Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > The Dungeon > Archived (Click Header To See Sub-Forums) > Alpha - Beta (Fedora 9 Only)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Alpha - Beta (Fedora 9 Only) Post Development Version comments and questions that don't belong in Bugzilla here. These posts will be moved or deleted once the Final version is released

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th May 2008, 12:11 AM
TechDragon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Edmond
Age: 40
Posts: 158
laptop docking station dual monitors?

Hi

Ibm t60 integrated intel gma x3100 video.

Fedora 9 works off of the docking station flawlessly, the problem exists when I plug it into my docking station which has dual 19" monitors attached to it. Fedora boots to the login screen and then kills the monitor with the "cannot display this resolution" error. I have tried changing to a multitude of different resolutions and refresh rates but nothing works.

I have been distro hopping trying to find a distro that will simply handle my dual monitor set up. Ubuntu 7.10 did but 8.04 is using the same crappy screen resolution utility that Fedora is, however I was wanting to see if Fedora got it right or if the utility was just to immature to work correctly.

I do not have experience in programming an OS but it sure doesn't seem like it would be so BLANKING difficult to have dual screen capability. Windows has done it since back in the 98 days. Also, external NTFS formatted hard drives are an issue. Suse 11 uses them, it handles my dual monitors but the sound is broken. Ubuntu 8.04 everything works but the dual monitor capability. I am hoping that someone gets it right, I am hoping that it is Fedora 9. Sorry ranting now as I am about to pull out the last three threads of hair that I have.
__________________
IBM T60 Laptop
  #2  
Old 9th May 2008, 10:41 PM
TechDragon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Edmond
Age: 40
Posts: 158
nobody knows?
__________________
IBM T60 Laptop
  #3  
Old 13th May 2008, 02:41 AM
ghost_ryder35 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: /
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechDragon
nobody knows?
have you tried using
Code:
setup
need to be root to save changes by the way
__________________
Fedora 20
  #4  
Old 13th May 2008, 04:53 PM
nimbius Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 131
similar situation with my fed8 dell 620 laptop. removal is fine, reconnection causes the system to crash and burn.
__________________
The sage does not hoard. The more he helps others, the more he benefits himself, The more he gives to others, the more he gets himself. The Way of Heaven does one good but never does one harm. The Way of the sage is to act but not to compete.

--Lao Tzu
  #5  
Old 13th May 2008, 05:07 PM
Zero-Override Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 741
i have a dual monitor setup running, my suggestion would be to set that up as the default and linux will disable it temporarily when it doesn't find the second monitor. but that way you can set all the settings for the dual setup

good luck!
__________________
LINUX NUMBER 389596
machine number 290131
  #6  
Old 13th May 2008, 05:25 PM
TechDragon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Edmond
Age: 40
Posts: 158
Double post, deleted
__________________
IBM T60 Laptop

Last edited by TechDragon; 13th May 2008 at 05:35 PM.
  #7  
Old 13th May 2008, 05:31 PM
TechDragon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Edmond
Age: 40
Posts: 158
Zero-Override, how did you set up your dual monitors? Do you have and intel or ATI chipset integrated into a laptop? I have access to both, are you using a docking station? Can you give me the 1,2,3's of configuration?
__________________
IBM T60 Laptop

Last edited by TechDragon; 13th May 2008 at 05:34 PM.
  #8  
Old 13th May 2008, 05:54 PM
Zero-Override Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 741
actually i have an nvidia but i also have an ati (which doesn't use the dual screen setup)

the best thing i can recommend is to start your lappy docked and then start setting up dual monitor it can be QUITE tricky and give quite a few aches

just try and mess with that, it's FAR to long ago for me to even remotely remember what it is that i set up. i can however send you an xorg.conf with a current dual monitor setup? it is from a desktop though but i don't think it will matter all that much
__________________
LINUX NUMBER 389596
machine number 290131
  #9  
Old 23rd May 2008, 01:57 PM
fromans Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechDragon
Hi

Ibm t60 integrated intel gma x3100 video.

Fedora 9 works off of the docking station flawlessly, the problem exists when I plug it into my docking station which has dual 19" monitors attached to it. Fedora boots to the login screen and then kills the monitor with the "cannot display this resolution" error. I have tried changing to a multitude of different resolutions and refresh rates but nothing works.

I have been distro hopping trying to find a distro that will simply handle my dual monitor set up. Ubuntu 7.10 did but 8.04 is using the same crappy screen resolution utility that Fedora is, however I was wanting to see if Fedora got it right or if the utility was just to immature to work correctly.

I do not have experience in programming an OS but it sure doesn't seem like it would be so BLANKING difficult to have dual screen capability. Windows has done it since back in the 98 days. Also, external NTFS formatted hard drives are an issue. Suse 11 uses them, it handles my dual monitors but the sound is broken. Ubuntu 8.04 everything works but the dual monitor capability. I am hoping that someone gets it right, I am hoping that it is Fedora 9. Sorry ranting now as I am about to pull out the last three threads of hair that I have.
I am having a similar problem with my Dell Latitide D830 and it's docking station. Booting off the dock works 100% of the time, but booting up one the docking station will only work 25% of the time. It will just lock up at the point where it should be starting GDM.
 

Tags
docking, dual, laptop, monitors, station

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop - Docking Station (Dual Monitors) [Twinview] Question Velicos Hardware & Laptops 5 13th September 2010 05:29 AM
Laptop/Docking station issues gurutech Hardware & Laptops 2 6th November 2008 10:38 PM
Trying to configure Dell Latitude 630 and docking station for Dual Head RPElliott Hardware & Laptops 1 11th October 2008 02:09 AM
Fedora + Docking Station for Laptop mikntwd Hardware & Laptops 3 7th January 2008 02:52 PM
Dell laptop / nvidia / docking station active screen problem mrasue Hardware & Laptops 5 12th October 2007 02:54 AM


Current GMT-time: 17:16 (Friday, 31-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
San Jeronimo Ixtepec Instagram Photos - San Pedro Madera Travel Photos - Worcester