anyone made the same mistake I did.



FYI - I get this strange message when attempting to determine the version of gdm:

[root@revanent ~]# /usr/sbin/gdm --version

** (gdm-binary:5805): WARNING **: Failed to acquire org.gnome.DisplayManager

** (gdm-binary:5805): WARNING **: Could not acquire name; bailing out
[root@revanent ~]#

so I'll include this instead for anyone also trying to run gdm/vnc

[root@revanent ~]# yum list | grep gdm
gdm.i386 1:2.22.0-10.fc9 installed
gdm-user-switch-applet.i386 1:2.22.0-10.fc9 installed
bluecurve-gdm-theme.noarch 1.0.0-1.fc8 fedora
fedorabubbles-gdm-theme.noarch 1.0.0-1.fc8 fedora
fedoradna-gdm-theme.noarch 1.0.0-1.fc8 fedora
fedoraflyinghigh-gdm-theme.noarch 1.0.0-1.fc8 fedora
fedorainfinity-gdm-theme.noarch 8.0.1-1.fc8 fedora
gdmap.i386 0.7.5-6.fc6 fedora
[root@revanent ~]#
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
guide, mini, vino, vncserver

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nexus Personal mini guide nickeh Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 13 17th June 2011 01:22 AM
Wolfenstein: Enemy Territory! (mini-guide for newbies like me) rpl Gamers' Lounge 7 9th January 2008 10:21 AM
vino-server cdlaforc Using Fedora 4 19th March 2007 06:09 AM
Mini-Guide: Installing grub from Fedora Core 5 (FC5) Rescue CD Nemesis02 EOL (End Of Life) Versions 3 5th June 2006 10:35 PM
Vino-Server jolly_green_gia Using Fedora 1 28th December 2004 06:44 PM


Current GMT-time: 15:47 (Wednesday, 23-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat