Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 4th July 2008, 06:42 PM
Raptor36 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 12
RESOLVED: Fedora 9 'Install Updates' button doesn't install

I have installed Fedora 9 (sulfur) with the Gnome desktop. It informs me that I have about 250 updates to install in a big popup. I click install and nothing seems to happen.

The same happens in the update manager, I click update and nothing seems to happen. In package manager, when I click 'Install', the same thing happens... nothing.

Before GNOME, I had KDE and it had the exact same problem. Switching to GNOME hasn't helped. My other PC also has this problem. I checked the disc when installing and Anaconda said it was a good disc.

Does anyone know how to solve this problem? Thanks!

Last edited by Raptor36; 5th July 2008 at 01:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 4th July 2008, 08:28 PM
SlowJet Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,048
In a gnome-term
su -
<rootpassword>
setenforce 0
yum clean all --enablerepo=updates-testing
yum check-update --enablerepo=updates-testing
# repeat as needed until you get the full list.
telinit 3
logon as root
yum update -enablerepo=updates-testing
# is this ok
y
#when updates complete
touch /.autorelabel
reboot

# this will make F9 much more stable and usable.
# after, just let the updates come to the popup and review them as neded.

SJ
__________________
Do the Math
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th July 2008, 10:34 PM
Raptor36 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 12
I typed all of that into a terminal one by one. Some of the lines worked while others said "no such command."

Despite this, my update is working now THANKS !!

EDIT: The GUI application was updating but I stopped it and ran it again outside my download limited hours. When I did, it wouldn't work. I tried the commands again and still no luck.

I have tried this on my other PC (running fedora 9 too) and here is what I found:

The first bit works fine

Code:
yum update -enablerepo=updates-testing
y
Should be:
Code:
yum update --enablerepo=updates-testing -y
The -y answers Yes to all Questions and the double dash makes "enablerepo" work as one big option rather than just an E on its own. The update runs in a terminal which gives alot more useful information

The touch /.autorelabel makes Linux "autorelabel" files at startup. What exactly does this do? Is it similar to a defrag? btw, it ran fine.

I have updates my other computer successfully and will update the one I am on now shortly.

Thanks for the help

Last edited by Raptor36; 5th July 2008 at 01:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th July 2008, 04:31 PM
SlowJet Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,048
Yep, I ytep liek a monkye.

But I knew you would figure it out because you are smarter than a monkey.

One note, do not use the -y on an yum update until you are experinced t at recovery and utilities.
Always check that the updates resolved ok before saying y.

autorelabel is for resetting the SELinux security contexts to the defaults.
It is just an added "touch", pun intended, after a large update.
SJ
__________________
Do the Math
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th July 2008, 08:04 PM
marko Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Laurel, MD USA
Posts: 6,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raptor36
I typed all of that into a terminal one by one. Some of the lines worked while others said "no such command."

That's just a path problem, you're trying to use a command that's not
on your path (just like DOS had a path, UNIX and Linux does too)

Either usie the full path to the command or fix your path to add
the directory where the command is (by editing your
.bash_profile in your home directory so it has the "new dir" added
to the PATH:
Quote:
PATH=$PATH:newdir

One way to find a file quickly is locate

for example, ifconfig is in /sbin/ifconfig and
many people fail to run this command because /sbin isn't
on the Fedora default user path. So you could run locate to
find it:
Quote:
locate -b ifconfig

/sbin/ifconfig
/usr/share/man/de/man8/ifconfig.8.gz
/usr/share/man/fr/man8/ifconfig.8.gz
/usr/share/man/man8/ifconfig.8.gz
/usr/share/man/pt/man8/ifconfig.8.gz
Unfortunately as you can see, locate tells you every file name
that has "ifconfig" anywhere in the string. The -b option reduces
that a bit by only returning the basename matches
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th July 2008, 08:14 PM
SlowJet Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,048
marko, the commands I listed have no path problem in a standard Fedora install in a root term.
He most likely typed in a comment or a reply indicator.

SJ
__________________
Do the Math
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6th July 2008, 10:51 AM
Raptor36 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 12
Yesterday I underwent the task of updating my main computer... took an hour but it was worth it. Some of my other issues that I was going to ask about have disappeared

And as for some of the commands not working.. after I edited the mistyped line, the only one that would work was 'y'. What I didn't notice was that you wanted me to press that in reply to questions the terminal asked me.

Lastly, yes, I see what you mean about not adding the '-y' command, since the terminal asks you to confirm choices. All is well now, thanks for your time
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
button, fedora, install, updates

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to get latest kernel update to install with Fedora 9 updates??? rjmyers Mac Chat 3 13th September 2008 03:26 AM
Unable to install updates to Fedora 9 laurie Using Fedora 8 22nd August 2008 12:18 PM
Fresh Install - Install Updates - Now 2 versions in GRUB?? HELP ViolentA79 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 7 8th February 2008 04:22 PM
Security updates mess up my new Fedora 8 install RalfG Using Fedora 3 6th January 2008 02:00 PM
Just installed Fedora, can't apply updates or install new programs? judobrian Using Fedora 4 6th February 2007 05:18 PM


Current GMT-time: 17:58 (Saturday, 20-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Calle Betis Photos on Instagram - Island Of Adventures - Universal Studios Travel Photos on Instagram - Susukan Salatiga Photos