Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 4th March 2008, 06:26 AM
venumus Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 141
Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4328 802.11a/b/g/n

ive gone thru a few threads tryin to get this to work this time. when i installed FC8 the first time a couple weeks ago i got it to work. had some troubles, had to reinstall, got everything else worked out but i cant get it to work for some reason

cant use bc43xx, not supported. and for some reason ndiswrapper, which i got to work last time, isnt workin now.

Code:
[root@exactor ~]# ndiswrapper -l
bcmwl5 : driver installed
        device (14E4:4328) present (alternate driver: ssb)
bcmwl564.sys : invalid driver!
bcmwl5.inf : invalid driver!
[root@exactor ~]#
i removed ndiswrapper now. so yeah.
__________________
Model: HP Pavillion dv6748us
CPU: AMD T-60 2.0 ghtz 64 x2
Videocard:Nvidia GeForce 7150M
Wifi:BCM4328 802.11a/b/g/n
Display:1280x800
OS:Fedora 8 x86_64 Werewolf

Registered Linux User #466240
Registered Linux Box #374667
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 4th March 2008, 06:35 AM
Bslagowski Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 196
Ok.

First thing is to clean out all your old installs. I'd do this by:

Code:
su -
rmmod b43
ndiswrapper -l
ndiswrapper -r driver (replace driver with drivers listed above. Repeat for all)
rmmod ndiswrapper
Then try this. I've taken it directly from here: http://www.micahcarrick.com/11-04-20...all-notes.html

Code:
su-
wget http://ftp.us.dell.com/network/R151517.EXE
mkdir driver
unzip -a R151517.EXE -d driver/
cd driver/DRIVER/
ndiswrapper -i bcmwl5.inf
ndiswrapper -l
ndiswrapper -m
modprobe ndiswrapper
Paste the output of: "dmesg | tail" if this doesn't work.
__________________
So dawn goes down to day,
Nothing gold can stay.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th March 2008, 07:15 AM
venumus Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 141
[root@exactor DRIVER]# dmesg | tail
PM: Finishing wakeup.
Restarting tasks ... done.
eth0: no link during initialization.
ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
eth0: link up.
ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth0: link becomes ready
eth0: no IPv6 routers present
Machine check events logged
ndiswrapper version 1.52 loaded (smp=yes, preempt=no)
usbcore: registered new interface driver ndiswrapper
[root@exactor DRIVER]#


yeah that didnt work theres the out put of the dmesg | tail
__________________
Model: HP Pavillion dv6748us
CPU: AMD T-60 2.0 ghtz 64 x2
Videocard:Nvidia GeForce 7150M
Wifi:BCM4328 802.11a/b/g/n
Display:1280x800
OS:Fedora 8 x86_64 Werewolf

Registered Linux User #466240
Registered Linux Box #374667
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th March 2008, 07:29 AM
meowdin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: HK
Age: 32
Posts: 196
maybe another su -

iwconfig

ifconfig

and try

ifconfig wlan0 up


or whatever alias it has....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th March 2008, 07:37 AM
venumus Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 141
Code:
[root@exactor ~]# iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.
i dont think its been aliased
__________________
Model: HP Pavillion dv6748us
CPU: AMD T-60 2.0 ghtz 64 x2
Videocard:Nvidia GeForce 7150M
Wifi:BCM4328 802.11a/b/g/n
Display:1280x800
OS:Fedora 8 x86_64 Werewolf

Registered Linux User #466240
Registered Linux Box #374667
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th March 2008, 08:50 AM
meowdin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: HK
Age: 32
Posts: 196
possible problem i could think of:

- kernel version and ndis not match
- wrong driver
- broken / switched off wireless card
- others ^^"

But surely there should be some errors shown during

ndiswrapper -l

or

modprobe ndiswrapper

right?

The initial error message on ndiswrapper -l suggest either it's a wrong driver or a unmatched kernel ... (or others , i play with ndis < 1 yrs)

and Here are some ppl struggling with something similar.. whopping lots to try

Last edited by meowdin; 4th March 2008 at 12:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 4th March 2008, 05:04 PM
Bslagowski Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 196
Make sure that in /etc/modprobe.conf there is a line that says something like "alias wlan0 ndiswrapper." Remove any other aliases for wlan0.

Reboot your system.

1,) Try "ifconfig wlan0 up"
2.) If that doesn't work type "modprobe ndiswrapper" and paste the dmesg | tail output here again.
3.) "Ifconfig wlan0 up" again and dmesg output.
__________________
So dawn goes down to day,
Nothing gold can stay.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 4th March 2008, 07:57 PM
venumus Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 141
yeah none of that worked. and

dmesg | tail only output an onther unrelated problem im dealing with. ill try again later. i gotta go to school for now. i appreciate your help
__________________
Model: HP Pavillion dv6748us
CPU: AMD T-60 2.0 ghtz 64 x2
Videocard:Nvidia GeForce 7150M
Wifi:BCM4328 802.11a/b/g/n
Display:1280x800
OS:Fedora 8 x86_64 Werewolf

Registered Linux User #466240
Registered Linux Box #374667
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 4th March 2008, 09:44 PM
Bslagowski Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 196
You can consider trying this if your connection is encrypted by WEP. Actually that reminds me - what kind of encryption does your network use? WEP, none, WPA?

http://www.micahcarrick.com/11-04-20...sy-ubuntu.html
__________________
So dawn goes down to day,
Nothing gold can stay.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 5th March 2008, 04:36 AM
venumus Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 141
i follwed what that guy did. i think im one step closer, as i have one less error but here's the out put

bcmwl5 : driver installed
device (14E4:4328) present (alternate driver: ssb)
bcmwl564.sys : invalid driver!
[root@exactor DRIVER]# sudo ndiswrapper -m
module configuration already contains alias directive

[root@exactor DRIVER]# sudo modprobe ndiswrapper
[root@exactor DRIVER]#
__________________
Model: HP Pavillion dv6748us
CPU: AMD T-60 2.0 ghtz 64 x2
Videocard:Nvidia GeForce 7150M
Wifi:BCM4328 802.11a/b/g/n
Display:1280x800
OS:Fedora 8 x86_64 Werewolf

Registered Linux User #466240
Registered Linux Box #374667
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 5th March 2008, 06:34 AM
Bslagowski Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 196
The sudo's aren't necessary if you're already root (which is what happens when you use su).

ndiswrapper -m adds a line to your /etc/modprobe.conf. Check this file and make sure there is only one line saying "alias wlan0 ndiswrapper" where wlan0 is the cards device name (might be ath0 or something).

Remove the second driver (bcmwl564.sys). Rmmod and re-modprobe the ndiswrapper driver. Post the dmesg output.
__________________
So dawn goes down to day,
Nothing gold can stay.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 5th March 2008, 08:22 AM
venumus Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 141
Code:
ACPI: PCI interrupt for device 0000:03:00.0 disabled
usbcore: deregistering interface driver ndiswrapper
ndiswrapper version 1.52 loaded (smp=yes, preempt=no)
ndiswrapper (link_pe_images:576): fixing KI_USER_SHARED_DATA address in the driver
ndiswrapper: driver bcmwl5 (Broadcom,10/12/2006, 4.100.15.5) loaded
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:03:00.0[A] -> Link [LK4E] -> GSI 19 (level, low) -> IRQ 19
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:03:00.0 to 64
ndiswrapper: using IRQ 19
wlan0: ethernet device 00:1a:73:e3:ff:d7 using NDIS driver: bcmwl5, version: 0x4640f05, NDIS version: 0x501, vendor: 'NDIS Network Adapter', 14E4:4328.5.conf
wlan0: encryption modes supported: WEP; TKIP with WPA, WPA2, WPA2PSK; AES/CCMP with WPA, WPA2, WPA2PSK
usbcore: registered new interface driver ndiswrapper
ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
[root@exactor ~]# modprobe ndiswrapper
[root@exactor ~]#
i think we are close friends
__________________
Model: HP Pavillion dv6748us
CPU: AMD T-60 2.0 ghtz 64 x2
Videocard:Nvidia GeForce 7150M
Wifi:BCM4328 802.11a/b/g/n
Display:1280x800
OS:Fedora 8 x86_64 Werewolf

Registered Linux User #466240
Registered Linux Box #374667
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 7th March 2008, 09:07 AM
venumus Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 141
Code:
[root@localhost ~]# cd driver/DRIVER/
[root@localhost DRIVER]# sudo ndiswrapper -i bcmwl5.inf
installing bcmwl5 ...
[root@localhost DRIVER]# sudo ndiswrapper -l
bcmwl5 : driver installed
        device (14E4:4328) present (alternate driver: ssb)
[root@localhost DRIVER]# sudo ndiswrapper -m
adding "alias wlan0 ndiswrapper" to /etc/modprobe.d/ndiswrapper ...
[root@localhost DRIVER]# sudo modprobe ndiswrapper
[root@localhost DRIVER]#

so i reinstalled. allmost there.....anyone??
__________________
Model: HP Pavillion dv6748us
CPU: AMD T-60 2.0 ghtz 64 x2
Videocard:Nvidia GeForce 7150M
Wifi:BCM4328 802.11a/b/g/n
Display:1280x800
OS:Fedora 8 x86_64 Werewolf

Registered Linux User #466240
Registered Linux Box #374667
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 7th March 2008, 09:16 AM
meowdin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: HK
Age: 32
Posts: 196
Long ago i would suggest
ifconfig wlan0 up

then add this ifconfig thing in the boot.local....

but now you just need to go to
system->administrator->network (this sounds awfully familiar)

click on the new then choose wireless, forward choose your card ... etc....
(eventually just add that card)

and reboot

everything should be fine
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 7th March 2008, 06:57 PM
venumus Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 141
the status light hasnt changed, and my wireless card doesnt come up when i go do that.
__________________
Model: HP Pavillion dv6748us
CPU: AMD T-60 2.0 ghtz 64 x2
Videocard:Nvidia GeForce 7150M
Wifi:BCM4328 802.11a/b/g/n
Display:1280x800
OS:Fedora 8 x86_64 Werewolf

Registered Linux User #466240
Registered Linux Box #374667
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
a or b or g or n, bcm4328, broadcom, controller, corporation, network

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 4965 AG or AGN [Kedron] Ne PompeyBlue Hardware & Laptops 2 12th July 2009 12:22 PM
broadcom-wl and BCM4328 KirkD Servers & Networking 6 25th December 2008 05:04 PM
More wireless woes - there's got to be a better way! BroadCom BCM4328 KirkD Servers & Networking 15 9th December 2008 02:31 AM
Finally Success with Broadcom Corporation BCM4328 802.11a/b/g/n (rev 05) Zontar Mac Chat 0 8th December 2008 03:28 AM
Broadcom Corporation BCM4310 USB Controller shahzadmasud Hardware & Laptops 31 3rd June 2008 11:03 PM


Current GMT-time: 19:01 (Wednesday, 16-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat