Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 15th December 2007, 04:34 AM
ConfusedNewb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Internet
Age: 24
Posts: 19
M-Audio MobilePre USB Audio Box Stopped Working Since Being Reconnected

I have an M-Audio MobilePre USB audio box that has recently ceased to work. It was working since the installation of Fedora 7 (when the audio box was plugged in). I recently removed it from the USB port to plug in an external drive. When I plugged the audio box back into the SAME port, it won't come up as an option as an audio device. I have been around google and some sites but everything I find on it, when I do find something, is unresolved. I have noticed it seems to be common that unplugging the box results in it no working when plugged back in. It is located at /proc/bus/usb/001/007. The manufacturer does not offer linux drivers and I can't find any anywhere else. After fixing lsusb (it would say unknown command), it gave me this output for the device:
Quote:
Device: ID 0763:2804 Midiman
Device Descriptor:
bLength 18
bDescriptorType 1
bcdUSB 1.00
bDeviceClass 254 Application Specific Interface
bDeviceSubClass 1 Device Firmware Update
bDeviceProtocol 0
bMaxPacketSize0 64
idVendor 0x0763 Midiman
idProduct 0x2804
bcdDevice 1.00
iManufacturer 1 Unknown
iProduct 2 Unknown
iSerial 0
bNumConfigurations 1
Configuration Descriptor:
bLength 9
bDescriptorType 2
wTotalLength 25
bNumInterfaces 1
bConfigurationValue 1
iConfiguration 0
bmAttributes 0x40
Self Powered
MaxPower 400mA
Interface Descriptor:
bLength 9
bDescriptorType 4
bInterfaceNumber 0
bAlternateSetting 0
bNumEndpoints 0
bInterfaceClass 254 Application Specific Interface
bInterfaceSubClass 1 Device Firmware Update
bInterfaceProtocol 0
iInterface 3 RAM
I would think the "unknown" manufacturer and product are M-Audio and MobilePre, respectively. Someone please help me with this. I have been without music for quite a while now, which is a fact that is getting annoying when trying to fix other problems. If anyone needs any more info, just ask. I would really like to get this fixed without having to reinstall the OS. Thanks in advance for any help. I would REALLY appreciate it.
__________________
Quote:
checking whether build environment is sane... yes
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15th December 2007, 09:14 AM
ConfusedNewb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Internet
Age: 24
Posts: 19
Update: While searching around, I came across the command
Code:
strace -eopen alsamixer
I had recently installed an alsa mixer package with yum so I tried the command. It gave me this output:
Code:
open("/etc/ld.so.cache", O_RDONLY)      = 3
open("/lib/libncurses.so.5", O_RDONLY)  = 3
open("/lib/libasound.so.2", O_RDONLY)   = 3
open("/lib/libm.so.6", O_RDONLY)        = 3
open("/lib/libdl.so.2", O_RDONLY)       = 3
open("/lib/libpthread.so.0", O_RDONLY)  = 3
open("/lib/libc.so.6", O_RDONLY)        = 3
open("/lib/libtinfo.so.5", O_RDONLY)    = 3
open("/etc/alsa/alsa.conf", O_RDONLY)   = 3
open("/etc/asound.conf", O_RDONLY)      = 3
open("/dev/snd/controlC0", O_RDONLY)    = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
open("/dev/aloadC0", O_RDONLY)          = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)

alsamixer: function snd_ctl_open failed for default: No such device
If anyone has any pointers or anything helpful, PLEASE post it. This silence is killing me. I keep seeing stuff about a file asound_card.conf but I don't have this file in my etc folder. Could this have something to do with it?

EDIT- I would appreciate even just a command to mount /proc/bus/usb/*port*/*device* as an audio device. Even if I would have to do it every reboot, I just want audio now to listen to while trying to fix my tons of other stuff.
__________________
Quote:
checking whether build environment is sane... yes

Last edited by ConfusedNewb; 15th December 2007 at 09:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th December 2007, 05:26 AM
ConfusedNewb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Internet
Age: 24
Posts: 19
I had another idea. The initial installation of Fedora 7 (my current OS) detected and installed the audio box. Is there some way I can run the script that did that without reinstalling the whole OS?
__________________
Quote:
checking whether build environment is sane... yes
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
audio, box, maudio, mobilepre, reconnected, stopped, usb, working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound Working in Audio Card but not in audio port !!! gowrishankar Using Fedora 0 6th February 2009 11:43 AM
FC10: Audio suddenly stopped working ajrandall Using Fedora 4 25th January 2009 11:24 PM
Unable to play Audio though Kernel detects the OnBoard Audio Drive suraj Using Fedora 5 20th January 2006 02:38 PM
i810 Audio AC97 / AC'97 Audio Controller Fedora Intel Howto jamakine Hardware & Laptops 6 9th December 2004 11:30 PM


Current GMT-time: 01:35 (Saturday, 20-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Creek Side - Stockholm-Arlanda Airport (ARN) Travel Photos on Instagram - Marina of Koper Travel Photos - Te Whiti Park Instagram Photos - Texas State Fair Photos on Instagram