Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 20th January 2008, 03:07 PM
san2004 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5
Help with Firefox and Opera Browsers

I am running Fedora 8 64 bit on a desktop machine and connect to the internet through wireless network.

I am able to browse the internet by konqueror but not with Firefox or Opera.

Any suggestions there ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th January 2008, 05:27 PM
Brian1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Seymour, Indiana
Posts: 2,509
In say Firefox can you enter googles IP address and get to it.
http://64.233.167.104

Brian
__________________
Distribution: RHEL 5.1 with Pieces of this and that.
Kernel 2.6.23.9, KDE 3.5.8 and KDE 4.0 beta, Plus Development src.rpm, ATI fglrx64_7_1_0-8.433-1 rpm with 3D and DRI working.
Acer 5100-5840 with webcam, ati, sdcard reader, sound, atheros based wireless, all working. Only thing not working is the memory stick reader.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st January 2008, 03:02 AM
san2004 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks Brian1.
Yes I can open google by IP address http://64.233.167.104 , but not by http://www.google.com in address bar. How to continue?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st January 2008, 03:49 PM
san2004 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5
Any suggestions there ? Moreover Firefox can connect only when Konqueror is connected yo internet.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st January 2008, 04:02 PM
forkbomb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by san2004
Thanks Brian1.
Yes I can open google by IP address http://64.233.167.104 , but not by http://www.google.com in address bar. How to continue?
Possibly an issue with DNS resolution. However, if that's true you'd be unable to browse with Konqueror, too. But out of curiosity could you post:
Code:
cat /etc/resolv.conf
__________________
- Tom
"What is freedom? To have the will to be responsible for one's self." - Stirner
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st January 2008, 04:10 PM
san2004 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5
Hi Tom. Here is the output of cat /etc/resolv.conf

# generated by NetworkManager, do not edit!



nameserver 192.168.1.1
nameserver 192.168.1.1

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st January 2008, 10:32 PM
Brian1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Seymour, Indiana
Posts: 2,509
Ok since IP works do the following. Edit /etc/modprobe.conf and add the line.
alias ipv6 off

Next open firefox and on the browser line enter.
Code:
 about:config
Then search for this line and set it from false to true.
network.dns.disableIPv6

Do the modprobe.conf first and reboot. See if you can get on then. The only reason I say this is beacuse I don't know Opera and if there is anything like that in it like the Firefox config change. Last thing is edit /etc/resolv.conf and place your ISPs DNS values in there before the the existing one. You should be able to get that info from the routers config page and see what it is using on the external wan connection.

Brian
__________________
Distribution: RHEL 5.1 with Pieces of this and that.
Kernel 2.6.23.9, KDE 3.5.8 and KDE 4.0 beta, Plus Development src.rpm, ATI fglrx64_7_1_0-8.433-1 rpm with 3D and DRI working.
Acer 5100-5840 with webcam, ati, sdcard reader, sound, atheros based wireless, all working. Only thing not working is the memory stick reader.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22nd January 2008, 02:53 AM
san2004 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5
Great. Firefox works now. I am playing with opara settings. I will post my results later.

Thanks a lot.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
browsers, firefox, opera

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Web browsers gray or crash on 'save link as' [Firefox, Opera,Epiph] vandervecken Using Fedora 2 8th November 2008 04:26 AM
opera does it use more cpu then firefox PatMcLJr Using Fedora 4 10th August 2008 04:26 PM
Images not appearing in Firefox browsers Reindeer Using Fedora 4 17th December 2007 09:36 PM
Opera Users - Whatabout Other Browsers pete_1967 Wibble 28 16th November 2007 11:59 PM


Current GMT-time: 14:55 (Friday, 31-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Saladas Travel Photos - Castrillon Photos on Instagram - Horgen