Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 28th June 2008, 09:03 PM
madmatt2024 Offline

Fedora 9, updated now WIFI signal low. newb

Hi, I'm new to Fedora and Linux in general. I wanted to have Linux on my system and when I was given an extra HDD I went for it but now I'm having problems and need help.
I had problems getting a wireless connection using my RT2500 usb adapter. It always said 50% signal and it kept asking for my key after I already inputted it. My friend came over and we easily got it online after installing my old RTL8180 PCI card. After that I installed and removed some stuff using YUM Extender and did some extra updates. Eventually for some reason after a reboot my WIFI signal dropped from 99% to 12%! In trying to fix it I removed some stuff and could not get a connection at all.
I decided to wipe the drive and start over fresh. I installed Fedora 9, Wifi signal was 99%. Installed YUM Extender as root and let it download and install updates. (about 260 of them!) Once the updates were finished I rebooted and logged back in as root. Now my WIFI signal is 4%-12% and I have sometimes have problems getting online. Occasionally the signal will read 99% for a few seconds then drop back down. Removing the antenna from the card also seems to give a better signal for some reason. The Wireless adapter works fine under Win XP so I know it is good. I asked my friend who uses Fedora 8 about it and he doesn't know what went wrong. Can someone please help?
Old 8th July 2008, 05:55 AM
madmatt2024 Offline

Ge thanks guys. Is there any other information I can post to help? I don't exactly know what other info is needed to troubleshoot this.
Old 8th July 2008, 06:19 AM
JEO Offline

Try pressing a key early in the boot sequence to bring up the grub boot menu, then press the down arrow to select the previous kernel and hit enter to boot. See if the old kernel works better or not for your wireless.
Old 8th July 2008, 06:27 AM
madmatt2024 Offline