Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 12th June 2008, 11:19 AM
LDC Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 986
How to reset sound?

hi all

I am having some trouble with sound in FC9, sometimes it just stop working.
I would like to know how to reset the sound daemon (actually I just need to know its name :P), since I really don't catch it amongst the services...
Hope also "they" will quickly fix this because it's veeeeeery annoying.
__________________
Money couldn't buy friends, but you get a better class of enemy.

Linux Registered User #476391
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th June 2008, 12:39 PM
notageek Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 2,135
Sound Daemon?

Well there's pulseaudio, which is dependent on avahi something. Its a sound server, maybe thats what you're looking for.

If instead like me you've removed pulseaudio to turn it into a pure ALSA system you may try alsactl restore. If you're using pulseaudio you'll not be able to use alsactl though.
__________________
Robot Nite - Designated device drivers drink free

Last edited by notageek; 12th June 2008 at 12:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th June 2008, 01:11 PM
LDC Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 986
in the services list there is nothing such as "pulseaudio" nor "avahi".
Actually the only efficient way to restore the sound beside rebooting is to refresh X (ctrl+alt+backspace), but I would like to investigate further...

which advantage can you take by removing pulseaudio?

many thanks for your answer
__________________
Money couldn't buy friends, but you get a better class of enemy.

Linux Registered User #476391
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th June 2008, 01:21 PM
notageek Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 2,135
I use SounBlaster 5.1 soundcard, use Creative T6060 speakers, needless to say I like my music to be absolutely perfect.

When using PulseAudio in F8 I had absolutely no sound, and in F9 the quality was beyond bad!! I removed it and have crystal clear audio, purely ALSA. Thats the single advantage you'll have.

I'm not sure where in services to find PulseAudio, but maybe look for it in /etc/init.d directory.

BTW, in case you're interested in how to remove PulseAudio try the following (but don't take my word for it as your problem source, I could be wrong after all others also use PulseAudio, but I like sound to be absolutely perfect)

1. yum remove pulseaudio
2. rpm -qa |grep pulse
3. remove all the rpms listed from 2 with rpm -ev name.rpm --nodeps --allmatches (btw using nodeps and allmatches isn't recommended Fedora way of doing things)
4. yum install alsa -x pulse (please check man for using the correct exclude switch, and also start yum search alsa before you run this command)

Hope this helps.
__________________
Robot Nite - Designated device drivers drink free
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th June 2008, 01:34 PM
LDC Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 986
I am pretty serious about sound (it is not mere coincidence I have a Delta Audiophile ), but that comes when you _make_ music, not just listen. Btw, having glitching sounds give the nerves then it is good to get rid of, still I am unable to deeply comprehend pulseaudio and, maybe more important, why it is enabled by default rather than being left to the needs...

despite I don't like using it, do you think yumex can do a smoother work?
__________________
Money couldn't buy friends, but you get a better class of enemy.

Linux Registered User #476391
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th June 2008, 02:29 PM
notageek Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 2,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by LDC
why it is enabled by default rather than being left to the needs...
Oh, you don't want tread that path, thats for one of the links in Dan's sig

You'll get an overview of PulseAudio in the wikipedia
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pulseaudio

Here's a diagram to show you how it works (taken from Wikipedia)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pulseaudio-diagram.png
Views:	139
Size:	136.5 KB
ID:	16379  
__________________
Robot Nite - Designated device drivers drink free
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th June 2008, 03:23 PM
LDC Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 986
Quote:
Originally Posted by notageek
Oh, you don't want tread that path, thats for one of the links in Dan's sig
I think Fedora would greatly improve by having the develop team hanging around here...

btw. pulseaudio is still there. Not yet took a decision....
__________________
Money couldn't buy friends, but you get a better class of enemy.

Linux Registered User #476391
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th June 2008, 04:09 PM
notageek Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 2,135
Yeah keep it, or at least keep it until you've done more investigation. They couldn't have just included a product which is that broken.

In my case prolly its a system mismatch issue and I wanted to get sound working as soon as possible, thats why I didn't spend time troubleshooting PA. Once I heard how bad it was I immediately deleted it.
__________________
Robot Nite - Designated device drivers drink free
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12th June 2008, 04:24 PM
hyperspace Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lincoln, NE
Age: 56
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by LDC
in the services list there is nothing such as "pulseaudio" nor "avahi".
Actually the only efficient way to restore the sound beside rebooting is to refresh X (ctrl+alt+backspace), but I would like to investigate further...

which advantage can you take by removing pulseaudio?

many thanks for your answer
Hmm...

