Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Community Lounge > Wibble
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Wibble A place to have a sensible chat, about anything non linux related. Please remember that political and religious topics are not permitted.

View Poll Results: Which Brand Do You Have?
I BUILT MY BOX powered by Fedora Core 762 68.96%
Custom Built by someone else 58 5.25%
HP/Compaq 67 6.06%
Dell 99 8.96%
Sony 14 1.27%
IBM 17 1.54%
Toshiba 16 1.45%
Gateway 13 1.18%
Other 59 5.34%
Voters: 1105. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th July 2004, 04:01 PM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 45
Posts: 8,256
Who Built Your Computer?

I just curios and wanted to know how techie are we in the fedora community!

So please answer the poll....

I built my system and here are the specs:

AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (2.07ghz)
DFI Motherboard
1256mb 3200mhz DDR
Dual Layer DVD +/- Burner 16x | DVD Player
CD Burner 52x
Maxtor 80GB Hard Drive
Maxtor 200GB Hard Drive
NVIDIA 5200 256mb
DSL Connection
XP Pro and FC 4 Dual Boot

Compaq AMD Turion Laptop
DVD Burner/Player
60GB HD
Integrated 54 Wireless
XP home and FC 4
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D

Last edited by imdeemvp; 8th January 2006 at 07:29 AM.
  #2  
Old 6th July 2004, 04:45 PM
crackers Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 57
Posts: 3,423
Judging from early results, looks like we have a home-brew club. I'm not entirely surprised. Processor selection might also be interesting...

AMD Athlon XP 2100
ASUS Motherboard
512Mb PC2700
Maxtor 30Gb
PNY (NVidia) 5200 dual-head plus TV (128Mb)
Cable modem
Note: the only time the hard-drive's had Windows on it was when I was using VMWare.

My wife's is also a custom job, but somewhat lower on the processor and video card - she's not into running three to four JVM's at once...
  #3  
Old 6th July 2004, 04:47 PM
sailor Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Antonio, Texas - Home of the Alamo, the "Cradle of Texas Liberty"
Age: 56
Posts: 4,113
My main machine is a Gateway 500s 1.8 GHZ P4 256 ddr ram nVidia Geforce mx 200 40GB + 80 GB WD HD...Cable connection ...FC2/ Win XP dual boot...
My second machine is a AMD k-6 300 MGHZ I don't remember what is in it now ...this one I bought the box,power supply and mobo I put the rest of the stuff in it ...Win 2000 ...Cable connection
My third machine is a Acer Acros 75 MGHZ Pentium... 32 MG ram... SB16 6... GB HD ...Win 95 ...used as doorstop
WIfe's computer is a Dell Latitude P3 1200 MGHZ....384 MB ram....40 GB HD....WinXP...Ethernet / PCMCIA
looks like I have one of each of the most popular categories..
__________________
**********************************************
sailor
San Antonio, Texas

Fedora 20 - Lenovo IdeaPad V570
**********************************************

Last edited by sailor; 6th July 2004 at 05:03 PM.
  #4  
Old 6th July 2004, 05:18 PM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 45
Posts: 8,256
crackers i agree with you and i forgot to include AMD or Pentium based.
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
  #5  
Old 7th July 2004, 01:02 AM
Varkk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New Zealand
Age: 35
Posts: 287
I built my P4 power house myself nearly 2 years ago, some minor upgrades since then.

P4 1.8 jigglyhertz
512MB PC3200 <--one of these days I will pop in another stick to make it 1GB
Gigabyte Motherboard (SiS 648 chipset)
40GB 5400RPM seagate HDD
80GB Seagate BarracudaV HDD
128MB GeForceFX5900
Aopen4048 CDRW
Liteon812S DVD+/-RW
420W power supply

I am getting the itch to upgrade this machine, would love to play with an AMD64 box...
  #6  
Old 7th July 2004, 01:41 AM
cyborg Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Brackley, England
Age: 23
Posts: 202
Talking

I built mine myself I'm 13, and i'm pleased with it. I've enclosed a picture of it. It has a 1gig AMD Duron, ATI Ratheon 7000, 20gig Maxtor, Pioneer 12x CD & Lite-on 52x24x52 Burner. Xp and FC2. . I'm starting another one, its only going to be Pentium3 but thats all I could find.

