Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 12th April 2008, 09:21 AM
fudderduds Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Arrow I want to switch to Fedora but....

I'm currently running Ubuntu 7.10 and want to switch over to Fedora 8 but I don't want to loose my files. I know that I can move /home to a separate partition but I'm not sure that I have enough free memory on my HD to do so.

Compaq Presario V2000 90G HD with a dual boot with XP (I know, it's sad) at 14.5G, then 76G for Ubuntu and 54.4G (44.4 in /home) is taken up leaving about 21G free.

Do I have enough room to move /home to a new partition?

Any help is greatly appreciated and may have rewards (naming first born children after you, donations to charity in your name, etc.).

Cheers!
Drew
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th April 2008, 09:35 AM
suomaf Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 71
Run a dh -h and see how much space you got left. You need to find out also how big you /home is. Although i think you might want to think about what you really want, and whatyou can do without
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th April 2008, 09:48 AM
bingoUV Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 258
make a live cd of knoppix / gparted. Boot from it. This can shrink an ext3 partition without losing data. Though it recommends backing up the data, it mostly works. A bit risky, but maybe worth it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fedora, switch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Doing research to switch from Win XP to Fedora 9 pancakelizard Using Fedora 17 3rd June 2008 09:01 PM
Is It possible - Fedora LAN Switch?? FreakyFulley Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 1st January 2008 09:43 AM
Fedora 5 firewall, can I switch to APF? professor chen Using Fedora 4 20th May 2006 07:09 AM
Should I switch from Red Hat 9 to Fedora 3? Mr. Sulu Fedora Focus 15 13th August 2005 12:42 AM
switch from RH9 -> Fedora Robca Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 4 14th September 2004 08:41 AM


Current GMT-time: 20:31 (Friday, 24-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Alexandria Travel Photos - Chinju Travel Photos on Instagram - Shelbyville