Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 9th January 2008, 07:57 PM
hermouche Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Algeria
Posts: 807
retrieving the the upper side panel !

Hy,

A friend of mine has worked on my box for a while and now the upper panel where we got firefox, systems, etc....icons is no longer there.
How to retrieve the panel?

red

thanks
__________________
IBM ThinkPad z60m
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 9th January 2008, 08:42 PM
adrianx Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South Africa
Posts: 954
If you are using gnome, try gnome-panel at the command line.
__________________
Registered Linux User 460110
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th January 2008, 01:16 AM
jdeslip Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 621
I would try restarting gnome (or the computer) to see if it comes back. If it was deleted by him (maybe he hates you), you can always make a new one by right clicking on the bottom panel (which I assume is still there) and saying "new panel"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th January 2008, 07:55 AM
hermouche Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Algeria
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrianx
If you are using gnome, try gnome-panel at the command line.
Thanks for the reply,

The command line "gnome-panel" says the following:

Quote:
I've detected a panel already running,
and will now exit.
red
__________________
IBM ThinkPad z60m
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th January 2008, 08:01 AM
hermouche Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Algeria
Posts: 807
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdeslip
I would try restarting gnome (or the computer) to see if it comes back. If it was deleted by him (maybe he hates you), you can always make a new one by right clicking on the bottom panel (which I assume is still there) and saying "new panel"
Thanks for reply,

That's what i did, i 've restarted the box, but still no panel.

Ok, i've used the bottom panel to create a new one, i 've added some icons inside (firefox, email evolution, applications, places, system,....), now i would like to arrange them whithin the panel itself.

i.e: the clock ------> at the right side
Applications, Places and System------------> at the left side etc...

I mean retrieving the default panel !!!!

Thanks

red
__________________
IBM ThinkPad z60m
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th January 2008, 09:09 AM
hermouche Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Algeria
Posts: 807
I managed to create somehow my top panel.
Now i got another problem, the tray icon of aMule for example is enabled. This means i should have the minimised aMule icon on the top panel, that's what i had before which is not the case actually ??

is there any suggestion ?

Thanks

red
__________________
IBM ThinkPad z60m
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10th January 2008, 06:34 PM
jdeslip Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 621
I think you can just right click on panel elements and select "move"

The menu can be created by right click on the panel and doing "add to panel" - for your amule icon you want to add the "notification area" to the panel.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11th January 2008, 07:56 PM
hermouche Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Algeria
Posts: 807
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdeslip
I think you can just right click on panel elements and select "move"

The menu can be created by right click on the panel and doing "add to panel" - for your amule icon you want to add the "notification area" to the panel.
Thanks jdeslip,

So far i managed to create a new panel, new icons and moved some of them etc...

Now, i would like to retrieve the aMule notification icon to the top panel as it was before by default, yes.

Thanks

red
__________________
IBM ThinkPad z60m
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11th January 2008, 07:58 PM
jdeslip Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 621
Did you add the notification area to the panel as I suggeseted above?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12th January 2008, 12:22 PM
hermouche Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Algeria
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdeslip
Did you add the notification area to the panel as I suggeseted above?
Thanks

Ok, Ok, now i understand what you meant by notification area, Thanks i' ll right now.

Thanks
red
__________________
IBM ThinkPad z60m
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
panel, retrieving, upper

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Side-by-side printing in F11 tsattler Using Fedora 0 10th June 2009 07:36 PM
FC4 yum fixer upper tejas News 121 1st October 2005 05:07 PM
Panel stuck on side of desktop pamount Using Fedora 2 1st May 2005 10:52 AM


Current GMT-time: 11:41 (Thursday, 18-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat