Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 8th June 2008, 01:18 AM
CrackedLCD Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Downey, CA
Age: 32
Posts: 187
Pidgin nor Kopete will connect to yahoo

For some reason, starting today, Pidgin refuses to connect to my yahoo account. I figured maybe it's a problem with Pidgin, so I install Kopete, but I keep having the same problem and it's only affecting my yahoo account, both will connect just fine to my AIM account. Anybody know what the problem could be?
__________________
The Best Dang Programming Language EVER!!! LOLCODE
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 8th June 2008, 07:30 AM
nissan.bakish Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Israel
Age: 39
Posts: 77
Did it work before ?

Or its a new installation & new configuration ?

Rgds

Nissan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th June 2008, 02:42 AM
ihitf13anddied Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
agreed

yes, i am also experiencing the same issue......anybody have any links or news as to why this happened?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th June 2008, 12:01 PM
cheerio158 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 231
Monday, June 09 2008 - Try it now. I couldn't connect on Friday 6/Sat 7 and it magically started working again on Sunday.

I reckon that it was some dufus at Yahoo doing an upgrade.
__________________
Desktop Smolt profile
Laptop Smolt profile
EeePC Smolt profile
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th June 2008, 12:06 PM
Demz
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
have you tried connecting to yahoo using a different Yahoo Port?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th June 2008, 12:51 PM
jbixby Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: U.K.
Posts: 64
Don't know what was happening on Friday but on Saturday afternoon Pidgin on my box would connect to Yahoo, although this did take some time. Altogether it was about 3-4 minutes before it would allow me to connect.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th June 2008, 11:19 PM
ihitf13anddied Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
oddly, yahoo now connects fine for me. Strange!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
connect, kopete, pidgin, yahoo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is yahoo messenger working with pidgin now? sseipel133 Using Fedora 6 26th September 2009 10:21 AM
Fedora 8 configuring Pidgin for Yahoo j.gohel Using Fedora 6 1st April 2008 12:14 PM
Pidgin Problem: Yahoo is not connecting nym2010 Using Fedora 0 19th August 2007 08:11 AM
pidgin - kopete ggeo Using Fedora 1 27th June 2007 01:18 PM
kopete with yahoo webcam centos_x Using Fedora 0 6th August 2006 09:28 PM


Current GMT-time: 21:29 (Tuesday, 16-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat