Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 18th January 2008, 12:03 PM
TofuWarrior Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 10
problem mounting hardrive from F8 box on FC3 box.

Please please can anyone help me. I really am in a pickle!

OK, so I screwed my F8 installation by chmod 777 the whole thing.
I managed to dump the data I needed into the home dir while I still had a shell.

My plan was to mount this drive in my old FC3 box and copy across my very precious data.

BUT,
now when I try to mount the drive it asks me for a filesystem.

When I e2fsck the volume it tells me I have a bad superblock.
when I do e2fsck -b 8193 /dev/hdb or e2fsck -b 8193 /dev/hdb1 or e2fsck -b 8193 /dev/hdb2 it still just tells me I have a bad super block.

fdisk -l /dev/hdb gives this

Quote:
Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hdb1 * 1 25 200781 83 Linux
/dev/hdb2 26 7301 58444470 8e Linux LVM
This data is REALLY important. It is months of work. Please can anyone help me work out where I am ignorant.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th January 2008, 12:13 PM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello:
You have to mount the LVM and not the individual drive
su -

lvscan
to see what the name of the Volume Group is

then (for example)
mount -t ext3 /dev/VolGroup00 /mnt/yourmountpoint

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th January 2008, 12:46 PM
TofuWarrior Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 10
Hi, thanks for replying.

lvscan gives me
Quote:
ACTIVE '/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00' [13.34 GB] inherit
ACTIVE '/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol01' [512.00 MB] inherit
The drive I am after is about 60Gig.
fdisk -l /hd* gives me
Quote:

Disk /dev/hda: 15.0 GB, 15020457984 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 1826 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hda1 * 1 13 104391 83 Linux
/dev/hda2 14 1826 14562922+ 8e Linux LVM

Disk /dev/hda1: 106 MB, 106896384 bytes
16 heads, 63 sectors/track, 207 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 1008 * 512 = 516096 bytes


Disk /dev/hda2: 14.9 GB, 14912432640 bytes
16 heads, 63 sectors/track, 28894 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 1008 * 512 = 516096 bytes


Disk /dev/hdb: 60.0 GB, 60060155904 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 7301 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hdb1 * 1 25 200781 83 Linux
/dev/hdb2 26 7301 58444470 8e Linux LVM

Disk /dev/hdb1: 205 MB, 205599744 bytes
16 heads, 63 sectors/track, 398 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 1008 * 512 = 516096 bytes


Disk /dev/hdb2: 59.8 GB, 59847137280 bytes
16 heads, 63 sectors/track, 115961 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 1008 * 512 = 516096 bytes


Disk /dev/hdc: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
mount -t ext3 /dev/hdb2 /opt4/
gives me
Quote:
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hdb2,
or too many mounted file systems
mount /dev/hdb2 /opt4 tells me I need to specify filesystem.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th January 2008, 12:51 PM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by TofuWarrior
mount /dev/hdb2 /opt4 tells me I need to specify filesystem.
Hello:
As I previously mentioned, you cannot mount the individual drive as it is part a LVM group
what is the output of
su -

pvscan

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th January 2008, 01:07 PM
TofuWarrior Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 10
HI thanks for your help., I am completely out of my area of experience.
Quote:
PV /dev/hda2 VG VolGroup00 lvm2 [13.88 GB / 32.00 MB free]
Total: 1 [13.88 GB] / in use: 1 [13.88 GB] / in no VG: 0 [0 ]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th January 2008, 01:17 PM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello:
I don't use LVM, but my guess is that both your F3 and F8 are named the same if you used the default install for both.
I think if you try
su -
vgdisplay
it may tell you that there are duplicate Volume Group names, although I cannot test it here.

If that is the case, then you will have to rename one of the LVMs in order to successfully mount the F8 Volume Group.

There is a thread here that should help you.
http://forum.fedoraforum.org/forum/s...ght=VolGroup00

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)

Last edited by Seve; 18th January 2008 at 01:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18th January 2008, 02:03 PM
TofuWarrior Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 10
hi seve, thanks. They are named the same but when I try to rename it says.
Volume group "VolGroup00" still has active LVs.
feels like I am so close to getting this working.
Any other advice you have?

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18th January 2008, 03:46 PM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello:
Assuming you want to rename the F8 LVM
Then, make sure it is the only hard drive attached to your computer
then boot from your F8 install disc and enter
linux rescue
then follow along [don't require network] and when it gets to the point of saying it's now going to do a search for Fedora installations and you have the option to select Continue or Skip ?
Select Skip
the command prompt should appear
then type
lvscan and it should pickup the Volume Group
then to rename it

lvm vgrename VolGroup00 Fedora8

This will / should rename VolGroup00 to Fedora8 or any other name you like

it should come back with a successful name change.
Type exit and shut down you machine and re-attach your FC3 disc.
Then boot up into FC3 and edit your /etc/fstab accordingly (if you want to mount it a boot time) and while you are at it open up a terminal as root and type lvscan
and you should see the new VolGroup represented by /dev/Fedora8

Then from a terminal logged in as root using su -
mkdir /mnt/f8
then
mount -t -ext3 /dev/Fedora8 /mnt/f8

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18th January 2008, 05:32 PM
TofuWarrior Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 10
thanks seve. I think I sorted it. IN the end I booted with grml_small and renamed the VolGroup. Then booted with the fedora 8 dvd into my fc3 which gave an error but dropped me back to a shell to fix the file system which allowed me to move the files around that I wanted to. The precious files are now on the fc3 box. Now time to reinstall fc8 on box 1. Copy the files and then I think I will install fc8 on the fc3 box and then set up some backup scripts between the two.

Thansk for your help. between you and a guy on #linux it is sorted and my skin is saved.

Really appreciate the help.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18th January 2008, 06:02 PM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello:
Glad you got it sorted out

You may want to consider a custom layout for your new installation and thereby, not use LVM.
Much easier [IMO] to deal with for the average desktop user.

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 22nd January 2008, 12:55 PM
TofuWarrior Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 10
Hi Seve,

what would be involved in that.

If you have time, could you clarify for me what you mean by this and why it might be helpful.

Thanks,

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 22nd January 2008, 01:06 PM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello:
It just means creating a custom layout during installation, rather than accepting the default layout, which will use LVM.
There is an explanation with some screen shots here : Chapter 10. Disk Partitioning Just spend some time and read through it and it should make some sense.

Using a custom layout will allow you to easily mount the partitions in the future without having to bother with the Logical Volume Groups, which is what you just went through.

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
box, fc3, hardrive, mounting, problem

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spinning of the hardrive lauwers Using Fedora 3 25th January 2009 05:28 PM
Hardrive not mounting tim.pirate Using Fedora 7 20th March 2008 01:47 AM
Hardrive help StreetSlick Using Fedora 1 23rd February 2007 01:52 AM
External USB Hardrive Problem rva_ec Hardware & Laptops 4 10th March 2006 09:59 PM
Mounting a new hardrive? trackpads Hardware & Laptops 10 13th February 2005 06:57 PM


Current GMT-time: 18:15 (Saturday, 25-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Santana do Livramento Instagram Photos - Kifri - Macherla Travel Photos