Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 6th January 2008, 09:57 PM
joutlan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82
Help for first time Fedora user...

Hi...this is my first post here, Wazoot! There goes my credibility...

I have a couple of questions:

1. Where the heck is Compiz-Fusion? It says it's installed, but I can't find the control panel? I won't let me enable desktop effects in that dialog either.

2. Do I not have something set right? Driver? My card is an Nvidia 8600gt 256 gddr3. How can check what driver is running? In Mint, I looked in restricted driver manager.

3. Can I download Virtualbox through the Package Manager? Can't find it. Do I need to update my repos, if so how? I really need to get my XP VM running.

thanks much! btw, I'm running Fedora 8 i686 version with Gnome.
__________________
Cheers, Big Ears!

DΞLL Precision M6500 "Big Dog": i7-820QM, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, 320GB 7200.3 + 160 gb Intel SSD, RGBLED, nVidia Quadro FX 3800M 1.0GB DDR3, Intel 5300, BT, FP Reader //Win7Pro x64/Scientific Linux 6 x64
DΞLL Vostro 1220 "Netbook on Steroids" //Scientific Linux 6 x64 w/ 60 gb Win7 VM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 6th January 2008, 10:10 PM
leadgolem Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Age: 29
Posts: 2,857
In order to run desktop effect software you need direct rendering.
Code:
glxinfo | grep "direct rendering:"
The nvidia linux driver is not in the standard repositories, you can install it from the livna repo after you have that.
Code:
su
rpm -ivh http://rpm.livna.org/livna-release-8.rpm
yum install kmod-nvidia
You will need to restart after installing the nvidia driver.

EDIT: This is for virtualbox.
You cannot use package manager to download it, but you can use yum to install it and solve the deps.

For 32bit systems.
Code:
wget http://www.virtualbox.org/download/1.5.4/VirtualBox-1.5.4_27034_fedora8-1.i586.rpm
yum localinstall VirtualBox-1.5.4_27034_fedora8-1.i586.rpm
For x86_64 systems.
Code:
wget http://www.virtualbox.org/download/1.5.4/VirtualBox-1.5.4_27034_fedora8-1.x86_64.rpm
yum localinstall VirtualBox-1.5.4_27034_fedora8-1.x86_64.rpm
All of the above assumes you are using fedora 8.
__________________
S.C.O.U.R.G.E. Heroes of lesser renown, contributor.

Last edited by leadgolem; 6th January 2008 at 10:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th January 2008, 10:10 PM
Dies Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,753
1.- http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forum/...ghlight=compiz

2 & 3.- Open terminal
Code:
su -
rpm -ivh http://www.virtualbox.org/download/1.5.4/VirtualBox-1.5.4_27034_fedora8-1.i586.rpm
rpm -ivh http://rpm.livna.org/livna-release-8.rpm
yum install kmod-nvidia -y
shutdown -r now
Have fun.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Edit - Damn you're fast leadgolem, but for some reason my way looks way easier.

Last edited by Dies; 6th January 2008 at 10:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th January 2008, 10:19 PM
leadgolem Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Age: 29
Posts: 2,857
It does look easier doesn't it?

I for one would be wondering if something was wrong using "rpm -ivh" on a 17mb rpm though. Also, doesn't virtual box have deps?
__________________
S.C.O.U.R.G.E. Heroes of lesser renown, contributor.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th January 2008, 10:24 PM
Dies Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by leadgolem
It does look easier doesn't it?

I for one would be wondering if something was wrong using "rpm -ivh" on a 17mb rpm though. Also, doesn't virtual box have deps?
I'm on a fast connection, so I don't have to stare at the retrieving message very long.

As far as deps, I don't think so, but would it matter?
I thought rpm would still try to resolve, no?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6th January 2008, 10:26 PM
joutlan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82
Wow...great....thanks for the QUICK replies. Great forum. Great distro too....best IMO.

I'll report back with any problems. Thanks again for getting me going here...
__________________
Cheers, Big Ears!

DΞLL Precision M6500 "Big Dog": i7-820QM, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, 320GB 7200.3 + 160 gb Intel SSD, RGBLED, nVidia Quadro FX 3800M 1.0GB DDR3, Intel 5300, BT, FP Reader //Win7Pro x64/Scientific Linux 6 x64
DΞLL Vostro 1220 "Netbook on Steroids" //Scientific Linux 6 x64 w/ 60 gb Win7 VM
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6th January 2008, 10:42 PM
leadgolem Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Age: 29
Posts: 2,857
rpm will try to resolve the deps, but if you don't have them the install will just fail. rpm will not go looking in your repos for the deps.

Have fun theZoid, oh, there is a community made compiz-fusion yum repo that you may want to look at.

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forum/...d.php?t=159056
__________________
S.C.O.U.R.G.E. Heroes of lesser renown, contributor.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th January 2008, 10:50 PM
Dies Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by leadgolem
rpm will try to resolve the deps, but if you don't have them the install will just fail. rpm will not go looking in your repos for the deps.
Oh yeah, you're right.

