Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 4th January 2008, 10:51 AM
voler Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Moscow region
Age: 33
Posts: 18
I have problem with DLINK DWL-G122

I installed on my notebook Fedora 8, all hardware work ok, but my wi-fi module DLink DWL-G122 isn't work.

lsusb show me this

Code:
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 0951:1607 Kingston Technology
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 07d1:3c03 D-Link System
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 09da:000a A4 Tech Co., Ltd
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
After I check drivers.

lsmod | grep rt7
Code:
rt73usb                  33536  0
rt2x00usb              17792  1 rt73usb
rt2x00lib                26368  2 rt73usb,rt2x00usb
lsmod | grep rt2
Code:
rt73usb                33536  0
rt2x00usb              17792  1 rt73usb
rt2x00lib              26368  2 rt73usb,rt2x00usb
[root@localhost ~]# lsmod | grep rt2
rt2x00usb              17792  1 rt73usb
rt2x00lib              26368  2 rt73usb,rt2x00usb
mac80211              163848  3 rc80211_simple,rt2x00usb,rt2x00lib
crc_itu_t              10624  1 rt2x00lib
All drivers is OK!

Then I see.

ifconfig -a
Code:
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:14:0B:0D:2E:2A
          inet addr:192.168.2.119  Bcast:192.168.2.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::214:bff:fe0d:2e2a/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:6723 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:6359 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:4851741 (4.6 MiB)  TX bytes:985926 (962.8 KiB)
          Interrupt:20 Base address:0x2000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:1376 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1376 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:3370756 (3.2 MiB)  TX bytes:3370756 (3.2 MiB)

tmpbridge Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:00:00:00:00:00
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

virbr0    Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:00:00:00:00:00
          inet addr:192.168.122.1  Bcast:192.168.122.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::200:ff:fe00:0/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:30 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:5184 (5.0 KiB)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1B:11:1F:0F:39
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

wmaster0  Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-1B-11-1F-0F-39-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:1376 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1376 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:3370756 (3.2 MiB)  TX bytes:3370756 (3.2 MiB)
But when I want configure my wi-fi network, I can't find my device.

How I can fix this trouble?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 4th January 2008, 11:00 AM
glennzo Offline
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,780
Are you running a xen kernel?
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th January 2008, 12:54 PM
nyjetshead Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 633
Google gave me this....

http://www.linuxlove.org/2007/12/13/...r-in-fedora-8/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th January 2008, 09:01 AM
voler Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Moscow region
Age: 33
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by glennzo
Are you running a xen kernel?
Yes! I use this kernel.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th January 2008, 09:03 AM
voler Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Moscow region
Age: 33
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyjetshead
Thanks. Good instruction. But I don't like to use Xserver.

I read this instruction, but when I input password for WI-FI network NetworkManager ask it again. A check password, it is right.

I don't know why?

Please give me suggestion.

Last edited by voler; 8th January 2008 at 11:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th January 2008, 12:15 PM
nyjetshead Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 633
Getting closer.... you couldn't find the device in the first post...
Signal strength good? Don't go by how windows works.
Is it asking for or Keyring password or the secrets for the interface?
Using WEP or WAP? secrets they are entered in regular characters not hex.
Does it work if you shut off security on the AP?

Check System>Administration >Services background services tab.

Network Manager and Network Manager dispatcher are checked.
WPA supplicant is UNCHECKED because NM starts it.

Be sure that the interface is not active in System>Administration >Network .
Delete the profile if it exists for your wireless. Don't delete your wired interface.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th May 2008, 05:50 AM
voler Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Moscow region
Age: 33
Posts: 18
Problem was determine, after upgrade kernel 2.6.24.5-85.fc8.

But, when wi-fi is working led lamps is not blink on them. In Win XP them blinked.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th May 2008, 06:18 AM
Keith S Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7
First many possiblities .... I have use Xen and FC8 for wifi;but mine is internal, however you need to get your network services running first. IN administrative menus there is SERVICES option...select this and be sure your network is running and you normally have to Turn On NETWORKMANAGER and start its services.... after you close it give it a few seconds to scan wireless airwaves before you look for yours,BTW if you are using WPA or WPA2 in same "SERVICES" be sure WPA supplicant is enabled and running too, else your router is invisable to the wifi manager. Next Passkey is equivalent to a password safe, its asking for your password to store it for future logons. Last regular character, hex, ascii+ this is actuallyu from the router yo are using. when you set up encryption you probably failed to notice that that was the 3 choices under wep and wpa as well as open versus shared network look at your router wireless security to determine the protocal....mine used HEX 128 encryptionunless i check box "passphrase"....hope this helps
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12th May 2008, 06:48 AM
voler Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Moscow region
Age: 33
Posts: 18
No, I don't use Xen. And all work good!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dlink, dwlg122, problem

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora7- Dlink DWL-G122 Rev c1 USB wireless stick ninja123 Servers & Networking 1 17th August 2009 10:04 PM
Dlink DWL G122 H/W C1 and Firmware 3.00 - Getting it to work with FC7 jasperthecat Servers & Networking 22 8th October 2007 01:25 PM
Driver for DLink - DWL-G122 USB Adapter?? sya Servers & Networking 4 21st June 2007 07:42 AM
Dlink D520 Madwifi problem ntfux Hardware & Laptops 1 1st March 2007 07:34 AM
sshd problem with FC4 and Dlink f/wall? gregdog Servers & Networking 1 13th October 2005 04:36 PM


Current GMT-time: 04:02 (Saturday, 01-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Menongue Instagram Photos - Mountain View Travel Photos on Instagram - Yavatmal