Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 23rd November 2007, 08:56 PM
kcdude Offline

Angry Username and password???

Ok I just finished installing the latest version of Fedora, I guess it's 8. Anyway, I'm new to linux. I rebooted my computer after installation was complete and now I'm prompted for a username and password. The only thing I was asked to set during installation was a root password, so anyway I'm unable to log on to the computer because I never set a username/password other than the root password to begin with. I'm very confused. How do I log on?
Old 23rd November 2007, 09:07 PM
stevea Offline

When you reboot fedora for the very first time it asks you to set up the timezones and firewall, selinux AND it asks you to create a user account.

You don't really have to create a user account if you don't want to, but it's a very good idea to make a user account (or several) and to generally login as a user, not root.

To create (or delete) user accounts, just login as root [just type "root" as the username], then run "system-config-users". One way to do this is to use the top panel and follow "System->Administration->Users and Groups". The pop-up window is pretty obvious.

*DO* use decent passwords - that is important for security.
Old 23rd November 2007, 09:18 PM
Brian1 Offline

Is the login screen text only or graphical?

Brian
Old 23rd November 2007, 09:26 PM
GallComp Offline
Nuke 'em Alfred! Administrator - Starring in Bill & Steve's Bogus Journey

Did you tried:

Username : root
password: the password you gave at the time of the installation....

"Since when has the world of computer software design been about what people want? This is a simple question of evolution. The day is quickly coming when every knee will bow down to a silicon fist, and you will all beg your binary gods for mercy. "

BILL GATES...
Old 23rd November 2007, 10:54 PM
scottro Offline
Retired Community Manager -- Banned from Texas by popular demand.