Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 5th January 2008, 12:07 AM
PaulFXH Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 59
Can't install amarok-extras-nonfree [Solved]

I have F8 running on my MacBook (C2D).
Although most things are running well, I have a problem with media players.
I have installed Amarok but it won't play either .mp3 or .wma files.
So, I tried to install "amarok-extras-nonfree" but get this error message which stops the install
Code:
--> Finished Dependency Resolution
Error: Missing Dependency: libx264.so.56 is needed by package ffmpeg-libs
How do I resolve this?

Thanks
Paul

Last edited by PaulFXH; 5th January 2008 at 01:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 5th January 2008, 12:41 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,730
I knew I saw a couple threads regarding libx264.so.56
http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/sho...=libx264.so.56
http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/sho...=libx264.so.56
http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/sho...=libx264.so.56
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th January 2008, 01:09 AM
PaulFXH Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 59
OK, this thread here did the trick very nicely.
Essentially, in my case at least, it just amounted to installing the package for which the dependencies were missing (ffmpeg-libs) and then trying the install of amarok-extras-nonfree again.
Worked like a charm and now I have music
Thanks a lot.
Paul
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th January 2008, 01:23 AM
Demz
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
what repo's do you have enabled? as that library is in livna
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th January 2008, 12:34 PM
PaulFXH Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 59
@Demz
I have livna and livna-development repos active but libx264.so.56 is not available in either of them.

Actually, it's interesting that despite the fact that I was able to overcome the problem by just installing ffmpeg-libs, it seems this particular dependency was NOT installed.
Also, when I booted to Fedora this morning, there was an update available which refused to install because of the very same missing dependency.
Very strange.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6th January 2008, 12:06 AM
Demz
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
here's the fileclick here to download file
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6th January 2008, 12:47 AM
PaulFXH Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 59
Thanks for that.
However, when I tried to install it after downloading, the installer told me that a newer version was already installed.
Now when I list the packages that are installed or available to install, it's not mentioned.
However, I had done a lot of messing around with different repos today, and it could well be that it got installed during the install of something else during the day. But, I did not add in any additional livna repos so I'm a bit puzzled about where it came from.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th January 2008, 12:59 AM
Demz
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
what repo's do you have listed?
Code:
su -
yum listrepo
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 6th January 2008, 01:07 AM
leadgolem Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Age: 29
Posts: 2,857
I think you meant this.
Code:
yum repolist
Btw, you don't need root permissions to use yum to search or find out what repos are enabled.
__________________
S.C.O.U.R.G.E. Heroes of lesser renown, contributor.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 6th January 2008, 05:07 AM
Demz
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
i always have used root to get listrepo but i will note that down ty lead
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 6th January 2008, 08:56 AM
PaulFXH Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 59
The repos I have enabled right now are:

repo id repo name status

fedora Fedora 8 - i386 enabled
livna Livna for Fedora Core 8 - i386 - Base enabled
updates Fedora 8 - i386 - Updates enabled


However, earlier yesterday I had quite a few more (as shown below)

repo id repo name status

diffingo Diffingo for Fedora 8 - i386 enabled
fedora Fedora 8 - i386 enabled
fedora-source Fedora 8 - Source enabled
freshrpms Fedora Core 8 - i386 - Freshrpms enabled
fusion Compiz Fusion repository enabled
google Google - i386 enabled
jpackage-generic JPackage (free), generic enabled
jpackage-generic-non JPackage (non-free), generic enabled
livna Livna for Fedora Core 8 - i386 - Base enabled
livna-development Livna for Fedora Core 8 - i386 - Develop enabled
updates Fedora 8 - i386 - Updates enabled

I cut down on the number of active repos in response to what I learned from this thread ,
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 6th January 2008, 09:29 AM
Demz
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
fusion Compiz Fusion repository enabled - that one your gonna need if your using Compiz-fusion 0.6.99

diffingo Diffingo for Fedora 8 is firewing1's repo so your ok to use those 2

livna-development repo i dont know why you were using that, but its not needed
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 6th January 2008, 09:43 AM
leadgolem Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Age: 29
Posts: 2,857
What gave you problems was the conflict between freshrpms and livna over the h.264 codec. It is included in some freshrpms package, but not in the package with the same name from livna.
__________________
S.C.O.U.R.G.E. Heroes of lesser renown, contributor.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 6th January 2008, 05:33 PM
jazzfan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 153
try downgrading amarok, and then installing amarok-extras. You can use allowdowngrade plugin for yum, or
Code:
 sudo rpm -e --justdb --nodeps amarok
and then installing without development and/or testing repos enabled
__________________
Robi
Woodworking ideas

"Fedora -- All my bits are free, are yours?" - Jasse Keating
"Because open sorce matters" - Joomla!
"Be free" - KDE
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 6th January 2008, 07:34 PM
PaulFXH Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 59
Yes, thanks, but Amarok is working fine for me right now. No need at all to downgrade or change anything.
The problem I had is most likely what was explained in post #12 by leadgolem.
Cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amarokextrasnonfree, install

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
k3b-extras-nonfree = k3b-extras-freeworld?? edszr Using Fedora 4 28th April 2009 09:48 PM
can't install xine-lib-extras-nonfree mcwall1064 Using Fedora 44 24th October 2008 08:26 AM
Can't install xine-lib-extras-nonfree ( solved ) Jongi Using Fedora 16 18th September 2008 03:15 PM
amarok-extras-nonfree.i386 at livna psyklops Using Fedora 4 20th May 2007 06:33 AM
amarok-xone & amarok-extras-nonfree error -- no mp3 playback D= spfdz Using Fedora 1 23rd January 2007 02:07 AM


Current GMT-time: 14:15 (Wednesday, 01-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat