<---- template headericclude ----->
Installation Help
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    dj33426 Guest

Exclamation Installation Help

I'm trying to install a software name Remote Control on to fedora 8 but it won't work. I'm new to linux and I got instruction on how to install, but it won't work. Now I downloaded it to /home/DJ/Download and the folder is crclinux.tar.gz and there is a install file there. When I tried to install it by double clicking on it nothing happens. I have the instruction please see the install instructions below:-

Open a terminal window.
    Change the working directory to the one containing the downloaded installer archive, e.g.: cd Desktop
    Expand the archive: tar –zxvf nsmclient-installer.tar.gz
    Change the working directory to the installer directory: cd nsm_install
    Run the installer script: sudo ./install (do not click install this is not windows)

I'm lost trying to changing the directory part, I'm getting file or directory not found.
    Last edited by dj33426; 12th May 2008 at 05:07 PM.

dj33426 Guest

Exclamation Installation help part 2

Here are some more instructions to the software I'm trying to install.

Installation
    A CrossTec Client can be installed on Linux platforms, designed to run on a Windows manager,
    enabling a Control to connect, view the screen of the remote user and perform a variety of remote
    control tasks:
    1. Download to a directory on the Linux machine.
    2. Extract the TAR BALL. A sub-directory called Install will be created.
    3. Point to the directory and run the installation. (As a Root User)
    4. The CrossTec Client will install to /usr/ctc, providing a Linux daemon.
    5. At the CrossTec Control connect to the Client in the usual manner.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    When you ran :

tar –zxvf nsmclient-installer.tar.gz

If you do not get an error, some directory has bee created. Use the command:

ls -la