Administrative Notice: The 600+ Kb image has been removed, as it dramatically affected load times to the page.
__________________
[joe@host]

Last edited by cyborg; 7th July 2004 at 01:43 AM.
  #7  
Old 7th July 2004, 01:55 AM
Viro Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 114
I've got an Acer Laptop powered by an Athlon 64. This baby absolutely screams!
  #8  
Old 7th July 2004, 02:08 AM
ghaefb Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Slovenia
Age: 31
Posts: 1,713
Quote:
512MB 3200mhz DDR
3200Mhz ? really

my signature speaks for it self...
__________________
_ghaefb


blog & sysinfo
  #9  
Old 7th July 2004, 02:13 AM
svizi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 12
I build mine specs below

2500-M @ 2400
Epox ep-8rda3+
512 kingston
120gb Maxtor 40 gb Maxtor
Ati Radeon 9600xt

And Fedora core 2
  #10  
Old 7th July 2004, 02:44 AM
Ug Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,999
Well my laptop is built by Toshiba, and its a Toshiba P10-804 if anyone is interested. Its specs are:

A widescreen high definitiion 15.4" LCD screen (default 1920 x 1600 resolution)
P4 3 Gig HT
512mb Ram
60gb HD
DVD-RW
64mb Nvidia Geforce FX

Our other boxes (all 4 of them) are all custom built, and range from a P2 233Mhz through to an Athlon AMD XP 1800+. So we have a fair range, but I primarily use my spangly laptop.
__________________
gareth@fedoraforum.org
Registered Linux User # 301555
garethrussell.net


Please adhere to the FedoraForum Guidelines.
  #11  
Old 7th July 2004, 02:50 AM
Picomp314 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 532
I built my computer, it is the first one I built, and it is my first computer to entirely own.
The anniversary of me using a PC (x86) will be 3 years in August, and this computer will be 2 years old this Christmas.

Athlon XP 2200
ECS k7s5a
512 PC 2100 DDR
80 GB + 160 GB Western Digital HDs
Geforce 2 MX400
52x CD-R/W ( i have no need for dvd)
Soundblaster Live 5.1
  #12  
Old 7th July 2004, 05:56 AM
Prometheus Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 374
Made my own. Bought all the parts online (except the monitor which would have cost a fortune to ship)

AMD Athlon 2700+ (OC'd a little bit) with nice Vantec cooler
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe (definately not the best linux mobo)
1 gig PCI 3200 DDR (2 512 sticks @ 3200) BTW, PCI 3200 runs at 400mhz, not 3200, the 3200 is with the memory multipler
ATI Radeon 9500 PRO (OC'd of course)
120 gig Maxtor IDE hdd
8 gig WD hdd (back up drive)
1 gig Seagate Drive (blank right now i think)
52X CD-r?rw
Toshiba DVD drive
17in monitor, and on and on and on

Fun to build though, he he he, you know were bad when we start reminicing and smiling "about the time when we built a pc"
  #13  
Old 7th July 2004, 06:00 AM
fjleal Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portugal, Europe
Age: 44
Posts: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ug
A widescreen high definitiion 15.4" LCD screen (default 1920 x 1600 resolution)
Wow! And people say my 1400x1050 on a 15" TFT is too much...
__________________
"I'd crawl over an acre of 'Visual This++' and 'Integrated Development That' to get to gcc, Emacs, and gdb. Thank you."
-- Vance Petree, Virginia Power
  #14  
Old 7th July 2004, 06:52 AM
f_favila Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 41
Posts: 11
Well, I stop building computers when I started using laptops. Laptops are all I use now. I have a Gateway 400SD and an iBook G4 800Mhz 12". The Gateway is a dual boot with WinXP and Fedora Core 2. The iBook runs OS X 10.3 Panther.
  #15  
Old 7th July 2004, 10:34 AM
Jman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 7,909
HP Pavilion 503n. Not very fast, but not very expensive, and I didn't have to put it together.

I admit I upgraded the RAM and hard drive.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Custom built computer? edszr Using Fedora 8 31st March 2009 07:03 PM
will fedora 9 work if i intalled it my computer but put the drive in another computer tootal2 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 14th September 2008 03:07 PM
Problem with newly built computer... EvoX Hardware & Laptops 4 7th October 2007 08:21 AM
How to configure NetWork between a Linux computer and Windows Computer ? ZaraCattle Using Fedora 4 1st March 2007 01:16 PM
Sharing files between a WinXP computer and FC2 computer... Mtnear Servers & Networking 13 13th September 2004 10:01 PM


Current GMT-time: 22:21 (Wednesday, 01-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat