Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 4th February 2008, 05:07 AM
PuGZoR Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1
Fedora 8 vs. Asus M3A

Hey dudes and dudettes...

Just got a new rig, and was going to attempt to change over to Fedora 8 from Windo'hs for the first time since a fresh install is needed. Anyway, I'll be running an Asus M3A motherboard, AMD Phenom 9500 CPU (yew yew, quad core!), 2gb of Geil 1066mhz RAM, 2x 400gb SATAII HDD's, and a Palit 8600GTS PCI-Express videocard.

Just wanted to ask: With this setup, what's the likelyhood that installation will go alright? Any known compatibility issues? I know there are Nvidia drivers available for the gfx card, just not sure how F8 will handle that particular mobo/cpu combo. Lan drivers should install fine, aye? It's gigabit onboard lan....

Sorry if this is the wrong section, etc... installed Fedora 8 on a server here at work and I likes it a lot, so yeah, that's why I'm interested in putting it on my home PC. It really is a credit to the community...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 8th May 2008, 02:16 PM
OralDeckard Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 474
Zero. If you got it from NewEgg you can send it back and loose just the shipment and restocking fee. They exchange very well.

Your board has an ATI chipset, with an SB600 South Bridge for the disk controler. That means it won't recognize your Drives. Sorry. Do a search on SB600 and read the horrors.

I know because I bought the same settup, differing only in it being 4 GB of Geil RAM. After I sent it back for a Gigabyte board I got the same thing. Now I'm about to send the Gigabyte board back for one with an nVidea chipset.

With F8, you are told during installation that you have no hard drives installed. With F9 Preview, you can install, but when you reboot it will be unable to find your drives. Even when I defined the SATAs as EDEs, and even when I attached a real IDE, it failed. Some have gotten it to work by adding "pci-nomsi" as a boot parameter in Grub. That has not worked for me.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th May 2008, 02:23 PM
OralDeckard Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 474
Uh, your post is dated much before my horror story. How did it go ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
asus, fedora, m3a

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 10 on the asus eee PC Arcath Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 25th November 2008 08:47 AM
Fedora 9 @ Asus L5F dadvov Hardware & Laptops 0 21st May 2008 08:19 AM
Fedora 6 on ASUS P5L-VM xfreebird Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 13th March 2007 10:32 PM
ASUS Motherboard P5GV - ASUS GEFORCE EN7600GS osakar Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 2nd September 2006 02:34 AM
Asus L3800C laptop plus Asus Wl-100g pcmcia wifi working (ndiswrapper with broadcom) andre@home Servers & Networking 1 26th June 2005 08:27 PM


Current GMT-time: 10:45 (Sunday, 21-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Aeropuerto Mariscal Lamar de Cuenca Photos - Parque Natural Nascentes de Paranapiacaba Photos on Instagram - Ocean View Park Photos on Instagram