Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 16th March 2008, 09:56 PM
marie@dk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 128
Problem with "Custom Application Launcher"

I just found scrot, a screenshot commandline tool. I want to be able to run this command by pressing an icon on the panel:

scrot -s '%s.png' -e 'mv $f ~/screenshots/'

This command will let me select a rectangle on the screen and then it saves the screenshot in the ~/screenshots folder and names it with a timestamp (%s).

If I run this command in a shell it works fine
If I run this command with "Run application" in the panel, it works fine

But if I add the command in a "Custom Application Launcher" it works only partially. The file is saved, but it is named s.png ... the %s part of the command is apparently not recognized.

Can anybody tell me why that is?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16th March 2008, 10:18 PM
Dies Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,754
Place the command in a small script then call the script from a launcher.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th March 2008, 10:53 PM
Skunk Worx Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 427
Try using 2 % characters. I think the gnome-launcher gobbles the first % character up.

Code:
scrot -s '%%s.png' -e 'mv $f ~/screenshots/'
__________________
registered linux user #192405
Note : i am usually not available in this forum Tuesday-Friday.

My Desktop Smolt

My Notebook Smolt
Small amount of personal info and notes about Fedora
Notes about Fedora, Java, JOGL and NeHe OpenGL Tutorials
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th March 2008, 12:11 AM
marie@dk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 128
Thank you, Skunk Worx! - I added an extra % and it works :-)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th March 2008, 12:40 AM
Skunk Worx Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 427
You're welcome! The gnome-launcher help shows a bunch of '%' escape codes, and I *knew* I had seen this before! Glad to be of help.
__________________
registered linux user #192405
Note : i am usually not available in this forum Tuesday-Friday.

My Desktop Smolt

My Notebook Smolt
Small amount of personal info and notes about Fedora
Notes about Fedora, Java, JOGL and NeHe OpenGL Tutorials
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th March 2008, 10:35 PM
techmum Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 267
Oh serendipity!

I have been looking for an application like scrot for ages.

This is an option that should be built-in to the desktop screen capture, since clearly I am not the only one that mostly wants to capture only part of a screen and not the whole screen. Saves having to capture and then edit the capture to cut out just what you want.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18th March 2008, 10:10 AM
marie@dk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 128
techmum - I totally agree. It's a crying shame that gnome-screenshot is so limited.

By the way, i found this nice article about scrot:
http://www.freesoftwaremagazine.com/...ots_with_scrot
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19th March 2008, 01:05 AM
techmum Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 267
Thanks Marie.

A nice little ImageMagick tip in that article too.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
problem

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem adding custom application launcher wodefey Using Fedora 4 4th June 2011 09:16 PM
Help required: making "custom" policy for own applications kalbi Security and Privacy 10 3rd July 2008 09:37 AM
Error:visibility arg must be one of "default", "hidden", "protected" or "internal" wangfeng Using Fedora 0 23rd May 2005 04:59 AM
Error Message: The Application "eggcups" has quit unexpectedly. ScottTFrazer Fedora Core 3 Test Releases 2 29th September 2004 06:11 AM
boot off a custom kernel, stops on "probing for new hardware" jeremym Using Fedora 3 31st May 2004 05:35 PM


Current GMT-time: 19:57 (Tuesday, 21-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Kasimov Photos - Ifo Photos - Al Fayyum Travel Photos