Good thing there's no deps for VB then.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 6th January 2008, 11:20 PM
leadgolem Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Age: 29
Posts: 2,857
It doesn't? Oh, cool.
__________________
S.C.O.U.R.G.E. Heroes of lesser renown, contributor.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 7th January 2008, 12:05 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Posts: 14,538
Wow! Been following this thread and decided to give this VirtualBox thing a try. Works great! This is awesome! Only stumbling block for me was no kernel source first time around. Installed that, deleted VirtualBox and re-installed it. Perfect. I'm typing this reply using XP in VirtualBox running under Fedora 8. Slick!

Edit: And wireless works! No configuration, it just works. Holy crap!
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 7th January 2008, 12:18 AM
JN4OldSchool Offline
"Sean The Terrible" -- The forum(er) Vista® rep
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by glennzo
Wow! Been following this thread and decided to give this VirtualBox thing a try. Works great! This is awesome! Only stumbling block for me was no kernel source first time around. Installed that, deleted VirtualBox and re-installed it. Perfect. I'm typing this reply using XP in VirtualBox running under Fedora 8. Slick!

Edit: And wireless works! No configuration, it just works. Holy crap!
Yeah, I am impressed also. I have just started using it, even made a custom icon for my launcher. I still stay with VMWare mostly just because of familiarity though. But VirtualBox is a great alternative.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 7th January 2008, 01:24 AM
joutlan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dies
Oh yeah, you're right.

Good thing there's no deps for VB then.
Hey guys....I get this:

Retrieving http://www.virtualbox.org/download/1...ra8-1.i586.rpm
error: Failed dependencies:
libqt-mt.so.3 is needed by VirtualBox-1.5.4_27034_fedora8-1.i586
[root@localhost john]#

How do I install that dependency? I'll try to understand it later thanks!

PS: also got an error trying to enable direct rendering.

EDIT: Installed the dependency, but now get:

[root@localhost john]# rpm -ivh http://www.virtualbox.org/download/1...ra8-1.i586.rpm
Retrieving http://www.virtualbox.org/download/1...ra8-1.i586.rpm
Preparing... ########################################### [100%]
1:VirtualBox ########################################### [100%]

Creating group 'vboxusers'. VM users must be member of that group!

No precompiled module for this kernel found -- trying to build one. Messages
emitted during module compilation will be logged to /var/log/vbox-install.log.

Compilation of the kernel module FAILED! VirtualBox will not start until this
problem is fixed. Please consult /var/log/vbox-install.log to find out why the
kernel module does not compile. Most probably the kernel sources are not found.
Install them and execute

/etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup

as root.

[root@localhost john]#


Help?
__________________
Cheers, Big Ears!

DΞLL Precision M6500 "Big Dog": i7-820QM, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, 320GB 7200.3 + 160 gb Intel SSD, RGBLED, nVidia Quadro FX 3800M 1.0GB DDR3, Intel 5300, BT, FP Reader //Win7Pro x64/Scientific Linux 6 x64
DΞLL Vostro 1220 "Netbook on Steroids" //Scientific Linux 6 x64 w/ 60 gb Win7 VM

Last edited by joutlan; 7th January 2008 at 01:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 7th January 2008, 01:31 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Posts: 14,538
Try yum install qt and then try the VirtualBox install again.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 7th January 2008, 01:31 AM
joutlan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by glennzo
Wow! Been following this thread and decided to give this VirtualBox thing a try. Works great! This is awesome! Only stumbling block for me was no kernel source first time around. Installed that, deleted VirtualBox and re-installed it. Perfect. I'm typing this reply using XP in VirtualBox running under Fedora 8. Slick!

Edit: And wireless works! No configuration, it just works. Holy crap!
LOL...yeah, I was running it under Mint on a separate desktop....sweet....makes ya dizzy, doesn't it?
__________________
Cheers, Big Ears!

DΞLL Precision M6500 "Big Dog": i7-820QM, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, 320GB 7200.3 + 160 gb Intel SSD, RGBLED, nVidia Quadro FX 3800M 1.0GB DDR3, Intel 5300, BT, FP Reader //Win7Pro x64/Scientific Linux 6 x64
DΞLL Vostro 1220 "Netbook on Steroids" //Scientific Linux 6 x64 w/ 60 gb Win7 VM
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 7th January 2008, 01:34 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Posts: 14,538
Hey, got the same error as you re kernel. Did yum install kernel-devel.i686 and that took care of the problem.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fedora, time, user

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First time Fedora User PinkChicken Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 6 23rd January 2009 03:32 AM
First time Linux user (Fedora 8), GUI doesn't work! hemanty Using Fedora 1 11th March 2008 12:21 AM
Help installing Fedora please - first time user BennyL Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 7 13th February 2008 06:00 PM
Old time Linux user - new to Fedora rm2 Fedora Focus 12 17th November 2007 02:39 AM
first time user needs help to install Fedora 4 fferrando Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 5th November 2005 12:09 AM


Current GMT-time: 12:00 (Saturday, 19-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat