Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 2nd July 2008, 05:04 AM
DigitalShen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Problem Switching Workspaces

hey everybody! so as my first post, I'm hoping someone can help me out a bit. I'm a relatively new Linux user, and the problem I'm having is on a new fedora core 9.0 install, i somehow lost the functionality of being able to switch between or even access workspaces 2-4. I can send programs to those workspaces, but I can do anything after that, the program just sits in t background, until I logout or reboot. Any help will be MUCH appreciated, thanks in advance!

Edit: GNOME interface, Desktop effects enabled (but didnt seem to make a difference if disabled)

Last edited by DigitalShen; 2nd July 2008 at 06:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2nd July 2008, 05:12 AM
Wayne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post split into a new thread.

Wayne

Last edited by Wayne; 2nd July 2008 at 05:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd July 2008, 06:09 AM
DigitalShen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Thank you, I didn't realize the other post was so old.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd July 2008, 06:14 AM
Wayne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalShen
Thank you, I didn't realize the other post was so old.
Yes, it's always a good idea to check the dates on threads before posting. We get a lot of skeletons dug up

Back on topic, you really need to give more info when asking for help. You say you're running Fedora 9, but you don't say whether you're running Gnome or KDE and whether you have Desktop Effects enabled. The devil is in the details! The more info you provide, the better the folks here can help you. When you have time, read the red link in my sig, it'll tell you how to get the most from the forum and the other 3 are a goldmine of help for installing extra stuff.

Wayne
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd July 2008, 09:10 PM
DigitalShen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
ok guys, the problem seems to have fixed itself, I tried disabling Desktop Effects, the re-enabling them, turned on "Workspaces on a Cube", and the workspaces were again accessible. I then turned off Desktop Effects altogether, and everything (in the way of workspaces) seems to be fine now
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
problem, switching, workspaces

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with Workspaces DachaArh Using Fedora 7 4th March 2011 05:12 AM
problem with desktop wallpaper and workspaces naughtysriram Using Fedora 8 4th March 2010 08:59 PM
Problems Switching "Workspaces" rlevitin Using Fedora 1 25th August 2006 04:38 AM
Switching Workspaces Disabled? eldnar Using Fedora 1 8th August 2006 12:08 AM


Current GMT-time: 03:02 (Thursday, 23-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Manturovo Photos on Instagram - Alzira Photos - Warburg Photos on Instagram