Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 23rd February 2004, 06:34 PM
lupin Offline

I have windows XP, I want to upgrade!

I am new to linux. Dont be too hard on me. I have been wanting to try linux and all it's potential for over 3 years but just haven't. Dont ask why but I just haven't. Something in me said, "Go get one now!"

So I bought Fedora Core, 3 disc for like 5 bux. Hoping it's a full os, i dont know what I'm suppose to get on these cd's either. I also got pclinuxos cuz I thought that having a cd os would be convienient!

Anyway I'm plan on upgrading my 1000mhz test computer to Fedora. Is it simple and plain? Just pop the cd in and do an upgrade and keep all of your files? Or do I have to format the drive with the Caldera files or something. If I dont I want to use fedora on my Main computer. I am a microsoft certified guy, but do not I repeat do not want to conform to just MICROSOFT only. I want to learn as much as I can. I really am excited to learn this whole new beast. If anyone can help me with basic info on this and anything linux related I would be appreciative.
Old 23rd February 2004, 06:47 PM
Ug Offline
Retired Community Manager

You should be able to set up a dual boot easily enough during the installation process.

If you want to keep your current data, backup your data for safety reasons and create a partiton of at least 3 GB for Fedora Core 1. You can create partitions using software like Partition Magic in Windows or use the one in the Fedora Core Installer.

Otherwise just set your bios to read CDROM first, then put CD1 in. Restart the machine, and off you go on the installation process!

Please adhere to the FedoraForum Guidelines.
Old 23rd February 2004, 07:58 PM
masteq Offline

Welcome (I am new to Linux too - 8 months or so)

Yep - pop the CD in and go!