The avahi-daemon is in the list on F8. I don't have my F9 laptop with me at work. I'll check when I get home tonight.
__________________
lost in hypertime...

Registered Linux User #329061
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12th June 2008, 05:17 PM
bepaald Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 124
Restarting pulseaudio

Hi LDC! To get back to your original question, to restart the (pulseaudio) sound server without rebooting, I usually open a terminal, go to my home dir and type:
Code:
rm .pulse-cookie
pulseaudio -k
pulseaudio -D
Either of the first two commands may not in all cases be necessary, but they won't do any harm.

NOTE: This always works for me, but I do it in f8, NOT f9, so results may vary i guess. Let us know if it works!
__________________
Running F20 x86_64 with KDE
Intel Core i7-4771 @ 3.5GHz
8G RAM
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12th June 2008, 05:52 PM
LDC Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 986
mh, I will try this once at home ^^
__________________
Money couldn't buy friends, but you get a better class of enemy.

Linux Registered User #476391
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12th June 2008, 09:36 PM
JohnVV Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ann Arbor
Age: 47
Posts: 3,936
this only works if you wrote some rules for SELinux
Failed to show grant dialog: Unable to lookup exe for caller
" PolicyKit responded with 'auth_admin_keep_always'"

rm .pulse-cookie
pulseaudio -k
pulseaudio -D
and NOT on a default install
Quote:
in FC9, sometimes it just stop working
that can happen in 8 also someplace deep in the source code there is a slight mismatch with some other software .
there is a bug report someplace about this from last year
so far the only " fix" is to reboot.
__________________
OpenSUSE 13.1-64bit & Scientific Linux 6.5-64bit ( fedora 4 to 11) and 19/20 on KVM
My Celestia Downloads

h t t p ://celestiamotherlode.net/catalog/show_creator_details.php?creator_id=10
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12th June 2008, 10:24 PM
bepaald Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnVV
this only works if you wrote some rules for SELinux
Failed to show grant dialog: Unable to lookup exe for caller
" PolicyKit responded with 'auth_admin_keep_always'"
and NOT on a default install
Well, I have to admit I'm not very knowledgeable about these things, but I certainly do have a default install, I never wrote any SELinux rules (wouldn't even know how), and I have SELinux set to enforcing. And it works. It does give those warnings, but they are just that, warnings (preceded by a 'W' instead of an 'E'). You can safely ignore them.

Sometimes the 'pulseaudio -k' gives an error as last line, printed in red and preceded by an 'E', reading something along the lines of 'failed to kill daemon'. This usually means the daemon wasn't running in the first place and it can still be ignored (the command just wasn't necessary). You can easily and safely reproduce this behavior by running 'pulseaudio -k' twice in a row.
Only if the 'pulseaudio -D' command gives an error reading 'failed to start daemon' was there a problem. You can easily see this happening as well, by running 'pulseaudio -D' twice in a row (it fails the second time because the daemon is running already).
__________________
Running F20 x86_64 with KDE
Intel Core i7-4771 @ 3.5GHz
8G RAM

Last edited by bepaald; 12th June 2008 at 10:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12th June 2008, 11:32 PM
JohnVV Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ann Arbor
Age: 47
Posts: 3,936
well killing pulse and restarting it has ( for me) never worked
but for the last 5-6 mo. pulse crashing has not been a problem
once in a while if i leave ktorrent running all night then it might crash ( 1% of the time) BZFlag maybe 2 % of the time
__________________
OpenSUSE 13.1-64bit & Scientific Linux 6.5-64bit ( fedora 4 to 11) and 19/20 on KVM
My Celestia Downloads

h t t p ://celestiamotherlode.net/catalog/show_creator_details.php?creator_id=10
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 13th June 2008, 03:57 AM
hyperspace Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lincoln, NE
Age: 56
Posts: 414
PulseAudio does not show up as a service (thought it did).
__________________
lost in hypertime...

Registered Linux User #329061
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
reset, sound

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
reset yum for F11 Hoyt Using Fedora 5 11th June 2009 03:58 PM
reset? the_kid Using Fedora 2 8th June 2004 09:43 PM


Current GMT-time: 11:09 (Wednesday, 30-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat