Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 10th July 2004, 11:50 PM
steelman22 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 6
Unhappy Dual boot problem... not usual :)

Here is my situation:
i have 3 HDD
hda : here is windows (to partitions)
hdb : here are my windows data
hde (on RAID) : here is my linux (FC2)

Bootloader is GRUB, he is on MBR, and i can boot linux from it, there is also entry for windows but it does not work, i think becouse there is grub in MBR. Anyway here is my grub conf:
Code:
default=0
timeout=10
splashimage=(hd2,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title Fedora Core (2.6.5-1.358)
        root (hd2,0)
        kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.5-1.358 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
        initrd /initrd-2.6.5-1.358.img
title Other
        rootnoverify (hda,4)
        chainloader +1
I think that in my situation it will be easier to boot linux from windows bootloader.
I have read in some magazine that i can do this that way:
(i do not understand it all)
Code:
dd if=/dev/hdaX bs=512 count=1 of=bootsect.lin

// X is the number of partition where linux kernel is installed
// so i think i should instead of hdaX write hde2 (it is my "/" main linux dir.)
// but after executin that command i bootsect.lin there are ^@^@^@^@^@... that signs...
then i should copy it to c:\    (on win)
and add a line to boot.ini
c:\bootsect.ini="linux"
i dont know is it correct.
OH, can you help me...
please
mathew...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11th July 2004, 02:43 AM
Picomp314 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 532
this is what the relevant section of my grub.conf file looks like
i recommend you use grub

Code:
title DOS
        rootnoverify (hd0,0)
        chainloader +1
do you have two windows partitions on hda ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th July 2004, 02:51 AM
njel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1
you should use the command "dd if=/dev/hde1 bs=512 count=1 of=bootsect.lin" only if you have install Grub Linux Boot loader on that partition not on the MBR.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, dual, problem, usual

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to boot Fedora? (Usual kernel update ****) antsr Using Fedora 4 9th September 2009 02:56 PM
Sound blaster Audigy problem(s?) (Slightly different then a the usual) Cassanova Hardware & Laptops 11 14th March 2009 06:42 PM
Virtualbox Installation Problem - Not usual usb thing moonshinerat Using Fedora 2 21st December 2007 02:57 AM
Ati driver problem... as usual... Nesquik Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 27th October 2006 03:20 PM
Dell I8600, Not the >usual< suspend to RAM problem. cMechanism Hardware & Laptops 0 21st March 2005 10:30 PM


Current GMT-time: 14:35 (Saturday, 25-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Ar Rifa Travel Photos on Instagram - Janjgir Photos on Instagram - Lodi Travel Photos